Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Cannot ask for a better location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The proximity to Sydney Harbour and Sydney CBD.
Location: Cannot ask for a better location. Walking distance to the Rocks and Rocks Markets, Harbour Bridge, Sydney Theatre Company, Dedes on the Wharf.
I loved my stay at Pier One, the room was comfortable, clean, spacious and with a view to Sydney Harbour. As the hotel is undergoing refurbishment for a couple of month the only inconvenience I had was to find the right entrance. Even that was probably Siri's fault in my fault for directing me to streets that were blocked off. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to recommend it any of my friend, family for a great stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Construction Site.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: THe whole building
The ONLY part of the hotel that isn't a construction zone was the room. with the room when any room near flushed the toilet the noise in our room was enormous, when we checked in there was NO explanation made by the staff regarding the ongoing construction. the whole stay was disgraceful.we will NEVER stay there again & have already told friends of our miserable stay,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adealaide

enjoyable experience

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location,staff!
Location: easy walk to the rocks and ferries.
great location,easy walk to ferries and the rocks. Staff very efficient and friendly. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Not affected by renovations but will be excellent when renovations completed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for a wedding

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Very friendly safe, nice room and great view. Would recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pier One Dawes Point

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: N/A
Location: It is close to The Rocks, so you can walk to the markets on the weekend. Close to Circular Quay where you can visit the art gallery & great restaurant
Pier one is usually a great place to stay, but this time we booked not knowing 3/4 of the hotel was blocked off for renovations. I think Expedia should have included this information on their booking site for this hotel. Wouldn't have stayed this time if we had known that renovations were taking place, as it effected the total experience of our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms

Posted Aug 2, 2014
It was a nice room, everything else is average for star rating. I prob would not stay there again. Location near bridge is good but there are many other hotels in area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria

Great Location... but...

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: see notes above
Location: Once again Great Location! Everything within walking distance: Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Taronga zoo, Cruises, Restaurants and Shopping.
First time in Sydney, wanted somewhere within walking distance to Opera House, Ferries etc., Perfect!! Arrived via taxi from airport, informed by driver that hotel was currently undertaking renovations. Dropped at rear laneway, eventually gained access through restaurant. Greeted by reception manageress and asked, How do you wish to pay for your room? Luckily I had all the paperwork from Expedia regarding our booking details, and after taking a security deposit from my credit card, proceeded to our room... Wrong Room!!! Back to reception we went. We were told we were getting a free upgraded room. After checking our Expedia paperwork again she realised we had actually paid for an upgraded room, so we finally got the room we had booked. Ordered a meal via room service, only got half of our order... 10 minutes later the other half arrived?? When checking out was informed we could leave our luggage at Hotel until we needed to go to airport, approx., 2 hours, great!!! Got back and Surprise... couldn't find our luggage! To be fair there was 1 guy that worked in reception that was outstanding! Did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable, to him we say "Thankyou"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better places to stay for the cost

Posted Jul 28, 2014
$335 for this room is getting a little bit to dear good position but their are hotels near this one that are better for what this place was charging their doing a face lift at the moment The smell of paint came through our room all night they should not have charge the money they did while this reno was going on probably wont go back after this stay even tho I have stayed here with my family and wife before the experience made me feel a little bit ripped off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sydney [aus]

close to everything around the historic rocks area

Posted Jul 28, 2014
only stayed one night they are renovating the hotel and it was all tidy no workmen wandering around the place.in all a nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Loved the location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location and those fabulous deep bath tubs.
Cons: Flushing the toilet was as loud as a airplanes flush.
Location: Location location location. Such a scenic and safe walk around both to the Rocks and a show at the Opera House.
We had a lovely stay with our family recently at pier one. Great location, stylish rooms and friendly staff.