Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Nice and clean hotel loved the 8th floor pool.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Stayed for 2 nights the day staff are great but at night the staff is a little rude only for room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle NSW

great

Posted Jan 28, 2015
5 minutes to central station, 5 minutes to paddies market and 10 minutes to Darling Harbour, How much more convenient do you need it to be. Room was clean. Buffet breakfast was the best one I have had at a motel, after I told the kids not to have their hopes up we were pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Food and reasonable prices
Nice hotel ans close to the CBD. An enjoyable stay and everything was clean and tidy as you would expect from a Novotel. Food was lovely and restaurant staff were happy to cater to our dietary requirements. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney NSW australia

Great weekend!!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
I celebrated my daughters 19th bday an all i can say the staff were friendly an helpful right from the time we checked in . Even spoilt my daughter with a lovely complimentary bottle of wine. The pool was lovely but crowded school hols i guess was very relaxing in the spa too . Good work guys keep it up!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom perth

Central location

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Close to main attractions but lacks hotel facilities, pool too small and not much else to do. They have done a very good job on its advertising. On the positive side the staff are freindly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Great Simple hotel that is great value for money

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: This time we were placed in a room facing a neighbouring apartment block (not a great view) and the room had no shear curtains.
Cons: Add shear curtains to the rooms facing the apartment block, this would improve privacy and eliminate the need to have the block out curtains closed.
We stay here most Easters and Christmas holidays. The kids love the pancakes for breakfast and it is close to many amenities. Did have a couple of issues with our booking this time however the manager Arlena was great and upgraded us to a balcony room. Look forward to staying again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada ex aussie

Ants in the room

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Staff and bed comfort
Cons: Loose the ants!
Location: Location is the main reason I chose this hotel, right near chinatown( awesome food courts) and very close to darling harbour.
We arrived after a very long flight from Canada, tired and in need of a shower. The reception allowed us to check in early which was greatly appreciated. Had a quick swim in the outdoor which was nice. Room appeared clean but a little small, beds were very comfortable and due to jet lag we were in bed early. Unfortunately around 4 am, my son woke to ants crawling over him, turning on the light they were all over the walls, desk and bed. There was a small crack in one wall which they were coming through. My son was so freaked out we decided to leave early. On arriving at the front desk with our situation I must say the staff were excellent, the front desk were attentive and apologetic. They got the duty manager who I took to the room and pointed out the insects. He was also apologetic, very professional and made the unfortunate situation right. We were offered a new room but due to the kids still a little freaked out we decided to leave. He attended to our bill and we were given 4 boxed breakfasts to take with us which was greatly appreciated. This could have been handled in a totally unprofessional manner but over all two thumbs up to the staff...they are a credit to Novotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington, NZ

Lovely hotel, close to CBD

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Foyer and the room we stayed in were very modern and nicely decorated. The staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Making sure that room service trays are removed from hallways and out of sight of other guests as soon they can be.
Location: Within walking distance to Darling Harbour. Very close to Central Station and Paddy's Market. Woolworths supermarket was just down the road.
We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 2 week stay in Sydney. I liked it from the moment I walked in. The foyer was lovely and the people at the front desk were very welcoming. Our room was great with slightly more room in it than our previous hotel. We particularly enjoyed the view out our window of the planes landing and taking off from the airport. At the beginning of our trip we stayed down by The Rocks which meant we explored that area of Sydney quite well. Staying at The Novotel, at the end of our trip, meant we got to explore the other end of town really well also. We were close to Darling Harbour which we walked to every day. We were close to Paddy's Market and Chinatown which were good to stroll through. There was a taxi stand right outside which was very handy. Being so close to Central Station was also very handy. I was overall really pleased with the hotel and the service it provided. My only complaint was that one day our towels were replaced but we received no bath mat, hand towels or flannels and they didn't always replenish the bathroom supplies and tea and coffee when they ran out. This was really only a minor thing and I'm sure they would have provided us with the bathroom supplies if we had of had enough guts to ring and ask for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: spacious for inner city, beautiful breakfast
Location: central station handy, Darling Harbour park grounds and restaurants
all good but I'm a bit annoyed having to write this review
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Older Hotel needs updating.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Neat and tidy.
Cons: Update the towel's at the facility.
Location: Good location only a taxi ride to all city must do's.
1 x lift was not working, could not get hold of the reception staff when dialing internally, I had to call on my mobile to contact reception. Swimming pool not a big hit and we had to use the fire stairs because of the lift problem and we ended up in the kitchen with all the staff. Overall not going back.