Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tam from Sydney

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Apr 16, 2014
An enjoyable stay with great staff, delicious breakfast buffet and comfy bed!
3 out of 5
by Wayne from Hawkesbury area, NSW.

Close proximity to Capitol Theatre.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The Buffet Breakfast was the highlight of our stay & parking was quite reasonably priced at $34.50 overnight.
Cons: New carpets & decor requires attention (dated somewhat)
Location: Handy to Central railway station, Chinatown & Capitol Theatre.
The purpose of the stay was to attend the Capitol Theatre to see the Lion King (fantastic show) and to have an enjoyable stay overnight in a classy hotel. Unfortunately this hotel I'm sure was classy in its time but is stuck in the past and is in dire need of modernisation. Part of the experience I had hoped for during our stay was a beautiful city view but it wasn't to be, unfortunately the room was overlooking the back alley & facing other drab buildings through the double glass doors instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Kiama

Quality Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Has a gym, spa and sauna
Cons: Website bookings need to be accurate regarding name
Location: Close to Capitol theatre and central station
Confused looking for the motel as it was listed on booking as The Sebel Surry Hills and has since had a name change. Location is good for the upper part of CBD. Close to public transport.
3 out of 5
by pete from christchurch

Ryges

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: too expensive
Location: not especially interestting location.
Up front payment made us fell like we were going to do a runner. Ordinary hotel for the tarriff. wont stay again better value elsewere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Subbu from Melbourne

good location and nice hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
it was good. our room was near the lift. corridor noise was inside the room as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard from Peak Crossing

Great location, close to Central Station

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Central to where we were planning to go i.e. transport to Olympic Park, CBD and China Town
Cons: Would have been nice to have a second queen bed rather than a sofa bed.
Nice and close to public transport and China Town. Good restaurants nearby (couple of blocks) and café breakfasts. Room was what we expected (clean, normal hotel room). Staff were very helpful both with advice and looking after our luggage. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel needs some work for the overnight rate

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Dinning was terrible for breakfast and thought the hotel was quite run down for the overnight rate
3 out of 5
by Sara from Melbourne, Aus

A Little Run Down

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Maybe it used to be nice, but the facilities & room are a bit shabby and run down now. Not worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KETINA from Perth WA

A week in Sydney

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: We had not stayed in a hotel of this calibre is Australia and we were thrilled with it .
Cons: Perhaps free wi=fi in room?
Location: Best restaurants ,Indian .Thai.Vietnamese,Italian all price range
Loved the location not stayed that side of the "line " before, walked everywhere darling Harbour/Circular Quay/Sydney cricket ground and most points in between.Leafy suburbs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy to Central Station

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Had a great two day stay at the Sebel would have liked to have a couch or two chairs in the room instead of just the one comfy one but other than that no complaints.