Ratings based on 5,021 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Morbider Charme in Citynähe

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Das Hotel befindet sich in günstiger Lage zum Stadtzentrum, Sehenswürdigkeiten und dem Bahnhof.
Dieses Hotel von überschaubarer Qualität lebt vom Glanz vergangener Zeiten. Der tägliche Zimmerservice, "täglich" sollte man nicht all zu ernst nehmen, folgt einem sehr ungewöhnlichem Regime, der Kunden mit Jetlag oder einem aus anderen Gründen verschobenen Zeitplan sehr entgegen kommt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

prêt de la gare centrale et université UTS

Posted Feb 15, 2015
chambre un peu décevante propreté et climatisation non ajustable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Late Check In

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: location facilities
I had booked a room that had a late check in Staff not so helpful with this regarding bags and refreshments etc..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Not a bad spot in Surry Hills

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Immaculate bathrooms, nice bar downstairs.
Cons: Carpets in room looked dirty, should be cleaned more regularly.
Location: 20 minute walk from the centre of the CBD, or less from the light rail. Experience southern Sydney city.
Stayed overnight, quick check in process, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Fabulous hotel. Great location.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything. Staff were very professional. Big clean rooms. Great bed.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's very close to Central Station so you can catch a train from the airport and walk down plus you're on the doorstep of trendy Surry Hills.
I got a good deal during the week and only stayed a couple of nights but I wish I could've stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

We love Rydges and Ian Frenkel!!!!!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Lobby staff helpful, easy check in, comfortable beds, clean/new bathrooms, great hair dryer!, good toiletree products, FREE WIFI!!!, a couch, etc.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There is a huge train station within walking distance, lots of cafes and restaurants and shops (even ASOS clothing store!) and a 10 min cab to the CBD
Rydges was so great! Between the helpful and friendly staff and super comfortable- and BIG- room (WITH A COUCH) we couldn't believe how good of a price it was. The location is also awesome with lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants within walking distance. Ian is the best staff member and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable!! This was our first time staying at Rydges (we are from the US) and we've already booked one for our stay in Melbourne :)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 東京都

セントラル駅近くのオシャレホテル

Posted Feb 6, 2015
セントラル駅出口から3分程度の好立地にあるホテルです。またサリーヒルズというオシャレなカフェが立ち並ぶ場所でもあります。デカデカとリッジズの看板があり分かりやすいです。 午前8:00に着いてアーリーチェックインをお願いしたのですがダメだったのですが、とにかくフロントのスタッフの対応が悪い。挨拶もなければ笑顔もない。極めて事務的な対応。4.5星ホテルのスタッフとは思えない。そのスタッフだけでなく他のスタッフも挨拶する素振りは一切なし。翌日も11:00チェックアウトのはずが9:00くらいに部屋に電話があり何時に出て行くのかと追い出されるような感じ。部屋の前には嫌がらせかのように清掃用具が置いてありました。 ロビーは床下が水槽になっており非常に綺麗でホテルの立地も抜群、部屋も綺麗なだけにスタッフの対応には本当にガッカリ。翌日は五つ星のシャングリラを利用しましたが圧倒的なスタッフの対応の違い!さすがシャングリラホテルスタッフの対応は一流と感じました。 スタッフの対応さえ良ければ文句無しに素晴らしいホテルです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good location close to Central Station

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Staff. location
Cons: Coffee, the attached restaurant, so decor issues
Location: Chinatown, Pitt St Mall, Circular Quay
Staff were really good and really helpful; facilities were fine. The booking was room only which should have be stated on the itinerary we printed but was not. Beds were comfortable and the room service was fine. Buffet style breakfast is plentiful if a little bland with lots of options though I hate coffee from a machine, The attached restaurant/bar is OK for a drink but I don't recommend the food there. The in-room internet was free and (mostly) quick, but had some issues with the in-lobby terminal for booking/printing. Reasonable lobby area, Apparently caters to a lot of tour/groups and business meetings. Handy for Central Station, Pitt St Mall and Chinatown. Good links to Circular Quay (approx. 2 miles). On the basis of our first visit we booked to stay there again later on in our trip. Not cheap, but it was Christmas time peak season. This was our first stay in a Rydges hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

A less than average experience

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Poor service and the beds were uncomfortable. The restaurant was closed on a Sunday night and did not have any decent place to eat around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Thili, Our Hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday during January, apologies if this caused any inconvenience. We are very fortunate to be in a great location with numerous restaurants and cafes all within a 10 minute walk from our hotel along Oxford and Crown street also down around China Town our concierge team always has some great recommendations. We normally get great feedback our beds, sorry you didn't like them. Kind Regards, Jenny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Convenience of location and price
Cons: longer opening hours for the lobby bar!
Location: about 7 mins walk from Central Rail station which is about 15 mins train from the airport. Access to trendy cafes and reastaurants of surrey hills
Located in the east of the city - very trendy cafes around the corner from the hotel. Very helpful staff, extremely efficient with our needs. Parking was reasonable and available to our convenience on site. Great access to teh rest of the city. Overall this is a great value for money stay - pool and gym were a good bonus to unwind!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Kammy, Thank you for your fantastic review! We are very fortunate to be in a great location which is close by to public transport but also close to some of the great restaurants and cafes in the local area. There are some real hidden gems here! Glad you also enjoyed the pool and gym facilities. Kind Regards, Jenny