Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
1.8 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Bernhard from Austria

Unpleasant hostel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: friendly and helpful staff
Cons: - install at least some hooks in the rooms because there is no place at all e.g. to hang wet towels
Location: very good location near central, bus stop in front of hostel
Very nice and helpful staff, but bad smell in room, very loud because of busy street and train therefore windows cannot be opened during the night, at the beginning most of the showers were not working but have been repaired after 2 days, kitchen gets cleaned very good in morning but is a mess again in the afternoon because many guests(!) do not wash/clean properly
1 out of 5
by Ghis from Auckland

don't pay for it!

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: getting out of there thinking I won't have to sleep in that room ever again.
Cons: Close the place down and rebuild something that would actually respect the health and safety rules.
Location: The location is convenient, not too far from the city, bit noisy as it's a main road.
The room where we stayed was filthy with a smell of mould and death, I asked the reception to do something about it or to change our room but they didn't seem to really care. They sprayed our room once in five days with some deodorant and said to me that they were fully booked and that the only room they could swap it for had severe leaks from the ceiling... The receptionist offered me a refund for one night that we never got in the end... The whole floor where we stayed was looking like about to collapse (you could trip over stuff from under the carpet?!) and the toilets where mixed. Definitely not a place I would recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
by Balu from Canberra

Not a good place...

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Our room was a disaster, floor carpet was very dirty, the locker hadn't the facilities to use a lock, there was a hole in the wall covered with foil, the bed was dirty, and the smell was terrible. I think is better spend a couple of dollars more, even when you just go to sleep in this king of hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central budget backpackers

Posted Jan 14, 2014
This backpackers is located centrally and close to everything. We had a 4 night stay and it was worth the money we spent. The sheets were clean and kitchen and amenities were clean and tidy. The general place was run down and a bit stinky but you get what you pay for so for peak season we were happy with the place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not what expected

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Room was bare. found a cockroach within the room,curtains had cigarette burns in them. door was broken and only just locked.
1 out of 5
by Ken from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Beware: Abominable lodgings; avoid at all costs.

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Departing!
Cons: Dirty, dysfunctional, noisy, drug-ridden,falling-apart wreck of a hotel, badly managed and misleadingly advertised.
Location: The location is fine, it's the building and the way it is managed and maintained (or lack thereof) that's the problem.
This hostel should be on a world-wide warning list to prevent other travelers from suffering the same terrible experience we did. Dirty, uncomfortable, structurally unsound and with marijuana wafting through the whole building, the place is a hazard to health, peace of mind and lawful conduct. The inmates are allowed free reign to create extreme noise in the early hours of the morning and disturb all other guests trying to sleep, while the staff do nothing to prevent or check this unsafe and unlawful behaviour. This place, and all who work in it, should be condemned.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by davi from sydney

1.5

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
no good .
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by home backpackers

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
good for young er age. meet other people /good location
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Amy

Home backpackers Sydney

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The backpackers was easy to find. Upon arrival we were told that hotels.com had not sent home backpackers an email saying that we had booked a private room (we booked back in December 2012) so we were pretty annoyed at that! The blonde lady at the counter was friendly enough & fixed the problem quickly with sending someone up to clean a spare private room that they had. The other,dark haired woman was hostile & seemed like she did not want to be there. Our room was what we expected of a very cheap backpackers,no safety screen on window meant that if someone had decide that thu wanted to jump out if the 3rd stores floor then the easily could have! The bed was not that comfortable ,we could feel every spring inderneath our backs.we were only given a sheet,no dooner & it did get cold as was raining heavily outside on our first night. Was woken up by dripping coming from the ceiling that was soaking into the carpet.the dripping did not stop all night & it looked like they hAd done a botch job trying to fix it before.there was only 1 shower on the floor,so I never got to have one over the 2 days we were there as people would stay in there for hours! The fan worked in the room & the lights too.has good enough security at front door as need electronic tag to enter building. All in all it was what I expected from a very cheap backpackers,but I have been to cleaner,friendlier & at the same price backpackers before in Sydney!