Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old building, poor renovation

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect for us
Location: Building conects to a sky walk/bridge that takes you directly to the lightrail (gold) as well as Harbour Side Shopping centre and Darling Harbour
Room was clean, staff were helpful and polite. The room facilites (kitchen etc) were quite dated. Also the white lighting made the place very "cold" and "sterile" bit like a hospital. Certainly looked alot better in the pictures. Also no balcony.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Location reasonable for price!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: location to CBD
Cons: the corridor situation definitely needs an upgrade and the lifts need grater attention
Location: 10 - 15 min walk from CBD
very average, problems with lifts through out our stay, asked for queen bed got 2 singles. Very noisy the corridors that were "open plan" which meant very thing echoed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Very dissapointed - was not 4 star worthy

Posted Sep 21, 2014
I've never had later than a midday check in anywhere in Sydney before, however check in was for 2pm and then we had to wait behind a dozen other guests trying to check in as well which went on for quite some time. It would of been nice to check in earlier instead of wandering around the city waiting after catching flights and trains to get there. We also had a lot of trouble just trying to find the entrance as there was no signage despite all the construction work going on with demolishing the Convention Centre across the road. After we checked in and were heading up to the room the house keeping were still preparing our room unaware we had checked in, so we had to stand awkwardly and wait on the balcony to let them finish. We were quite annoyed and dissapointed at the service and first impression of the hotel as well as the room facilities. The king size bed was dreadful and nothing was done in regards to the noise levels of the yelling drunks who loitered in the lobby for everyone to hear for repeatedly through out the night - we barely slept the 2 nights we were there. At the end of the day, with everything that happened and us leaving so dissapointed and exhausted, I unfortunately wouldn't recommend staying there - let alone understanding how it's rated as a 4 star hotel. I dont usually review anything but quite frankly I stayed in a back packers hotel and had about the same level of experience for a third of the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. walking distance to Darling Harbour

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Have stayed at the Oaks Goldsbrough a couple of times, staff are wonderful, rooms basic but clean & have everything you need for your stay. Lifts are being modified at the moment, so need to be patient or take the stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Oaks Goldsbrough Apartment

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Rooms are decent condition - clean! Friendly staff. Hallways of building felt like an old prison & unusual smell. Close proximity to attractions and value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubbo

2 minute walk to Darling Harbour

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean but the apartments themselves a bit dated.
Cons: Tell people about parking arrangements.
Location: 2 minutes to Darling Harbour and Maritime Museum!
Love the location of the Golsborough Apartments its a 2 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Apartments themselves are a bit dated but they were clean and the beds really comfortable. Parking is in adjacent public secure car parks. If you want to be central and self cater this is the spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel Close to Darling Harbour

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: I loved the timber and heritage feel of the hotel, but the rooms were still quite modern.
Cons: The lounge suite was definitely very uncomfortable. Upgrade to a more relaxing, comfortable and supportive lounge suite please.
Location: Central to many things: close to Darling Harbour, Sydney Tower, and transport to many locations by ferry. Handy to shops, restaurants, etc.
We loved our time in Sydney. The motel was adequate considering we spent very little time there, but not fantastic. Pleasing appearance, excellent service, mostly comfortable, but the lounge room leaves a lot to be desired in terms of comfort. After an exhausting day out you just want to relax in a nice comfy lounge. I was also surprised by the parking fees - this was probably in the fine print and wasn't aware of it when booking. This added to the cost of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy apt for families with kids

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Hotel is getting a bit tired but close to darling harbour and we'll set up for families. The 2 br apt we stayed in has washing machine and dryer and kitchen. It is a handy base for exploring sydney
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Absolutely brilliant!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Beautiful 2bdr apartment,very modern,2bathrooms,lots of beds &plenty of cupboard space with ducted a/c. we were very surprised that it was 2storey! Amazing view of centrepoint tower. Very covenient location-short stroll to Darling Harbour, great carparking. Very friendly staff, free daily newspaper. Upstairs had a tv, however downstairs didn't. If you require a taxi,please do not bother ringing to book or even wait outside for one. (Not the fault of the hotel) we, as well as other hotel patrons on 2different occassions rang&waited for 1/2 hr or so..no taxi, no courtesy phone call.Every taxi that we saw would speed past us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Suberbs

Close to all modes of transport

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The history of the building and the way it has been restored from its original purpose.
Cons: because the building is so open it is a bit noisy. Better sound proofing could be a benifit.
Location: Everything that we were interested was handy, we used the light lail, ferries and walked safely to any of our destinations
We both enjoyed our stay, we were upgraded to an apartment which we really appreciated.