Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Closed to NYS Fairgrounds.
Cons: Everything needs updating and a good cleaning.
Old, stained and a bad smell....and don't even ask about the huge spider in my towel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Webster, NY

Close to The Fair

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Clean room. Free wireless, and nice and close to The Fair
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON

Good stay

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good restaurant
Location: A bit hard to find if you didn't have a good map, particularly coming off I-90 east
The staff were pleasant and co-operative, though obviously the hotel was running on minimum staff through a very busy season. Friends who had booked the room only 3 days earlier paid $60 less for the same accommodation which seems like price gouging, but we were satisfied with the accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Visit During State Fair

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Warmer pool water.
Location: Went to Liverpool for restaurants, went to State Fair - the hotel provided a shuttle to/from the Fair, very convenient.
Hotel staff was all exceedingly friendly, breakfast was great (included) with bacon, sausage, eggs, plus all the usual, very nice setting. We will definitely go back next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Save your money

Posted Aug 23, 2014
If you can stay elsewhere, you probably should. Requested adjoining rooms, we were in opposite hallways. The reception desk wasn't very polite when asking about getting a fridge and microwave, but they did finally get one into one of the rooms for us. The rooms are in need of updating, the tub floor felt like it was going to fall through when you were standing in it and the shower was short I had to lean to have a shower. Had dinner in the restaurant, although the food was very good, the service was horrible and there were only a few other people in the restaurant at the time. The pool was cold and somewhat dirty. It's my own fault for not reading the reviews of the hotel ahead of time, most of the reviews all say the same thing. Which I looked at after I was there and saw what I had gotten myself into :) OOPS It was only 2 nights so we stuck it out but for next years trip - it won't be at this hotel again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

tired, smelly hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: 0
Cons: everything
This place needs a total rehab. Old furniture, smelly lobby. The restaurant is a joke and so is the breakfast. The rooms are cramped and smelly. Could not sleep there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Out of the way in a not so nice area

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The best part of this hotel was the morning breakfast which had hot food that was pretty good, the hotel is in an weird location, the front desk people were ok but overall I would say this is a 1-1.5 star property not a 2,5 or 3 star that Expedia had it shown as
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Raisa Avotins, Hotel Management
Dear traveller from C, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Harry Patel General Manager Clarion Inn and Suites
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have never in my life written an online review but after staying two nights at this hotel I feel it is my obligation to tell others how I felt. I arrived on a Friday and after checking in realized I was the only other person there in the entire hotel. My room was way down at the far end of the building and when I drove my car back to the entrance near my room I realized how isolated and truly uncomfortable I felt. My room smelled like mildew and urine and the bathroom was so small that I couldn't use the facilities and close the door at the same time. There was a restaurant on site that was advertised as Italian but nothing on the menu was actually Italian. At my room I put the "Do Not Disturb" tag in the key card slot and I had the male housekeeper attempt to open my door three times on my first morning there and once again on my last morning. If I hadn't put the card in the card slot I would understand the mix up but he would have had to take my card out to put the hotel room key in - it doesn't make sense. I believe it was the owner or manager who was he one who checked me in initially and I felt he wished me a good stay but the actuality was that I had a super uncomfortable and very awkward stay, especially as a single female. Maybe in other parts of the year this place is ok but the weekend I was there it was definitely not ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie from Illinios

Very happy with stay!

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay. Front desk staff and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. Big hot breakfast was great! Beds were comfortable and hotel and rooms were clean. Ordered room service ut came very quickly and food was excellent. The only 2 small things that were downfalls was location- the hotel is pretty remote no gas stations or restiraunts near by. Also there was a big spider web in the corner if our room, it was overall very clean so I know it was just missed by accident.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Raisa Avotins, Hotel Management
Dear Julie, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn & Suites Fairgrounds. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Syracuse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robin from New Jersey

Mixed Feelings

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was really comfortable and located in a relatively convenient location, but there were a couple of issues that come up during our stay. Issue number one was that the shower wouldn't drain properly, so by the time I was finished, my feet were completely covered with water. Another note about the shower is that there was no way to get the water to the right temperature; the shower would shoot out ice cold water randomly. The guest binder in the room is outdated and does not provide information about times other than what time check out is (i.e. they offer room service, but it doesn't say when they start or stop serving it). The half of the hallway smelled like curry all day and all night, and of course, my room was right in the middle of it. The biggest problem that I had during my stay was that housekeeping did not understand the sign that was in the door lock that said "Do Not Disturb". I thought that point of those signs was to keep housekeeping out, not allow them to enter as long as no one answers the knock on the door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Raisa Avotins, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Inn & Suites Fairgrounds. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding some issues on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with manitenance department and general manager to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Syracuse.