Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pauricfrom Marlow, UK

Perfectly blended to the location.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The tasteful design of the public areas and the general character. The Jewish baths
Cons: Adding air conditioning in the main bedroom.
Location: Perfect location. All the sights are within 10 minutes walk and there are plentiful restaurants and food shops close by.
As soon as you step inside the entrance lobby, it feels as if you are in a boutique hotel that blends perfectly with the streets of Ortigia. This is only enhanced by the exposed stone features and quality furnishings in the other public areas on the ground floor. The library/lounge is particularly delightful. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, (room 9), with an airy lounge and shared patio balcony. Plenty of space if a little functional. The small kitchen area and fridge came in handy for the odd lunch or aperativo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billfrom London

Very quiet streets, very clean characterful hotel

Posted May 27, 2014
Good sleep, good breakfast, not far from sea and from excellent restaurants. Great place to relax for a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel on Antigua Island.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Spacious, low key, excellent location
Beautiful location. Sea breeze, close to everything you'd want to see here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by single travellefrom London

Charming, quiet hotel with courtyard garden

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: All the above. It is comfortable and very quiet. I was made to feel very welcome by all the staff.
Location: Close to the sea on Ortigia island. About 2 minutes' walk from the cathedral square. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Delightful little hotel in a lovingly restored historical property, friendly and helpful staff, simple but comfortable rooms, with cooking facilities and (in my case) a little roof terrace. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Neilfrom yorkshire

A delightful suprise

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: position ,views character ,staff and a real sense of history.
Cons: Please install a larger shower cabinet of a more modern style especially knowing the quality of bathroom fittings that are available.
Location: Central position in an old medieval area with a strong sense of history everywhere.
Narrow alleys with character ,friendly locals who even knowing we were tourists spent the time talking to us and clearly enjoyed sharing their life. Close enough to walk to the Duomo , the market -absolutely fab with traders offering advice and bending over to be helpful be it only for a couple of hundred grammes of pomodori secchi. Our roof top appt was spacious ,with a view out to sea great for relaxing on an evening and an early morning read in peace we were not disturbed by any noises from the street and area.The only down side was a shower cabinet which was too small for any one with a waist of above 32" Towels were changed every day and fresh soaps laid out. Staff were very helpful and clearly took pride in the hotel.Simply we would go back again at the drop of a hat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina & Andrewfrom San Diego

a jewel

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
this hotel is very well appointed,. Located in the charming neighborhood of Ortygia, it was a one of our best experiences travelling on a budget. Got great reviews from Trip Advisor, and justly. The staff is most friendly and efficient. The whole building is very spacious and full of old treasures. I highly recommend it for a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meredithfrom Washington State

Nice small hotel, reasonably priced

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: In beautiful Ortigia, close to the water. Spacious room (actually more like a small apartment) with a comfortable bed. Staff was pleasant, helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by PCfrom GB

Comfortable apartment and helpful staff

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found we had an apartment for 3 nights, with separate bedroon, sitting room with kitchenette, bathroom and terrace with rooftop views. The apartment, along with others, was accessed through a lovely courtyard up a passage to the side of the hotel. Simply but comfortably furnished and quiet. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful and the receptionist insisted on carrying one of our bags up to the apartment. The lady looking after breakfast was similarly cheerful and helpful. We would though have liked an option of some fruit. The hotel, which has been well restored, is in a small side street and so is quiet and yet in the heart of the attractive old town of Ortigia. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Denmark/Ireland

Great visit in Ortigia

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I visited Alla Guidecca on the 13-21 of July with my mother. We had room no 14 which was at the top of the stairs. It could be a bit hard to walk up the stairs but the view was worth it. We could see the ocean on two sides of the balcony. The place was clean with a small kitchen. This was great as we could make coffee in the mornings and keep our water cold. The bedroom was separate from the living room - which is always a plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us and found train times etc when needed. The breakfast was not the most interesting in the world but the best thing at breakfast were the drink options and the kitchen staff. They made fresh coffee after your choice and offered great granitas. We decided to stay in the old part of Siracusa called Ortigia. This was an excellent choice. The streets were winding and charming with old fashioned street lights that resembled gaslights - the area looked like something out of a pirate movie. We had a wonderful stay and would like to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SCfrom Newbury, United Kingdom

Old world charm in the heart of Ortigia,Syracuse

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: More of an apartment than a hotel room with living room, kitchenette and private balcony. Cool and comfortable
Cons: As with all medieval streets, everything is very close. If I was being picky - the occasional motorbike can be a little annoying.
Location: Spot on. Close to the sea, close to the Duomo and the restaurants.
This hotel is a great place to stay tucked away down the ancient streets of Syracuse. We were taken here directly by prearranged pick up from Catania airport via Traveleze . A must when arriving is to ensure that the taxi drops you off at the Blue Bar at the end of Via G.B. Alagona (see address)with Via Nizza. Not to be confused with the Alla Giudecca B&B in the street of that name. We loved this place, a couple of streets away is a great store with lots of local supplies. Like all Italian towns, Syracuse is quiet between 2 and 4.30 when the day is at its hottest but each room has a small kitchenette and so we were able to stay in some lunchtimes/afternoons and chill out on our balcony. We had loads of space for the three of us. The hotel has some ancient ceremonial baths 18 meters underground which is open for the public to see by guided tour on the hour between 11 and 6. It only lasts about 10 minutes but the receptionist does it. So if you do turn up while they are showing people around it is well worth waiting. I would stay here again. The staff were all helpful and friendly . Even when we ended up arriving really late because of the flight and the taxi error we were able to get some help. There is a small door bell on the RHS of the gate(access only by key in the evenings)and the owner let us in . I would recommend this to anyone