Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schöns altes Gebäude direkt am Meer

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Zentral und ruhig gelegen, insgesamt aber größere Anlage, leicht abgewohnt, wir (Parr 50) kommen gerne wieder-aber kein muss nochmal dieses Hotel zu nehmen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesterfield, UK

Well located for Ortigia's main piazza

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Great location for the old town with lovely sea view and sunsets.
Cons: Bring down the cost of the valet parking! Put explanation on website on how to get to hotel if ZTL traffic lights are red - how do you avoid a fine?
Location: The old town, Duomo (2 euro each), Castello Maniace (2 euro each), the market & sarnie shop (see trip adviser). 20 min walk to greek/roman theatre.
Our deluxe sea view room wasn't as big & luxurious as we'd imagined - more like the size of a classic. We were told they were all different sizes and they hadn't a bigger one available for our stay - hey ho! But it was fine with a nice sea view. Would say it was 4* rather than 5* but maybe they got that for the spa (which we didn't use). Rather a strong smell of chlorine in the reception rooms on the ground floor - the pool was on the floor below. Breakfast was fine - normal Italian continental - cold meats, cheese, bacon, scrambled eggs, etc - nice cakes! Omelettes and fried eggs available but at extra cost. There was a very loud band outside on the Friday night - 10pm to midnight - but didn't bother me once the window was closed and the air condition on. All part of the atmosphere! Booked it as it was in a great location to explore the old town & that they had valet parking - 25 euro pn! Had read about the ZTL zones in the old towns and didn't want to risk a fine. Luckily the traffic lights were green when we reached Ortigia so we drove down to the the hotel, parked in one of their spaces just past the front door and handed it over to them. Apparently they take it and park it somewhere in the new town. Told them we wanted it back for 8am Sunday morning to travel to airport & all worked well. We were there early Oct and the traffic lights were red from 8pm (yes pm!) - 2am Mon - Fri and 11am to 2am at weekends. Not sure how you get to hotel if the lights are on red
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel a stone's throw from the centre of Or

Posted Sep 16, 2014
My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the hotel is a short walk to the Piazza Duomo in the centre. We used the spa almost every day -it's small but perfectly formed, and lovely and quiet in the afternoons. The only downside was the noise from the rooftop bar on the Saturday evening, but it died down by about midnight. All in all we had a wonderful stay in Ortigia :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Javierfrom Tenerife

Hotel de Lujo en ubicación inmejorable

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Un hotel de lujo con todas las comodidades, con acceso wifi en zonas comunes gratuito, acceso a la sala fitness y SPA gratuitamente, un desayuno con todo lo que se puede esperar y con una ubicación inmejorable. Las unicas dos pegas, era que no tenía parking dado que Ortigia es solo de acceso y aparcamiento a residentes, pero se puede dejar el coche a 15 minutos caminando. Algo de calor en la habitación dado que la temperatura se controla desde recepción y a pesar de haber avisado un par de veces para cambiar la temperatura, seguimos pasando calor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Margheritafrom Perugia

ottima disponibilità

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Abbiamo fatto una prenotazione assolutamente last minute (alle ore 13.00 per la sera stessa) ed il personale si è prodigato per prepararci al volo la sistemazione, che, per indisponibilità dell'ultimo momento, è stata addirittura superiore a quanto prenotato. A farne in parte le spese è stata la pulizia della camera, evidentemente un po' frettolosa. Il personale è stato gentile e disponibile, la struttura è molto bella in una posizione incantevole.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MARTIGUES

hôtel prés des restaurants et commerces

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: le spa et la salle de sport ainsi que le petit déjeuner qui est copieux et le service agréable.
Cons: La climatisation des chambres à améliorer... Trop bruyante .
Location: sur le port d' Ortygia, shopping à faire et déguster des bonnes glaces
hotedl bien placé, beau quartier, vue sur la mer. Prés des commerces et des restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Middle East

シラクーザ・オルティージャ島を満喫できるホテル

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: ロケーション、窓からの眺望、クラシックな部屋と調度、高い天井、高品質のアメニティ、栄養満点の朝食、対応がフレンドリーで丁寧なスタッフ
Cons: 敢えてマイナス点を挙げると、バスがお洒落で凝り過ぎていて、シャワーが床を濡らしてしまったことでしょうか(私の部屋だけかもしれませんが)。
Location: アレトゥーザの泉の前、海が真正面で、どこに行くにも至便。ドゥオーモ広場に徒歩2分、マニアーチェ城に徒歩5分、めぼしいリストランテや飲食街にも10分以内。対岸のシラクーサ側では、ギリシャ遺跡、カタコンベ、博物館などにもタクシーで10ユーロ。
初めてのシチリア、シラクーサに、7月下旬のハイシーズンに宿泊。きっかけはExpediaからの案内でしたが、結果は大満足。予約した後、各国ユーザーの口コミを見て正直心配になった面もありますが、全ては杞憂でした。 まず、ロケーションは最高。同島のランドマークであるアレトゥーザの泉は目の前、最大の目玉であるドゥオーモ広場には、徒歩3分の至便さ。オルティージャ島内の目ぼしいスポットや飲食店にも、どこにも徒歩10分内で行けます。シラクーサ側への往復も便利。 また、部屋から真正面に海が見え、朝目覚めてカーテンを開けると、いきなり豪華客船が入港していた眺望には感激。泉周辺の賑わいも、眠れないほどの騒音ではなく、熟睡できました。天井も高く、エアコンも日本製でしっかり効きました。 仕事柄、各国のホテルを渡り歩いていますが、欲しいアメニティは全て、高品質で完備。バスタブは豪華、シャワーの水圧も十二分。朝食も欧州のホテルには珍しく野菜が何種類も並んでいたのが、気に入りました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Luc Quarréfrom Laval P.Q Canada

Great stay at Des Etrangers Hotel and Spa

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
we had a great stay it is very well situated close to everything the room was perfect with a view on the Ocean and a balcony I really recommand that Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seatttle

Gorgeous location, lovely place, confused staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Sea views, location, roof bar views
Cons: Service!
Location: Ortygia area of Syracusa has lovely pedestrian only streets, an interesting cathedral with original Greek temple columns, shops and people watching
We checked in with a small group and they mislaid almost everyone's luggage, even though it was clearly labelled. They eventually sorted it out. The staff seemed very bureaucratic, but once you appealed to the women reception staff personally, a few were helpful. (Thank you, Allysia). They have nowhere safe to store luggage after you check out. The car valet service was baffling, although again, it all got straightened out in the end. Ask for a room with a sea view, that is lovely enough to offset the very uneven service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrianofrom Milano

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ottima posizione e servizio di buon livello. La camera è stata in linea con quanto prenotato: spaziosa, pulita ed in ordine. Staff gentile e pronto a soddisfare tutte le richieste. Lo consiglio vivamente.