Ratings based on 2,635 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide

Best views

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary here. Loved it! The views blew us away! Will definately be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bangalore

Best place to stay in sydney

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The hotel is at a walking distance from all key city attractions. The staff is extremely warm and courteous. The hotel rooms offer best viewd of the opera house and harbor bridge. Checkout in the morning can be painful. Keep an hour or so in hand. Else use express checkout option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Very nice hotel; great location!!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: View of the Sydney Opera House
Cons: Noisy Lobby during the morning
Location: Located at the Rocks. Shopping, restaurants, Hop On - Hop Off Bus, Visitors Center, Opera House, climb the coat hanger bridge
Great service and excellent Horizon Club. Hotel is located in the Rocks area with excellent views of the Sydney Opera House, as well as many excellent restaurants, Circular Quay and within walking distance to many of the major shopping malls and city attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney, None Better

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: views, rooms, customer service
Cons: Prices are pretty steep.
Location: Great location, right at the waterfront.
It's a great facility right down on the Circular Quay at the waterfront. Great views, many of the Opera House and Bay Bridge. Great help by any employee I approached, always very courteous. especially helpful was the concierge desk (Alex in particular) that helped me get dinner reservations at the hotel (Altitude Restaurant) and other restaurants around town, transportation and sightseeing tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Aus

Awesome view, great location

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Had a lovely time at this 5 star hotel. Check in was easy, arrived early (11am) and could have had a room but on a lower level. Was offered a higher level if we would like to wait. We had lunch plans anyway so they took our bags and took them up to the room when it was ready (2pm). We got a text to say it was ready. Room was lovely with an awesome view of the Opera House. Staff all very attentive and helpful and great facilities. Highlight was the Blu Bar on 36th floor. Awesome views, drinks and bar foods. Make sure you get there just as it opens. Just a note you need to be reasonably fit as the hotel is on a hill! Check out was a breeze and they have us a late check out of 1pm when we asked. Ordered a shuttle to take us to the airport. All too easy and would definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Amazing hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Cons: The pillows were a little uncomfortable but that's personal choice.
Location: Great location and view. Easy to gets to and fairly quiet
While we only stayed one night and didn't use any of the facilities, this hotel truly met if not exceed all expectations. I booked a city opera house view room. When booking I asked for a high floor and was surprised to arrive and find out we were on the 35th floor which is the one below the restaurant. The view was spectacular and I really liked how the window has bench seats so you can soak in the view. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. I would definitely recommend and stay here again. For a five star hotel it was a great price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, Ok

Wonderful hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Location: We walked to the harbor bridge & the Quay circle where we took a boat tour. We walked the historic Rocks area & strolled the outside markets & shops.
The hotel was wonderful. The service & staff were outstanding & the location was perfect for everything we wanted to see in Sydney before our cruise. The room & bedding were very comfortable & had a gorgeous view. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sydney.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hedland WA

Ideal location. It was my first time in Sydney

Posted Feb 8, 2015
I probably got in too early to check in, my room wasn't ready to move into. It would of been nice to move into my room because I just jumped of the plane. I had a really good time and good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Not up to Shangri-La standards

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Hotel is in need of a refresh. Trim is peeling. Window seals are seperating on the outside. Room AC unit cannot keep an even temperature. Credit card chip readers at check in were malfunctioning. They tried to read my card on 4 machines. Tried my second card same issue. Had to manually enter my card data. People in line behind me had the same issue. No offer to assist with handling luggage.. Staff a little rude. Also since I purchased through Expedia i got the "Oh you booked through Expedia" Then gave me a dirty look. Not what I expected at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in a fantastic Location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Close to every thing and fabulous views
Location: Very close to Circular Key,the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge
Fantastic Hotel close to everything and a room with fabulous views. What more could you ask for?