Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new Zealand

Rooms not that comfortable

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bedroom comfort. No suitable chair for sitting
Location: Central to eating places and Circle Key
Staff were very good, but rooms were disappointing. seemed outdated
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Run down awful

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Hotel needs an upgrade - don't stay here It run down and not worth what you pay It is 2*
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Upgrading

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The closeness to the Opera House and The Rocks also a late checkout.
Cons: I think it is looking a bit old and could do with a revamp so your guests feel special.
While this hotel is rated 4.5stars it is not up t that standard, I went looking for a blanket and could not find one. The room while clean is very basic and the hotel really could do with a re vamp. The staff were friendly and pleasant but not as professional as other city hotels I have stayed in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Galveston TX

Right on Harbor-walk to many major attractions

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location!
Location: Harbor cruises, Opera House, the Royal Botanical Gardens, Darling Harbor, Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge, Pitt Street are all within walking distance.
Great location - close to many major attractions such as the Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay, Darling Harbor, and many more. Very nice and accomodating staff. Rooms are small to average but totally adequate. I would have thought that since we stayed 11 nights and booked 10 months in advance that we would have had a better view. The pool is on the roof and the view from there is great. They have a laundry room for guests at very reasonable prices. Valet parking is very expensive - and there is no other parking available but you don't really need a car so skip that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Night before we cruised

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: It had improved since last visit; rooms accommodated 4 now instead of max 3 on fold out bed.
Location: Close to cruise terminal, pancakes on the rocks, numerous restaurants, street markets on the weekends, and ferries at circular quay to zoo etc
Great location, easy walk to circular quay. Pool and pool deck spectacular. Sunset drinks up there was amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Great location, but needs a serious upgrade

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location at the Rocks is nice.
Cons: Hotel needs a serious upgrade.
The Old Sydney Holiday Day is showing its age. While it is listed as a 4* hotel, its rooms are certainly not up to that standard. The air vent above our bed was filthy and fully of dust. The ceiling around the grill was grey and dirty. The bathroom was old and showing its age; as was the carpet. The kind size bed sagged and was well worned. The furniture was worn. The overall hotel is very dated and given the prices they are charging -- it is not comparable to those of equal cost. The valet service was very slow and the reception was not very friendly. We had requested (and paid for) an executive room. The only thing executive about it was the king size bed. The location of the room did not provide us with a view, and we heard the customers at the bar outside next to us late into the night. We have stayed here before and found it a very nice hotel; but now with other choices --this hotel needs to keep current.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

Great location!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Our hotel room was simple, but you can't find a hotel in Sydney with a better location! You can walk everywhere. Be sure to go up in the Tower on a nice day and have a drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Penrith NSW

Nice hotel in the heart of the rocks.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Enjoyed our stay - room was clean and staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth WA

Great location in the Rocks

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The room was nice and spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
Location: Being in the heart of the Rocks there were lots of things to see and do in easy walking distance. It was close to trains and ferry terminals.
This was our first visit to Sydney in many years and the hotel was in a great location in the Rocks. Close to transport and many restaurants. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

lovely hotel. great location in the rocks

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: see above
lovely staff, great service , nice little pool on the roof with views over the harbour. Great room, handy fridge. V central. close to circular quay. Can't think of a better introduction to Sydney. Thanks to all