Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Nice compact n comfortable

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Is different between other hotel , I will like to stay again for next trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queensland

Our Findings

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Locality and cleanliness also price.
Cons: Air conditioning .... seems it's switched off over the night.
Location: Darling Harbour and all it has to offer ..... need ant thing else be said ??
Had a nice stay for nearly a week in November 2014. Well located with in walking distance to the Star, and Centerpoint ( though don't recommend the "rotating restaurant" food just OK and service poor ..... had a really unprofessional weightier ) .... oh! back to the Oakes, all in all a very pleasant experience except for two separate morning fire alarms going off ( not the Oakes fault ) rooms serviced well and a clean room with nice views. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canberra

Close to darling harbour

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The lift
Location: Quick walk over bridge to Darling Harbour, great restaurants and attractions
The hotel was clean the staff very friendly. My only complaint would be the lift, the card kept deactivating and the lift took ages. I would stay again anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Warning needed for sufferers of Vertigo

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to Darling Harbour with covered walkways all the way to the waterfront. Comfortable beds, clean and well appointed rooms.
Cons: A warning for sufferers of heights and vertigo please.
Beautifully presented apartments close to Darling Harbour, HOWEVER - it would be advisable to let people know about the (albeit stunning) Atrium from floors 3 through to 13. Stepping out of a lift and expecting a "normal" floor and finding yourself confronted with this is un-nerving and distressing. The rooms themselves, are well appointed, tidy and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Lifts took forever , overpriced

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Overpriced for what it is lifts took way to long to come up or down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wollongong Australia

Good Location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: It is different they look like little cabins from the outside
Cons: maybe a little restaurant/cafe
Location: Location is good. Star City, shopping, aquarium , beautiful walks and the atmosphere
This is the 5th time we have stayed at Oaks Goldborough all times have been good with great rooms. This last time we were upgraded to the Penthouse (got really excited) but on arrival to the room we were very disappointed the others rooms are so much nice. The Penthouse rooms that we were in certainly needs to be renovated!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Nice hotel in centre of Darling Harbour

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Sound proofing of windows for rooms on southern end of hotel due to freeway noise.
Location: Perfect position for people wishing to discover the beauty of the Darling Harbour precinct including the Star Casino.
Room was very noisy, next to freeway. Rooms are very spacious and well furnished. Staff were very professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, room was adequate for three adults

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location, facilites
Cons: Maintenance issues - as above.
Location: Great dining at Darling Harbour. Easy access to City and Circular Quay. Light Rail is a great asset and should be promoted to guests.
Rubbish on floor in main room and under cupboard in bathroom. Lounge was very marked and needed a good clean. Minor paint damamge on entrance walls detracted from overall impression. Not all items in kitchen (three adults, two teapoons, etc) but only minor inconvenience. Broken glass was removed but not replaced. Having a dishwasher was brilliant. Beds very comfortable and linen replacement was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Not what was portrayed on the website

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Ramp access would help, lifts that work, curtains that were not torn, a lounge you can sit on without sitting yourself to the Gaffa tap, noisy.
Location: Bit of a trek through the Novatel carpark to get to Darling Harbour, don't do it at night!!
Disappointing, more like a budget motel, only access was via stairs making baggage handling very difficult. Black Gaffa Tape over the cuts in the black vynal lounges were a nice touch. Only one out of three lifts working, mostly filled with backpackers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Holiday

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom sink which did not drain, bedside lights bulbs blown. Lifts out of service.
Location: Transport, parks, eateries.
Enjoyed our grandmother and granddaughter experience