Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Perth Western Australia

Brilliant views of Sydney

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The style and comfort
Cons: Breakfast, we thought it was a bit averGe
Location: Very central to the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay, the Rocks and Daling Harbour, very central for all of the main Sydney Sights.
Our visit was to celebrate our anniversary, we had. A good welcome and though we arrived very early they put an urgency on the cleaning of the room and texted us as soon as it was available. The room was very comfortable, lovely big bathroom with excellent views of the Opera House and Circular Quays. Brilliant cocktail bar on the 36th floor with views of the bridge and Darling Harbour. We had a lovely evening meal where the chef brought me a pannacotta to die for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great location and nice on site amenities.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Great staff, good location and very nice on site restaurant called Altitude which has brilliant view of harbour.
Cons: Be aware your up a hill so need to be fit enough to walk up and down steps and slopes, it's not far to anything but there are a few sets to harbour.
Location: It's on the Rocks which means it's less than 10mins to the Harbour including the Quay where all the tourist boats go out of. About 15mins to key shops
Had a great room with harbour view. The Lobby bar is great for quick good food and has a nice outside terrace area. Highlight was dinner in the Altitude restaurant on the top floor (need to book) which is not inexpensive and it's a 4 course menu thankfully including vegetarian options. There is also a bar with similar views on the top floor but get there early (like when it opens at 5pm) as it gets packed. It's a great location for sightseeing and is within walking distance of the main attractions in the centre of Sydney like the Opera House or the harbour area where the tourist boats can take you on sightseeing tours, harbour taxis and over to the zoo.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Close to the Rocks area

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Clean large room
Cons: Pool area requires a make over.
Location: Close to Circular Quay and Rocks area. However there are many stairs up to the hotel when walking.
"Harbour/Opera House View" was a bit disappointing as you needed to sit on the window sill to see it. Otherwise you were looking out to other city buildings. Not able to access level 36 due to a private function and restaurant closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Situation

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Everything, Spa and Afternoon Tea were wonderful
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the Rocks area, Circular Quay for Boat/train access
Loved being close to Circular Quay and the cruises, easy access to Sydney CBD and tour pickups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Great location and superb facilities.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Lived up to a high rating. Great views and excellent in room service. Only downside was the service in the restaurant Altitude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to visit Sydney

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaner windows and more variety of food - breakfasts buffet.
Location: The weekend market - The Rocks. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from.
We found the location is perfect to explore the Rocks area. It's a walking distance to Sydney Harbour and the Rocks where there are plenty great restaurants and places of interest to visit. The Rocks itself is quite unique where you need to go up and down stairs which we personally found it is quite interesting to explore. The hotel represents a 5 star hotel, clean, comfy bed and the room size is (I think) quite massive, but a bit old fashion. Breakfast was not spectacular, just ordinary. Overall it's OK. The room we chose was Deluxe Harbour-Opera house view and we were on level 9. We did get the good view-180degrees of view and it would be much better with cleaner windows (our daughter's comment was, 'why is it foggy'?). For the Rocks area, I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Altitude restaurant

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The food was terrible. It tasted and was presented terriably. Totally over rated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK East Anglia

City Hotel in great location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Comfort and good location
Cons: Perhaps the reception area is just a little 'tired' looking
Location: fine dining, historical sites, art galleries
Transitional day after a 4 week stay in the outback. A wonderfully restorative city and cultural experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Coast NSW

A romantic city getaway.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
From the room, to the view, to the excellent customer service, the Shangri-La met & surpassed all our expectations!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Geelong - Cats Country

BEST LOCATION!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Best Bar in Sydney!! Amazing views...........
Cons: Interior Decoration looking a tad tired but clean & 5 star
Location: Too numerous to mention however we did catch ferry to Catalina for lunch on Sunday.... Amazing day
Girls week-end to celebrate footy finals.........we arrived much too early from a 3.30am start & staff were so pleasant & accomodating to let us have our room early. Throughout our stay they were obliging & most helpful with any of ur request. Would highly recommend as easy walking distance to sydney waterfront.