Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location, room not so great

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The location and the bar and restaurants on site
Cons: Room maintenance
Location: Perfect location with Darling Harbour China Town and George St all very close
The hotel facilities were just fine but the staff lacked the hospitality touch. However to be fair, I did ask several questions in advance of our stay and my emails were answered promptly and courteously. Our room was clean and tidy but the view of a brick wall did little to inspire. - And the shower head that had obviously been faulty for some time (It was taped up) was not a good look. Having said the above, Holiday Inn in my opinion is perfectly fine for a short stay in Sydney.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

nice hotel close to Qantas Credit Union Arena

Posted Aug 16, 2014
very convenient, close to Chinatown and Darling Harbor. Have light train to Sydney Fish Market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Expensive for what you get

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room size, decor, cleaning staff
Location: Darling Harbour, restaurants, mueseums, aquarium, ferry rides, IMAX theatre, Chinese Gardens, Chinatown.
A few days in Sydney with the family is never meant to be relaxing but you expect the Hotel to try it's best to help. Not so in this instance. Extremely slow check-in to start the weekend with only one person in attendance at reception. Room cleaning was hit and miss with one day the room being made up and the other day my room was totally forgotten by cleaning staff. We stayed in the "Family Room" and whilst we are a close-nit family living in this room it was just too close. The rooms are definetly on the very small side and in need of updating desperately. On the plus side the location is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD

Nice room, nice view, terrible service

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: CONVENIENCE! clean, neat, must be one of the nicer hotels I've stayed in. Lovely
Cons: better service: supervisors need to train new staffs better. (at least be smiling and welcoming)
Location: walk-able distance to anything touristy: THE STAR, sydney opera house/ habour bridge/ luna park, fish market, Paddy's Market, QVB, Town Hall etc.
After reading and searching tirelessly for a all-rounder hotel to stay in, we (my friends and I) decided on Holiday Inn. It was the perfect location for us. When I arrived to check-in, my friends and I waited patiently in line to be served, yet the front desk simply ignored us. When we tried to get their attention, the receptionist (turned out to be a trainee) simply said he thought we were part of the previous group of people and didn't even offer any apology. Now, I wouldn't have minded too much about it seeing as he was a trainee, but it really ticked me off because he was all over the place, yet I could clearly see that his manager was standing right there having a good chat with some colleagues while my friends and I were standing there STILL not being served properly. I had booked two rooms for my friends and I and was rudely told that our rooms were not next to each other, in fact, they weren't even on the same floor! No compensation, no apologises, they simply said " well you should have wrote it on the requests when you booked the rooms. Next time you'll know better" Actually, from their rude service, I'm not sure there will be a next time, I even had nicer service from just the various house-keeping ladies who at least gave me a smile and was welcoming. i have to say, service was EXTREMELY disappointing, but overall, rooms were tidy (they even included a Bible in their drawer) bathrooms were nice and clean (water temperature and shower head pressure was perfect)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, VIC

It's the little things...

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location - close to Chinatown
Cons: The room service food
Location: Chinatown. Paddy's market. Darling Harbour...
Little things made this trip less-than-awesome. First night we ordered room service - one meal forgotten and when it did arrive (after wife and kids had finished theirs) it was terrible. None of the meals cam as described on the menu either. TV reception was shot when we arrived. Two technicians showed up the problem was fixed quickly. On the third day of a four day trip the room was not made-up. Otherwise, staff and facilities were what you would expect of a four-star hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Very Good Hotel close to downtown

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Hotel is conveniently located a short walk from Darling Harbour, and about a half hour walk to the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House, and botanical Gardens. If you arrive by train from the airport it's about a 15 minute walk from the Central train station. Our room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very courteous and professional. Excellent breakfast buffet with a great selection of hot food, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, and tea. for $19.95 if you book in upon check-in, otherwise it's $29.99. On our last day the concierge held our luggage for us so we could sightsee before our flight left later that day. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gold coast

Close to what we needed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Very helpful staff quiet and relaxing after long days walking around city. Couldn't hear any traffic from our room. JBs was nice to eat at and affordable prices with prompt service. Helped us with directing us to the best way to get around where we wanted to go in around sydney. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Fantastic

Posted Jul 13, 2014
I stayed here with my husband, and 3 children. The hotel room was fantastic, we couldn't of asked for a better room. It was close to everything, and the staff were so polite and really helpful, when we asked about places to visit and places to eat with children. We would come back here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
The heater was not working well. The maintenance staff cleaned the air filter while fixing it. Then the room has strange smell afterwards. Not feeling ok after the first night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ck

Good Location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Close to darling harbour, Chinatown. Easily accessible