Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Friendly, comfortable and accessible
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: First class, 5 mins walk to the Opera House. All buses and trains nearbye
Terrific value at this location and very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old style charm

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: location old world charm breakfast
Location: Lunch at Rocks café Dinner at Meat and Wine Co at the Intercontental Rocks marlets on the weekends are a wonderful way to spend the afternoon
Stayed at the Russell over the weekend and ran in the Sydney 10km event. Hotel was in a wonderful location at the heart of the rocks, a short stroll from Circular quay and all this has to offer Hotel was old charm boutique style accommodation in the heart of the rocks, staff friendly, wonderful continental breakfast ... Highly recommend - only negative was small double bed but we are used to King at home Highly recommend Rocks Café for lunch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Superb location, great staff, beautiful historical building. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Issaquah, WA

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Wardrode size. Hotel is on upper floors of several building with different height ceilings. This requires going up and down stairs. NO CHOICE!
Location: Circular Quay (half a block away) is the center with boats in and out anywhere you want. Opera house, trains and food are all close by.
This was our base for a two and a half day visit to Sydney. We flew in and jumped on the rail to Circular Quay and walked two blocks to hotel. We were early, but they had a room for us. We had heard in some reviews that it was noisy. I would suspect that the others had a room looking onto George St where two pubs exist on the first floor in the same building. We were given an inside room that shared a semi-private courtyard with one other room. We had no problems with noise. The room was well appointed however the wardrobe was very small for hanging clothes, Hangers had to be hung on hooks and the wardrobe was not deep enough for clothes to hang properly. Location is A-ONE. We walked all over, lots of shopping and eating opportunities. We were a block and a half from the ocean cruise terminal and an easy walk even with luggage (on rollers). I would want to stay here again on next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Top location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Water for shower can be hotter
Location: 3 minutes walk to Circular Quay
3 minutes to Circular Quay. Value for Money. Book rate included breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel in a great location for seeing Sydney

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: Central Sydney and the harbour are at your doorstep.
It was really enjoyable, lovely old 'pub' style hotel with clean room and bathroom and generous continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfortable Room close to all CBD highlights

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff, clean and comfortable room
Cons: The bathroom needs more bench space and the shower needs to be enclosed.
Location: Close to all the CBD highlights, Opera House, Harbour Bridge and the Rocks markets and pubs.
Nice room, very clean, cosy and warm but the bathroom could do with more bench space and needs the shower to be enclosed as water gets everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Nice hotel next to Circular Quay and Opera House

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location. Breakfast. Quiet.
Location: The Rocks, Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House.
We enoyed our stay at The Russell. We had three days in Sydney before embarking on a cruise, and the hotel's location was a big plus -- close to Circular Quay, Opera House, hop-off/hop-on bus. We could even walk to the cruise ship terminal with our luggage. We had a "superior" room with bathroom. There was also an elevator to our room, which was a big help since my wife was experiencing back issues. The breakfast was excellent. There is also a pub with good food that we ate at twice. All in all, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Melbourne and Bangalore

Nice location & good place

Posted May 1, 2015
Its a good hotel for any one wanting to stay with minimum expenditure. Nice breakfast everyday morning. Nothing fancy, everything that is required ideally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Ontario

The Russell

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay in the Rocks. Just across the street from the train station that can take you to or from the airport. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.