Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to the Rocks area

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Clean large room
Cons: Pool area requires a make over.
Location: Close to Circular Quay and Rocks area. However there are many stairs up to the hotel when walking.
"Harbour/Opera House View" was a bit disappointing as you needed to sit on the window sill to see it. Otherwise you were looking out to other city buildings. Not able to access level 36 due to a private function and restaurant closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Situation

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Everything, Spa and Afternoon Tea were wonderful
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the Rocks area, Circular Quay for Boat/train access
Loved being close to Circular Quay and the cruises, easy access to Sydney CBD and tour pickups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great location and superb facilities.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Lived up to a high rating. Great views and excellent in room service. Only downside was the service in the restaurant Altitude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to visit Sydney

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaner windows and more variety of food - breakfasts buffet.
Location: The weekend market - The Rocks. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from.
We found the location is perfect to explore the Rocks area. It's a walking distance to Sydney Harbour and the Rocks where there are plenty great restaurants and places of interest to visit. The Rocks itself is quite unique where you need to go up and down stairs which we personally found it is quite interesting to explore. The hotel represents a 5 star hotel, clean, comfy bed and the room size is (I think) quite massive, but a bit old fashion. Breakfast was not spectacular, just ordinary. Overall it's OK. The room we chose was Deluxe Harbour-Opera house view and we were on level 9. We did get the good view-180degrees of view and it would be much better with cleaner windows (our daughter's comment was, 'why is it foggy'?). For the Rocks area, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Altitude restaurant

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The food was terrible. It tasted and was presented terriably. Totally over rated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK East Anglia

City Hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Comfort and good location
Cons: Perhaps the reception area is just a little 'tired' looking
Location: fine dining, historical sites, art galleries
Transitional day after a 4 week stay in the outback. A wonderfully restorative city and cultural experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

A romantic city getaway.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
From the room, to the view, to the excellent customer service, the Shangri-La met & surpassed all our expectations!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong - Cats Country

BEST LOCATION!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Best Bar in Sydney!! Amazing views...........
Cons: Interior Decoration looking a tad tired but clean & 5 star
Location: Too numerous to mention however we did catch ferry to Catalina for lunch on Sunday.... Amazing day
Girls week-end to celebrate footy finals.........we arrived much too early from a 3.30am start & staff were so pleasant & accomodating to let us have our room early. Throughout our stay they were obliging & most helpful with any of ur request. Would highly recommend as easy walking distance to sydney waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing, it was perfect!
Location: Fantastic location, lots in the area and Circular Quay just a 5 min walk away.
Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic view from room, fantastic location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

RUDE

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The Location
Cons: The Professionalism of the staff
Location: THE ROCKS AND ALL OF SYDNEY
Let me start by saying that when ever travel came to mind my first instinct was to book on expedia, up until today. Upon arriving to the Shangri-la and being greeted with the lack luster attitude, I requested that I'd be placed on the higher end of the 5-23 floor range, while simultaneously another very provocative dressed young lady and an older gentleman (neither with any luggage )were requesting a room. Needless to say they were greeted with the same rate and a higher floor I instead was first placed on 5, with a beautiful view of the busy road rather than the harbour view which I was promised. It is my opinion that you should give the nicer room to the individual with a preexisting reservation. When I inquired about this, their first response was well you book with a third party. To test them I stated I booked with Amex, immediately she stated "oh.. let me see what I can do.. wait a minute you booked on expedia", and chuckled. Nevertheless she came back with the response well if you pay an additional $150 a night we can accommodate you, if not this our last room. The service which I received thus far was not that I would have expected from a so called 5 star establishment on your site. I would greatly appreciate someone getting back to me regarding this matter. Kind Regards, Have a great day