Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelle from gold coast

Nice Hotel with good view of Hyde Park

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Good view of Hyde Park. 1 friendly staff member nice size room with nice bathroom. Most of the time quiet East to get a taxi
Cons: Staff, mainly the girls at the desk Take customers to there room. Reduce the prices of food
Location: Hyde Park across the road Museum at the end of the street Train station across the road less then 10 min to ferries
The Hotel is clean and nice, just a few little things that spoilt the Hotel, when we arrived we were given a card to use in the lift and door for the room, no one showed us how to use it and it took a few minutes to figure it out. I would rate this Hotel a 4 star not a 5 Our bath tap didn't work and had to arrange to have it fixed. Called reception a few times with no answer. Old towels left in bathroom when in house cleaning had been. Breakfast form not replaced for the next day. No top sheet on the beds, just doona. The beds were great but pillows were not. noisy on our last day with construction work and could hear drills going. line up for reception no good. Price for the buffet breakfast way to high and even prices for the restaurant to high. Remote for the tv hard to use, may need new batteries Ordered breakfast which should come with 3 pieces of toast and only received 2
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We very much appreciate this feedback as it continually allows us to review and improve our service and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is the Pullman Brand standard that we do not place a top sheet on the bed and towels in line with our sustainability requirements are only replaced if they are placed inside the bathtub. During your arrival and departure, we have reviewed our cameras to find that there were no queues for your check in or check out. Our breakfast pricing is in line with our sister hotels in Sydney and do offer a large selection of items. Whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Lorraine Mercuri, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Argentina

We loved it.

Posted May 1, 2014
Comfy, clean, excellent, modern facilities. Perfect for us, a 4 member family. Comfortable beds, excellent service and friendly, helpful staff. Amazing location opposite Hyde Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2014 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Dear Rebecca, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our hotel and its location. We hope to welcome you back one day soon. Kind regards Lorraine Mercuri General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position and roof top pool.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Lovely staff, clean room and very comfortable beds. Great breakfast and view across the park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Cairns, QLD

Excellence and luxury right in the heart of Sydney

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Fantastic two night stay with my two daughters. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were very impressed. The staff (very polite and helpful), room (what a view!, very spacious, spa in bathroom, comfortable beds), facilities (great gym!, pool spa and sauna), breakfast (amazing!! - especially the smoothies and Belgian waffles) - everything was very well done. The hotel's proximity to all the sights in town was perfect. We will be staying at the Pullman Hyde Park when we visit Sydney again - a must. Thanks for making our stay exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ros from Sydney Aus

A beautiful view of Hyde Park. Close to everything

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms, the breakfast, the service, the pool, the view, the location - all great.
Location: The Museum, Art gallery, Anzac memorial , Hyde Park, Restaurants, Shopping - its close to everything.
We all loved it. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Silent rooms, full blackout curtains, excellent room service. Pool, spa and sauna were most enjoyable after a day in the city. The view of Hyde Park was just amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Perth

great location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: good size rooms
Cons: Needs a refresh, very dated
Location: good location, close to shopping, city and restaurants
Only three nights, but hotel staff very friendly, comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vjohan from melbourne

Definitely enjoy my stay

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: clean, comfortable and excellent customer service, despite the location is a bit far walk to darling harbour
Cons: nothing as long they are consistent
Johan was the hotel receptionist that serve me and his customer service is excellent. He did an early check in for me which I super appreciate it considering the weather at that time was cold and raining. So I could have early rest and good sleep. I really recommend the stay in here and thank Pullman and Johan for the fantastic customer service and comforts that surpassed my expectation.
2 out of 5
by EMPIRE from SYD

Nice but lacked the five star feel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Seems old and overrated. Room was dusty but clean, staff were pleasant but patronising. Defanetly better hotels in CBD for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from London

Listen to Feedback

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The roof top pool.
Cons: The bar is bland.
Location: Location is a short walk across the park to the central business district.
We stayed for two days and had pre-paid for a further 5 nights two weeks later. We expressed dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of the windows and ease of check in. The Asia Pacific manager responded to me personally and our complains were resolved before we returned for our second stay.
5 out of 5
by ludovic from paris

nice hotel in the city

Posted Apr 8, 2014
everything was good only jacuzzi didnt work for 2days