Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, terrible hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Collapsed matress, dirty bathroom, tiny room with terrible facility in a nosiy street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Melbourne

Clean, Friendly, Cheap (not in a bad way)

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I had a very enjoyable stay at the Y Hotel Hyde Park. Good location for first timers on a budget; Close to Hyde Park, renown Thai district restaurants, Museum Station (airport connection) and a short walk from the heart of the CBD (Pitt Street Mall etc.). Not super fancy, but for one of the least expensive hotels in the CBD area; the staff are very nice and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. ***Bonus for Melbournians*** There's a tiny laneway café called "Cafe Cre Asion" just around the corner from the Y on Alberta Street, that does a great cup of coffee. We do enjoy my single origin beverages. Their food (breakfast, lunch, macaroons and slices) is very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Melbourne

Clean, Friendly, Cheap (not in a bad way)

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I had a very enjoyable stay at the Y Hotel Hyde Park. Good location for first timers on a budget; Close to Hyde Park, renown Thai district restaurants, Museum Station (airport connection) and a short walk from the heart of the CBD (Pitt Street Mall etc.). Not super fancy, but for one of the least expensive hotels in the CBD area; the staff are very nice and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. ***Bonus for Melbournians*** There's a tiny laneway café called "Cafe Cre Asion" just around the corner from the Y on Alberta Street, that does a great cup of coffee. We do enjoy my single origin beverages. Their food (breakfast, lunch, macaroons and slices) is very good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Mackay

Very affordable hotel, close to everything

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Affordable, close to most places of interests.
Cons: the shower
Location: The hotel is just a minute walk to Hyde Park, the museum, the shopping centres, St. Mary's Cathedral and convenient stores.
Based from reviews, we were expecting the worst before we checked in at the hotel. Much to our surprise and delight, the rooms weren't bad after all. They were all clean and pleasing. And 75% of the time, my friends, daughter and I were the only ones who were using the shared bathrooms. Our only complain was the shower but nothing really major. The staff, except for one, were friendly and accommodating. We were also happy with the complimentary breakfast. Overall, we had a positive experience with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Apr 14, 2014
stayed their for one night only because we needed a place to crash after a night out. it was fine, nothing bad to say. bed were comfy!
3 out of 5
by Kimberley from Sydney, NSW

Okay for a budget travel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: It was quiet overnight.
Cons: Cleaner rooms, staff attitudes and service.
Location: Close to Sydney CBD, only $7 cab fare to Central station, or a 15 minute walk. The bar across the road is good and has live music, close to Thai Town.
The "Continental breakfast" was not a proper continental breakfast, it is toast, cereal and tea/coffee. You can upgrade for $6 to bacon and eggs but they taste cheap and oily, not worth the "upgrade". The twin room was much smaller than counterparts I have stayed in and the windows were dirty. The shower door did not close properly which caused the floor to get wet when the shower was used. Staff ignored me while I was waiting for their attention at front desk, and were rude when discussing other visitors who did not tell them their room number at breakfast (as the staff member had not been at their stand). The staff were not hospitable and having worked in hospitality I couldn't understand their disregard for visitors to their hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Front of office staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Some staff at front of house were not as friendly as I would expect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Nice hotel staff, clean room and really great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cherie from NSW

Easy, central hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Comfortable room, shared bathroom, in the heart of the city. Was exactly what we needed for a weekend stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Accommodation in an Expensive Place

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Buffet continental breakfast was nice. Location was nice and central to where we wanted to be.
Cons: I could say the cleaning could be improved and sound proofing thee rooms a little better.
Location: There is plenty of shopping districts. If you are like us and are happy to do a lot of walking then you can walk to a lot of areas with plenty to do.
If you are looking for budget accommodation in an expensive area like this then this is it. We used the traditional room with shared bathroom. The cleanliness of the place was questionable. The bathroom was what I was expecting for shared accommodation but as for the room, I was greatly disappointed. As soon as we walked in it was stuffy and smelt like smoke. The curtains were filthy and the room was really noisy, my husband didn't sleep at all due the constant noise outside which sounded like we had the door or windows open but we didn't. The mini bar fridge also made a lot of noise. The bed comfortable enough except we are husband and wife and would have liked cuddling up to each other going to sleep but this was difficult when the double bed was 2 singles pushed together so if you were to lay in the middle it was quiet uncomfortable. Cold buffet continental breakfast was quiet nice, had no complaints there. The staff could have worn a smile a little more often. No parking available on site so be prepared to pay for parking at a secure parking area and be walking to and from hotel to car. We agreed that if we ever needed a cheap bed for a night that we would go again but we would not stay more than 1 night.