Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Profiteering

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Charge standard rates and keep your customers
Location: CBD is handy and central station is across the road
$330 dollar room pushed to $516. The hotel had 7 rooms available but could not let me have one because they were for Gold and Platinum members at $577. I looked up expedia and booked a room at $516. So much for being a member of high standing. Service was OK, room was very $150 standard and whilst the front desk was busy both interactions were with few satff present and a 5 to 10 minute wait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne VIC

Close to everything, comfortable room

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, free wifi, late check out, position, staff and food
Cons: The room fans do tend to rattle a bit, so keep them on a low setting
Location: Right by central station which is the gateway to just about everything Sydney has to offer.
Whenever I go to Sydney for work, I always stay here. It is close to my office, right across the road from Central Station and always clean and tidy. The staff are terrific and will do anything to help you, such as when I booked a second night, they had no issues accommodating me in the same room which meant not having to check out. Free WiFi is a massive bonus as is the late check out of 11am. As my return flight was 4pm, there were no issues in the hotel looking after my bags. The food is always top notch and reasonably prices. I'd have no hesitation staying here again or recommending the hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: nice room
Cons: coffee machine was noisy in breakfast room (rydges hotel)
close to station and places we wanted to see. China town , market
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to CBD.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Great friendly service. Would recommend to family's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old facility but Great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2014
The building is very old and it renovated and doesn't look like the pictures on their website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear you think our pictures are misleading the photos were recently taken and are a good representation of our current product. Our staff are one of our best assets. Kind Regards, Jenny
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rapatafrom New Zealand

Great allround

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great, service, hotel amenities, cleanliness, only thing was the noise at 2am-3am of drunks outside yelling and carrying on but have to expect this in Sydney mate!! Overall a top hotel and affordable. The brteakfast was superb with everything you could ask for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when your next in Sydney. Kind Regards, Jenny
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Happy Travellerfrom Victoria

Good Location

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room, friendly staff, good location close to transport and SCG. The one negative was our room on the second floor faced the road and the noise was quite substantial
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Requests for higher floor can be made with our reception team based on availability. We are lucky to be in a great location close by to some of Sydney's attractions. Cheers, Jenny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MargaretWfrom Tumut NSW

faultless

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed two nights at this hotel, had stayed here previously as far back when it was known as the waratah central and have never found fault with the staff, location or the hotel....perhaps the parking is a bit exxy but as I now fly to sydney that no longer poses a problem....highly recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Margaret, Thanks for your review. Wow Waratah Central you must be a very long time regular guest of ours! Thank you for staying with us, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Jenny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robyn eddyfrom Sunshine bay

Dissapointed

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been staying at rydges(sebel) for the last 7yrs on a fairly regular basis we have not stayed since it became ridges were disappointed with the change of the bar/restaurant downstairs we always enjoyed being able to go there and have a quiet drink at any time and that the restaurant on 1st floor does not operate any more it was always convenient for us probably would look elsewhere recieved bonus casino dollars with the rewards program after we left Sydney and to be used by the end of the month not possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Robyn, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you are disappointed with the new Bar & Italian Kitchen we have onsite now your still welcome from 11am to go down there for a quiet drink. Hopefully we can welcome you back on another occasion. Kind Regards, Jenny
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kiwigazzfrom Wellington, New Zealand

Very Handy to everything

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel a really short walk from Central Station. Awesome service at the front counter too. I arrived in the morning and my room wasn't ready so I stored my luggage which was already in my room by the time I got back plus the hotel emailed me to tell me my room was ready. You can also check-in online the day before which is cool. Only gripe was that I requested a quiet room(as per the online check0-in which gives you this option) but there was quite a bit of street noise on the Saturday night but was also the Bledisloe Cup night so Sydney was pretty crazy. Good sized room and lovely bed, will definitely come back. Easy walk to Oxford Street and Surry Hills cafes and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by our reception team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Jenny