Ratings based on 2,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra ACT

Wonderful staff and facilities were great.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, food, everything
Cons: I couldn't fault anything
Location: Shops, resteraunts cinemas parks for kids, activities for kids
My wife and 3 kids all had a great time. Staff were helpful and friendly, the location is so close to great restaurant's and shops. I had the best steak I have ever had at a restaurant only 5 mins walk away called meat and wine co. Room was good and clean. It would be worth staying there for the breakfast alone as it was the best buffet I have ever seen. Overall great hotel in a great location and cant wait to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Brilliant

Posted May 18, 2015
Welcomed by friendly staff. Check-in was a breeze. Room was great with stunning views (apart from construction sight views, which wasnt hotels fault). Pillows were a bit too thick, but bed was comfy. Buffet brekky was one of the best. Definately would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

odd bed

Posted May 14, 2015
matrix sank a lot in the middle, don not like this design
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor staff knowledge and communication

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: The staff needs to communicate better with each other, and in turn provide a better service to their customers.
Location: Shops, restaurants, bars, museums, zoo.
Stayed here for two nights in late April. The hotel is situated on Darling Harbour and offers magnificent views of the harbour along with access to several restaurants, bars, and shopping nearby. I reserved an Executive Darling Harbour View room, and upon checkin was given a room on the 3rd floor overlooking a construction site. Severely disappointed with the view, I asked for a room with a better view preferably on a higher floor. I was told that I should have put in the remarks of the booking that I would like a Harbour view. What is the point of paying extra for an advertised "Executive Darling Harbour view" room when I am advised to also remark in the comments of the booking that that is indeed the room that I want? I was then given a room on the 5th floor, which was located more toward the center of the hotel and had the view that I had paid for. The day prior to my departure, I had asked the concierge about hiring a car to the airport the following morning. I was told that the concierge could arrange that for me at any time the day prior. Long story short, concierge went home, front desk couldn't assist in any way, and a bellman helped book it. It was supposed to be a private car for $50 and ended up (suprise!) being a shared ride with four other stops enroute to the airport with those passengers paying only $30. The driver felt bad that I had gotten the run-around and only charged me $30, which was a nice gesture. Does anyone in this hotel communicate?!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Hayden, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, whilst your stay should have been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologize. At Novotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

worst hotal

Posted May 4, 2015
This is a terrible hotel. With a $300+ per night's room fee, the hotel contributes its customers with terrible service, unclear bed. The room is dirty! This is the worst hotel I experienced in Australia, I love travelling, however I won't choose this brand hotel"Novotel" anymore. What if you want a dirty room, this hotel is always your first choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Hayden, Hotel Management
Dear Toshaka Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, whilst your stay should have been enjoyable I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologize. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, here at Novotel we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent in this case we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super Location in Darling harbour

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: super Aussicht auf den Hafen
Cons: Frühstück überteuert, bei Buchung nicht zu sehen wieviel das Frühstück kostet
schönes Hotel mit Traumlage, Badezimmer ziemlich veraltet
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Hayden Hughes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback; we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Everything is ok with the hotel, typical Novotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Location and restaurant is very good.
Cons: You know what to expect at Novotels.
Location: Darling Harbour is a very good location.
We arrived one day later because of engine problems with our flight from AYR. We were asking the reception staff for a credit of the missed breakfast (2 x AU$ 35 = AU$ 70) They were not very friendly and told us " you booked with Expedia so you have to go back to Expedia for this ". Therefore I will ask you for a Credit in the amount of AU$ 70.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Great location, clean , friendly staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, large rooms, comfortable beds
Great location, cleanliness of hotel good friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Hayden Hughes, Hotel Management
Dear Barb Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra

Good location, not a great hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Newly renovated seemed nice enough in public areas
Cons: - No management of the Taxi queue (line up of 18 people trying to get to work!) - Towels were VERY rough (like IBIS!) - Very poor mini bar selection
Recently renovated the Novotel is OK. It's a perfectly adequate hotel however not worth the usual cost if there are similar hotels nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Hayden Hughes, Hotel Management
Dear Kate Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While you mentioned you had an enjoyable stay overall I will forward your comments onto our team, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve our standards We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Very Nice Hotel, close to downtown .

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The Hotel is in a very good location and is always a pleasure to stay there.It is always clean and tidy.
Location: Right next to Darling Harbour and Harbourside shops .
Good experience all round, very helpful staff. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Hayden Hughes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback; we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Hayden Hughes General Manager