Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to visit Sydney

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaner windows and more variety of food - breakfasts buffet.
Location: The weekend market - The Rocks. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from.
We found the location is perfect to explore the Rocks area. It's a walking distance to Sydney Harbour and the Rocks where there are plenty great restaurants and places of interest to visit. The Rocks itself is quite unique where you need to go up and down stairs which we personally found it is quite interesting to explore. The hotel represents a 5 star hotel, clean, comfy bed and the room size is (I think) quite massive, but a bit old fashion. Breakfast was not spectacular, just ordinary. Overall it's OK. The room we chose was Deluxe Harbour-Opera house view and we were on level 9. We did get the good view-180degrees of view and it would be much better with cleaner windows (our daughter's comment was, 'why is it foggy'?). For the Rocks area, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Altitude restaurant

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The food was terrible. It tasted and was presented terriably. Totally over rated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK East Anglia

City Hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Comfort and good location
Cons: Perhaps the reception area is just a little 'tired' looking
Location: fine dining, historical sites, art galleries
Transitional day after a 4 week stay in the outback. A wonderfully restorative city and cultural experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

A romantic city getaway.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
From the room, to the view, to the excellent customer service, the Shangri-La met & surpassed all our expectations!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong - Cats Country

BEST LOCATION!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Best Bar in Sydney!! Amazing views...........
Cons: Interior Decoration looking a tad tired but clean & 5 star
Location: Too numerous to mention however we did catch ferry to Catalina for lunch on Sunday.... Amazing day
Girls week-end to celebrate footy finals.........we arrived much too early from a 3.30am start & staff were so pleasant & accomodating to let us have our room early. Throughout our stay they were obliging & most helpful with any of ur request. Would highly recommend as easy walking distance to sydney waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing, it was perfect!
Location: Fantastic location, lots in the area and Circular Quay just a 5 min walk away.
Fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, fantastic view from room, fantastic location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

RUDE

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The Location
Cons: The Professionalism of the staff
Location: THE ROCKS AND ALL OF SYDNEY
Let me start by saying that when ever travel came to mind my first instinct was to book on expedia, up until today. Upon arriving to the Shangri-la and being greeted with the lack luster attitude, I requested that I'd be placed on the higher end of the 5-23 floor range, while simultaneously another very provocative dressed young lady and an older gentleman (neither with any luggage )were requesting a room. Needless to say they were greeted with the same rate and a higher floor I instead was first placed on 5, with a beautiful view of the busy road rather than the harbour view which I was promised. It is my opinion that you should give the nicer room to the individual with a preexisting reservation. When I inquired about this, their first response was well you book with a third party. To test them I stated I booked with Amex, immediately she stated "oh.. let me see what I can do.. wait a minute you booked on expedia", and chuckled. Nevertheless she came back with the response well if you pay an additional $150 a night we can accommodate you, if not this our last room. The service which I received thus far was not that I would have expected from a so called 5 star establishment on your site. I would greatly appreciate someone getting back to me regarding this matter. Kind Regards, Have a great day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

International hotel in Circular Quay / Rocks area

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, professional, well-located for key tourist and business sites
Cons: In-room pricing of bar and snacks are on the high side
Location: A bit of a hike up the hill if you are walking or with luggage.
Very well presented and professionally appointed hotel in international chain. Very competent and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to where we had to go

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Location: You have the choice of every destination as the hotel is close to Circular quay, the trains and the ferries
The room was great, clean and extremely comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great position

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The location. The lovely staff. The cleanliness.
Cons: Parking is too expensive. We never take a car to park.
Location: The Sydney Rocks. Amazing location. We love the fact that you walk out the door and you are 5 minutes to the harbour and the Rocks.
Beside being in a very convenient location of Sydney, the Rocks are at your feet, the staff are so welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.