Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Comfortable Room close to all CBD highlights

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff, clean and comfortable room
Cons: The bathroom needs more bench space and the shower needs to be enclosed.
Location: Close to all the CBD highlights, Opera House, Harbour Bridge and the Rocks markets and pubs.
Nice room, very clean, cosy and warm but the bathroom could do with more bench space and needs the shower to be enclosed as water gets everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Nice hotel next to Circular Quay and Opera House

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location. Breakfast. Quiet.
Location: The Rocks, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House.
We enoyed our stay at The Russell. We had three days in Sydney before embarking on a cruise, and the hotel's location was a big plus -- close to Circular Quay, Opera House, hop-off/hop-on bus. We could even walk to the cruise ship terminal with our luggage. We had a "superior" room with bathroom. There was also an elevator to our room, which was a big help since my wife was experiencing back issues. The breakfast was excellent. There is also a pub with good food that we ate at twice. All in all, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne and Bangalore

Nice location & good place

Posted May 1, 2015
Its a good hotel for any one wanting to stay with minimum expenditure. Nice breakfast everyday morning. Nothing fancy, everything that is required ideally.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham uk

Perfect location for tourists

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The Russel hotel is right down the road from the harbour bridge and the opera house also a 20-30 minute walk away from the cbd so a perfect location for our weekend stay. Staff were friendly and they had our room ready for our early arrival. Room was comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Very well located but the room was old-fashioned and the bathroom was pokey. The biggest drawback was the loud music from the pub beneath us, which was non-stop from 4pm to midnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom baden württemberg

Es ist Vorteil nah Hafen kreuzschifffahrt

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Alles ok
Location: Kreuzschifffahrt
Gehen 3 min zum kreuzschifffahrt. Es ist Vorteil. Nähe auch viele Restaurants,Harbour usw.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah, USA

Perfect location. Great staff.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Location. Staff. Old and charming. We had a room with shared bath. It was spacious and clean. Plenty of hot water.
Location: In the area called The Rocks. Waterfront area next to Circular Quay. All ferries, busses and trains are right there.
This was our second stay at The Russell. Great location in The Rocks. The staff is helpful for any directions, suggestions or special requests. We would stay there again. If it is hot outside, be advised that they have no a/c in the bedrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Full of charm. Perfect location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
The hotel was perfect for my visit. Such a charming hotel and the staff was amazing! The location couldn't have been better!
5 out of 5
by Mary Berrimanfrom Australia - VIC - Regional VIC

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful period era rooms, reminded me of England
Cons: Nil
Location: Wonderful
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Service: Outstanding; Perfect location for Cruise Terminal and Circular Quay.
5 out of 5
by Nancy Gladfelterfrom United States

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location. Awesome breakfast included.
Cons: Very small room. 4 rooms shared 2 full bathrooms - although never a wait nor privacy issue.
Location: Perfect, Outstanding, Ideal
Value: Great deal; Service: excellent staff; Cleanliness: Spotless; We spend little time in room when travelling so we went for the amazing location instead of bells and whistles. Great value - great option for many.