Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maitland

Perfect location

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location, size and comfort of the rooms, his and hers vanities that are separate to the shower and toilet so you don't have to share when dressing
Cons: Solid door to the separate shower toilet.. louvered doors aren't always that sound proof!
Location: 5 mins from Circular Quay, short stroll to The Opera House, The Rocks, Quay shopping and cafés.
Very classy hotel. 5-10 min stroll to the Opera House, Quay cafés and the Rocks. The room was very roomy with 2 large very comfy double beds, amazing nights sleep! Staff were fantastic, we left our luggage at the hotel as we arrived early, received a text when our our room was ready and our luggage was even waiting for us at in the room when we checked in! Nothing was a problem for them. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dapto, NSW

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Great hotel with old world charm. It needs a bit of a facelift but other than that, we had a lovely time. The fireplace was so nice :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ALBERTA, CANADA

traveling

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: ???
Cons: ???
Location: ???
i booked travel within CANADA, the flight was ok, i paid for a hotel in Sydney, Austrila. it should have been in Sydney, Nova Scotia. So not happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Canberra

very close to opera house

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: quiet, clean, good service
Cons: more staff in the morning
Location: opera house, sydney harbour, circular quay .
very nice but this review questionnaire is annoying and won't let me submit short answers so i have to type more before i am allowed to leave the review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorna from New Zealand

Delightful Hotel Close to Circular Quay

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The staff. The decor. The location (really short walk from Circular Quay Station; close to Opera House and Hyde Park; easy walk to Pitt St Mall etc)
From the porter who greeted us on the street and took our cases, to the Kiwi receptionist who checked us out, and the slightly crazy but very friendly maitre'd - the staff here were amazing. My teenage daughter and I loved the olde worlde atmosphere mixed with modern amenities. The only criticism is that we were given a king bed rather than twin beds, which we would have preferred (my daughter kicks like a mule!) but otherwise a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the city -- great.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
the hotel is so close to the city centre & all transport needs are at hand. Easy for the elderly.
2 out of 5
by Terry from Auckland

Disappointing is what comes to mind.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Refer above
Cons: Refer above
Location: Refer above
Dated premises that need money spent to bring back to standard. Ice machine not working, air conditioning not working properly either hot or cold, wall paper bubbling and falling off, catches on doors broken. Going away from the children for the first time with my wife was great but to be woken up by children in the room (door joining ) next door at 6.00 didn't go down well. The staff were lovely, very helpful and accommodating and an asset to the business. The location was fantastic and Sydney was a great destination with Vivid Light show on at the same time. Will definitely be returning to Sydney but The Sir Stamford may have lost our business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma from Brisbane

Beautiful Hotel - well worth the splurge

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location and the incredible service.
Cons: Nothing to improve, I have absolutely no complaints.
Location: Definitely can't go paste a ferry ride to Darling Harbour. 4 hours there wasn't enough, there are too many awesome bars to go to!
Decided to book a suite at the Stamford for a two night interstate trip and absolutely loved it. The hotel had the most perfect location, we were right in the heart of circular quay which was perfect for two people that don't know Sydney.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Annabelle from Donnybrook. WA.

Great locatin and helpful staff.

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sir Stamford is like a home away from home. So close to everything! Staff is so helpful. Beds are big and beautiful. I will definitely go back there!
2 out of 5
by Alex

5 star location

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The Hotel star rating method needs to be improved
Location: Easy access to Harbour, Opera House, Bridge and The Rocks. Great location.
The location was 5 star, the Hotel was not. Wall paper pealing off walls. Room and hallway looking old and neglected.