Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Canaveral

Macleay Lodge Is No Longer Favored

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: No one at the Lodge to remedy loud tenants, malfunctions, etc. during period from 8PM-8AM.
Location: In Potts Point, about ten minutes from trains.
Pros: Allowed to check in early due to room not used the night before. Cons: On second night two young ladies in Room 12A played loud music all night after a late arrival. We asked them at 3 AM, 4 AM and at 4:30 AM to turn off the music. We were informed by "Susan" at front desk that they had to be awoken, checked out late, and many others had complained. We did not get any sleep. On Sunday we lost power in the room all day until 4 PM due to a faulty toaster. On Monday the circuit breaker tripped again so that we could not use TV, fridge or toaster. I have stayed at Macleay Lodge several times in the past, including in Room 12A, and recommended it to family and friends. My brother and wife stayed in Room 24 and the A/C-heater did not work. A floor heater was provided. On this trip we occupied Rooms 23 and 24 and the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Renovations are underway. On Monday night there was loud music and noises from Room 21 until 2 AM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 12, 2015
Very happy with our stay. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and happy. Would go back again for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

OK place to stay

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: low cost
We booked this hotel at the last minute and only because other alternatives were already taken. The room was clean. Shared bathroom was clean. No lift, so if your room is on the 3rd floor(loft), you take the stairs. Our room was on the street side, and traffic was noisey at times. After 8pm, the desk was closed, requiring a phone call to get checked in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the nightlife of Potts Point

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Reception staff very obliging
Location: Centre to popular restaurants, clubs
Booked on line for overnight inexpensive room in Potts Point/Kings Cross. My first experience in sharing bathroom facilities ( not a problem) - room tiny, bed linen clean and crisp - amenities such as microwave, TV if required. Bathroom toilet / shower clean Staff very obliging and I shall return if requiring a clean bed for quick overnight stay - price point good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by dominique from bruxelles

excellent rapport qualité /prix

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
sejour de 3 jours a sydney.hotel bien situé et tres tres bon rapport qualité /prix. les sanitaires correctes ,details chambres un peu sombre et mal ventilée ( humidité odeur et pas air co) et pas isolation phonique ( vieux chassis ) mais belle terrasse mais cela reste un bon endroit pour se poser deux ou trois nuits, le quartier est chouette et communication au centre bonne.internet payant , dommage.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Abhijay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Great location in Potts Point, close to everything, walking distance to the major sites. The rooms are neat and ours even had a fireplace! The bathroom wasn't really that great, kind of cramped and there's only one on each floor. But I would stay there again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mazen from lebanon

bad experience

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
the room was tiny with shared bathrooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Budget stay in great location.

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
We spent two nights in a balcony room, which was comfortable for the price paid and location. The staff were great, we arrived in the early morning and were able to check in straight away and have a nap. Room was clean, but had a very musty odour. There were some rather noisy guests a few doors down (the balcony dividers are only chest height) so we could hear everything in addition to the street noise and privacy was a bit limited as you could see into other rooms from your balcony and vice versa. If anyone was smoking, we would have smelled it. Common bathrooms were ok, conditions really dependent upon the cleanliness standards of fellow guests. Overall, it's an unbeatable location for the price.