Ratings based on 5,086 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne VIC

Amazing hotel at Surry Hills

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Location: 2 minutes walk to Central station, 5 minutes walk to CBD, 5-10 minutes walk to all great cafés around Surry Hills. Staff: Friendly and helpful service Enough said!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel close to everything.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Stayed there for one night, the hotel is great with its location. But it's a very busy business hotel. Lobby feels kinda cramped the building had a weird smell. I think the best part of the stay was the nice lady in reservations who was very accommodating when we had to change our plans. The people in the front desk especially the concierge was just average with their customer service(they wouldn't even bring our bags up to our room). All in all, stay here if you want to be close to entertainment, restaurants etc. but this area has a lot of other hotels that are sadly a lot nicer than this one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Morbider Charme in Citynähe

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Das Hotel befindet sich in günstiger Lage zum Stadtzentrum, Sehenswürdigkeiten und dem Bahnhof.
Dieses Hotel von überschaubarer Qualität lebt vom Glanz vergangener Zeiten. Der tägliche Zimmerservice, "täglich" sollte man nicht all zu ernst nehmen, folgt einem sehr ungewöhnlichem Regime, der Kunden mit Jetlag oder einem aus anderen Gründen verschobenen Zeitplan sehr entgegen kommt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

prêt de la gare centrale et université UTS

Posted Feb 15, 2015
chambre un peu décevante propreté et climatisation non ajustable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland NZ

Late Check In

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: location facilities
I had booked a room that had a late check in Staff not so helpful with this regarding bags and refreshments etc..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear Helen, Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Apologies you found the staff unhelpful, Our Service is something that we normally pride ourselves on. Hopefully we can welcome you back next time your in Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Not a bad spot in Surry Hills

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Immaculate bathrooms, nice bar downstairs.
Cons: Carpets in room looked dirty, should be cleaned more regularly.
Location: 20 minute walk from the centre of the CBD, or less from the light rail. Experience southern Sydney city.
Stayed overnight, quick check in process, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Jay, Appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Fabulous hotel. Great location.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything. Staff were very professional. Big clean rooms. Great bed.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It's very close to Central Station so you can catch a train from the airport and walk down plus you're on the doorstep of trendy Surry Hills.
I got a good deal during the week and only stayed a couple of nights but I wish I could've stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Simon, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thanks for your great review. Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

We love Rydges and Ian Frenkel!!!!!

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Lobby staff helpful, easy check in, comfortable beds, clean/new bathrooms, great hair dryer!, good toiletree products, FREE WIFI!!!, a couch, etc.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There is a huge train station within walking distance, lots of cafes and restaurants and shops (even ASOS clothing store!) and a 10 min cab to the CBD
Rydges was so great! Between the helpful and friendly staff and super comfortable- and BIG- room (WITH A COUCH) we couldn't believe how good of a price it was. The location is also awesome with lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants within walking distance. Ian is the best staff member and went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable!! This was our first time staying at Rydges (we are from the US) and we've already booked one for our stay in Melbourne :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Alison, Thank you for your lovely review, will be sure to let Ian know about your feedback! He is a valuable member of our team! So pleased you enjoyed your stay I am sure Melbourne will be just as amazing! Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 東京都

セントラル駅近くのオシャレホテル

Posted Feb 6, 2015
セントラル駅出口から3分程度の好立地にあるホテルです。またサリーヒルズというオシャレなカフェが立ち並ぶ場所でもあります。デカデカとリッジズの看板があり分かりやすいです。 午前8:00に着いてアーリーチェックインをお願いしたのですがダメだったのですが、とにかくフロントのスタッフの対応が悪い。挨拶もなければ笑顔もない。極めて事務的な対応。4.5星ホテルのスタッフとは思えない。そのスタッフだけでなく他のスタッフも挨拶する素振りは一切なし。翌日も11:00チェックアウトのはずが9:00くらいに部屋に電話があり何時に出て行くのかと追い出されるような感じ。部屋の前には嫌がらせかのように清掃用具が置いてありました。 ロビーは床下が水槽になっており非常に綺麗でホテルの立地も抜群、部屋も綺麗なだけにスタッフの対応には本当にガッカリ。翌日は五つ星のシャングリラを利用しましたが圧倒的なスタッフの対応の違い!さすがシャングリラホテルスタッフの対応は一流と感じました。 スタッフの対応さえ良ければ文句無しに素晴らしいホテルです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good location close to Central Station

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Staff. location
Cons: Coffee, the attached restaurant, so decor issues
Location: Chinatown, Pitt St Mall, Circular Quay
Staff were really good and really helpful; facilities were fine. The booking was room only which should have be stated on the itinerary we printed but was not. Beds were comfortable and the room service was fine. Buffet style breakfast is plentiful if a little bland with lots of options though I hate coffee from a machine, The attached restaurant/bar is OK for a drink but I don't recommend the food there. The in-room internet was free and (mostly) quick, but had some issues with the in-lobby terminal for booking/printing. Reasonable lobby area, Apparently caters to a lot of tour/groups and business meetings. Handy for Central Station, Pitt St Mall and Chinatown. Good links to Circular Quay (approx. 2 miles). On the basis of our first visit we booked to stay there again later on in our trip. Not cheap, but it was Christmas time peak season. This was our first stay in a Rydges hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased to hear for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food in our Bar it is normally a real crowd pleaser! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny - Hotel Management