Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ancaster, ON, Canada

Nice hotel with a good location in Sydney.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Location: About 2-1/2 kms to Circular Quay. Fairly close to the Australian Museum of Natural History. Plenty of places to eat...local places with good value.
Great staff, very helpful for getting us to local restaurants, etc. Very clean rooms. Decently quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Higher desk chair; better room lighting.
Location: See above.
I was in Sydney for a weeklong meeting last month. The meeting was toward Circular Quay, but the hotels there were too pricey and/or were non-refundable (in the event of an unexpected change in trip plans). I looked further and found this hotel in Darlinghurst/Potts Point. It met both of those requirements. This really is a four-star hotel. The room was large, as was the bathroom. It was easy to sleep well, despite my jet lag: the bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was really quiet. The shower was large, and there was plenty of hot water at stable water pressure. The towels were of solid quality. (The room service people always replaced them daily. However, sometimes the used towel was hanging on the rack, once it was on the table in the bedroom, and more often it was removed. Otherwise, the housekeeping was consistently spotless). Unlike a number of hotels in which I’ve stayed, there were plenty of electrical outlets, and they were conveniently located for my computer, re-chargers, and the iron (which was located in the room, along with a full-size ironing board). One problem was that the desk chair was too low for the desk – I am average height, about 5’ 10”. I solved the problem by putting two pillows on the chair. Another minor problem was that the lighting in the room was a bit dim when the sun went down. A brighter or additional overhead light would have helped. The very large screen TV had a variety of Australian and U.S. channels, along with
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON, Canada

In the Heart of the Action

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Location. It's in the heart of Darlinghurst, so it's near to many restaurants and clubs, and walking distance to King's Cross metro station.
Cons: The in-room safe wasn't working in my room, but I don't generally use them.
Location: Too many to mention.
I had a great time, and enjoyed everything. I had some issues overseas, and the hotel staff were extremely helpful in helping me deal with my problem. Plus, I was greeted at check-in with a bottle of champagne. :) There are night clubs and bars nearby, and a few strip clubs, so it can get rowdy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Great experience, great location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Great location, very helpful staff, also very nice to have the hotel IPAD loaded with stuff in the room and ready for browsing the internet.
Location: Good location for visiting and tons of great food spots nearby and access to different neighbourhoods.
Couple staying a few days for a visit. Great hotel, rooms are nice, staff is very helpful and happy to point out directions or suggest restaurants. This was a great spot to enjoy the city. Note: you can book private shuttles to and from the airport directly to hotel much cheaper than taxi is your group is less than 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

Comfortable, well-located, reasonable hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: ipad in the room comfy bed great staff
Cons: Lighting
Location: Too many to list - excellent location for night clubs, pubs, bars, cafes, bakeries and restaurants.
The Diamant Hotel has a lot of great features. It's in a great location - between the colourful red-light(ish) district and the "latte" neighbourhood. It's on a busy corner, but is insulated really well and we heard no traffic noise. There are tons of amazing cafes, bakeries and restaurants just a few minutes' walk away. It's also very close to a train station, which can be very handy. The staff are very nice and helpful - they gave us excellent service. Bed is incredibly comfortable. There's a huge flat-screen tv and an ipad in the room. The ipad was very handy to look up anything we wanted to know about the city. Minibar was well stocked. The rates were reasonable. Honestly, the only complaint I have is with the lighting, which is terrible everywhere - rooms and hallways. There are just small halogen spotlights that throw very concentrated, blinding light on a small area and leave the surrounding space dark. It makes for a kind of gloomy atmosphere, especially with the dark brown decor. All in all, a great place to stay and I would definitely come back again and recommend it to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Classy boutique hotel in convenient location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
All I can say is wow. I loved my stay at The Diamant hotel. I was travelling alone and looking for somewhere close to transport in a central position. This hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross railway station, 3 minutes from a Coles supermarket, and has a convenience store directly across the road. The king size bed was comfortable, the king size bath towels were fluffy and the TV was enormous! The staff were friendly and helpful. I will be back!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Opps

Posted Oct 5, 2014
I would love to write about my experience ... if I had had one. I got my nights mixed up and thought I was booked for Saturday October 4 instead of the day before. So I didn't stay at the hotel. I don't suppose there is anyway I could get a refund? I realise it was my fault so I don't expect much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wellington

Good but tired - needs some TLC

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfy bed
Cons: Our room just seemed a bit tired
Location: Right on Kings Cross, 2 mins walk to the station, surrounded by cafes and restaurants and on top of a supermarket. Perfect
The location is perfect, and surprisingly quiet. We had a delux room on the 5th floor, which was spacious but battered. Bed was great, TV was good, shower was great - but flooded the bathroom unless the bathmat was used as a dam. Staff were friendly. Airconditioning was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by shfrom melbourne

Everything was awesome

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
First impressions were great - very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are spacious. I like the little touches like a shower pouf in the bathroom! :) Will definitely stay here again.