Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Hotel in good location but not 4.5 stars

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: It's in a good location and close to Central train station. You could walk from Central if you wanted to.
Cons: Needs a lot of money spent on it to bring it up to an acceptable level (sounds snobby I know but an IBIS or Holiday Inn is nicer)
Location: It's very central to most venues in the city.
Booked due to the price of the hotel and the star rating. I thought 4.5 stars would mean a nice hotel with good amenities. I was disappointed upon arrival. I was "upgraded" to a deluxe room that was so poorly decorated. The bed sheets feel cheap. Everything is really old and run down. The bathroom has been upgraded but it wasn't very clean. There was rust on the door hinges and handles throughout the room. The carpet was old and dirty looking and had a large bubble in the middle of the room where you could tell it wasn't laid properly in the first place. Really bad no name TV with barely any channels to watch (free to air but not all channels even came through). And that's about all that's in the room. Oh and an old lounge with a coffee table that was all banged up and dirty. This hotel is a star rating of 3 and maybe 3.5? If you are looking for a romantic getaway look elsewhere. If you just want a quick stay and a place to crash this hotel will do but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Good place, nice location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Good walking distance to stuff, decent gym, I was there for 4 days, nice staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Great location.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Cons: The bad smell on the ground floor.
Location: Close to bus station & walking distance to shopping
A bit pricey for what it was but still a nice place.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Central Coast

Clean and close to Capitol Theatre

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Restaurants lovely and close to Capitol Theatre.
Cons: Quite noisy - cars outstide could be heard and other guests slamming doors.
Location: Very close to the city..
Very brief. Only one night spent due to watching a show.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi DD, thank you for your review. We are fortunate to be in a great location close by to attractions such as the Capitol Theatre. Kind Regards, Jenny
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Profiteering

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Charge standard rates and keep your customers
Location: CBD is handy and central station is across the road
$330 dollar room pushed to $516. The hotel had 7 rooms available but could not let me have one because they were for Gold and Platinum members at $577. I looked up expedia and booked a room at $516. So much for being a member of high standing. Service was OK, room was very $150 standard and whilst the front desk was busy both interactions were with few satff present and a 5 to 10 minute wait.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Phil, While we do value our Gold and Platinum members we don't reserve rooms for them so I'm sorry you got that impression. Sounds like you joined us during a busy period apologies you had to wait at reception. Kind Regards, Jenny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne VIC

Close to everything, comfortable room

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, free wifi, late check out, position, staff and food
Cons: The room fans do tend to rattle a bit, so keep them on a low setting
Location: Right by central station which is the gateway to just about everything Sydney has to offer.
Whenever I go to Sydney for work, I always stay here. It is close to my office, right across the road from Central Station and always clean and tidy. The staff are terrific and will do anything to help you, such as when I booked a second night, they had no issues accommodating me in the same room which meant not having to check out. Free WiFi is a massive bonus as is the late check out of 11am. As my return flight was 4pm, there were no issues in the hotel looking after my bags. The food is always top notch and reasonably prices. I'd have no hesitation staying here again or recommending the hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: nice room
Cons: coffee machine was noisy in breakfast room (rydges hotel)
close to station and places we wanted to see. China town , market
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to CBD.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Great friendly service. Would recommend to family's.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Johnfrom Melbourne

Charmless hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good points first - this hotel is located right next to Central Station and the ideal spot to base yourself to explore the Surry Hills. Staff were helpful, aside from reminding us 4 times that our checkout was at 9am. Other than that, the hotel doesn't have a lot going for it - it is very dated, the room, while clean, was poorly decorated and showing it's age. Not sure how this is rated 4.5 stars, feels like a 3 star hotel to me.