Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Quaint hotel in very good location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Generally this is a quiet, clean hotel but this time was a little dirtier and noisier. The owners are very friendly.
Cons: Not that much
Location: It is only a short walk to the SCG, Kings Cross and the city from the hotel. Centennial park is worth a visit.
I have stayed at this hotel over 10 times due to its location. This time we were given Room 7 which is next to the dining area. it is probably the worst room due to the noise and lack of an outside window. The room was a little dusty and had a stain on the bed. Most of the rooms are not big but do have an old world charm. The owners / staff are helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy, small, quaint

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: John, the person who checked us in and who arranged for us to leave our suitcase there for two weeks.
Cons: Considering the building, perhaps nothing, but everything was crowded and tight.
Location: Lots of stores and restaurants.
We arrived late in the evening and left early the following morning, so we didn't get to enjoy breakfast. John, the attendant was VERY friendly, efficient, helpful, and thorough. Our room was small and crowded, but the building and the surrounding area were very quaint and cozy. We recommend this for a short stay with few pieces of luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good location, close to sights

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were able to walk to downtown area to Opera House, and nearby parks. Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms clean, a bit small if travelling with lots of luggage, common room had computer/ big-screen TV, travel magazines. Comfy breakfast room. Our stay was a positive experience and we would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nrewcastle UK

Potentially nice hotel in good location but...

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Hotel needs a maintenance schedule and room pre checking before a guest arrives.
Location: Good access to restaurants and bars nearby.
Dissappointing. Airconditioning not working on first night of stay - not mended by second night but offered room change which was uneccessary as a cool change had come through. TV remote control missing. Average breakfast. Too much processed food little care taken with presentation. Hotel once a fine conversion now looking a little tired. Needs some TLC and some precise management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom camridge nz

better than hoped for

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: character, size, position, staff, breakfast, not being far from the main city
Cons: after cleaning our room cups weren't always washed and the tea coffee not topped up not really an issue as just went to dining room and helped ourse
Location: easy acces to city either walking of bus
after reading reviews not sure what to expect we were pleasently surpirsed we are not so keen on big impersonal hotels and manor house is not that we arrived early and the staff were really helpful good position and comfortable with character we stayed for 4 nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield England

Traditional hotel with everything you need.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The lounge area, the breakfast & that area, & the overall period features of the rooms & the building, with a public balcony facing the busy street.
Cons: The soundproofing in rooms 10 & 11.
Location: A steady 40 mins walk to the harbour, 5 mins walk from busy Oxford St & in a good area for eating out or visiting the SCG. On a bus route to Bondi too
We enjoyed a comfortable 4 night stay at MHBH. Everything about the room, the lounge & the breakfast areas & facilities were all of a good to high standard. The place had character, as well as attentive staff, & wasn't a modern, white box type hotel room, but still had all we required. The air-conditioned lounge with complinentary water / tea & coffee was a bonus. The only down side was the traffic noise if you were in rooms 10 or 11.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom taiwan

非常有質感的飯店

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: 早餐,熱心的員工
Cons:
Location: hyde park
高度推薦,距離市區不遠,又可以感受雪梨的美,附近就有美食值得你去探索,非常棒的早餐,熱心的員工,裡裡外外都很乾淨
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jerryfrom Sverige

Mysigt hotell

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Trevligt hotell, med bra service. Det tog 10 minuter med buss till centrum. Flera restauranger i närheten, bl.a. En pastarestaurang Toki med fantastisk mat men vinet får du ta med själv;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Madeleinefrom Devon, uk

Quirky and convenient hotel with character

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Charming building and decor, interesting area and convenient for centre. Lovely spacious lounge. Our standard room was very tight, with only light from atrium and corridor. Bathroom also very dim. Breakfast minimal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by louisefrom Saugerties

City gem

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice place, friendly staff, great breakfast , sitting room area comfortable- room a little small but clean, well stocked. Easy access to public transportation to get to city or beaches. Nice find