Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommend

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Secure Internet
Location: Shopping, bars and restaurants. Walk down to the Harrys pie shop near the naval docks - Amazing Get an Opal card for Metro, buses ,ferries, train
We had a budget basement room and it was great. Clean towels and toiletries every day. Unlimited tea and coffee and use of kitchen facility. Diy laundry, 1 wash and dry Aus $6. Really helpful and knowledgeable hotel staff. Only slight issue was no secure internet. Great location 2 min walk to the underground. Also 20 min walk to Hyde Park or 30 mins to the Circular Quay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur

Rather conveniently located hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: It is quite close to the Kings Cross railway station.
I did laundry myself using a coin-operated washing machine and dryer in the laundry room. You can get tokens, instead of using coins, and washing powder from the front desk. The kitchen also was a convenience. I stored my baggage with the hotel FOC when checking out in the morning and went back to get it in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NSW

Good value - like a hostel for grown-ups.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location. Close to Kings Cross station and a good walk to the city. The staff were super-friendly even though it was very busy with cricket tragics
Cons: Just some small things - no shelf in the bathroom to put your wash things. And no box of tissues.
Location: Great location. Lots of cafes and restaurants nearby and a great grocery store just over the road.
We stayed for 3 nights and found it was a convenient location for hubby to get to the cricket world cup match and for us to get into the city to see Les Mis. It's a no-frills kind of place which suited us just fine. The restaurant out the front is a great spot for breakfast and watching the world go by. They also have an interesting dinner menu. There is a laundry downstairs and a kitchen and dining room if you want to eat in. So it's a bit like a hostel for grown-ups!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch, NZ

Beware of Basement Budget Rooms

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The location was fun, and despite being close to Kings Cross, we felt safe and comfortable.
Cons: I don't believe that the budget basement rooms should be offered.
Location: There is a nice patisserie nearby, and the lodge is close to Kings Cross station, which is great for those who will utilize Sydney's public transport.
My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in one of the lodge's basement budget rooms. While we realize these rooms are marketed as cheaper and for budget travelers, we feel that we probably would have gotten a better night's sleep at a hostel. I'd like to make it clear that we can only offer a review for the budget rooms- we did not see any of the normal rooms in the lodge. Now, the budget rooms are clean and you do have decent en suite facilities, but the NOISE that we experienced throughout the night was ridiculous. Not only was the washing machine going at odd hours of the night, the outside door in the basement is kept open during business hours, and if it wasn't some random yelling that kept us from a decent sleep in (aka, past 7:30am), the rubbish and recycling pickup was enough to induce a headache. The bed was also very uncomfortable, and we might have been more comfortable laying on the grass in a park somewhere. So in summary, don't waste your money on the budget rooms. If the hotel won't offer a quiet environment to sleep in (which, at the very least is what one would hope for in a hotel), they should not offer these basement rooms. On a positive note, the front desk receptionists were very kind and helped us with airport shuttles and receiving a cheaper parking garage rate, so props to them!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Es ist mehr ein backpaper als ein hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Der Service war in Ordnung für den preis für Sydney ok ansonsten viel zu teuer für die Ausstattung
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, N.Z.

Extra Touches count a lot

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Really liked the luggage storage but especially the facilities to change & have a wash when collecting bags at end of day. Very helpful staff.
Cons: Room was a bit cramped with two extra single beds to go with double, but not a deal breaker. Refrigerator seemed to freeze everything. (Room 210) but
Location: Very handily located and out of CBD. Close to Railway, supermarket cafes restaurants and bars.
Just a three night stay for Golden Slipper with a full last day before flights home to NZ in evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nürnberg

Gute Lage, aber ansonsten eher mittelmäßig

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Die Lage ist zentral, nach an den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und man kann auch bis zur Oper laufen. Wir hatten ein Zimmer im Keller. Dass es klein war, war ja kein Problem, allerdings war es dermaßen hellhörig dass man sämtliche Geräusche über und neben einem einem und auch draußen gehört hat. Die Müllabfuhr kommt morgens gegen 6 Uhr und es ist als würde das Müllauto direkt durchs Zimmer fahren. Eventuell sind höher gelegene Zimmer besser, das kann ich allerdings nicht beurteilen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Value for its deal. Certainly will recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Hotel very conveniently located in quiet street. Nice area at front serving good coffee and meals. Room was clean,but needed redecorating as part of ceiling was stained and paint peeling (? Past flood in room above ) Apart from that everything was fine. Derek &Barb Gilkes. Redemption
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

L'hotel grazioso, in posizione strategica, inglese

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Il personale e' molto disponibile, la pulizia lascia a desiderare, ottimo l'uso di cucina.