Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seatttle

Gorgeous location, lovely place, confused staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Sea views, location, roof bar views
Cons: Service!
Location: Ortygia area of Syracusa has lovely pedestrian only streets, an interesting cathedral with original Greek temple columns, shops and people watching
We checked in with a small group and they mislaid almost everyone's luggage, even though it was clearly labelled. They eventually sorted it out. The staff seemed very bureaucratic, but once you appealed to the women reception staff personally, a few were helpful. (Thank you, Allysia). They have nowhere safe to store luggage after you check out. The car valet service was baffling, although again, it all got straightened out in the end. Ask for a room with a sea view, that is lovely enough to offset the very uneven service.
1 out of 5
by sophia from va

Hotel staff were not accommodating at all

Posted May 28, 2014
There was no hot water in the room. Hotel staff did not speak English
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and view

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The location on Ortigia was excellent; on an edge to get light, a breeze and view. Yet to stroll the whole island and streets is not difficult.
Cons: The address on their literature is not GPS correct. We arrived at Porto Adonis 10 &12 to find it nonexistent panic sets-in! Use Porto Aretusa 10 &12
Location: The Fountain of Aretusa and it's myth is special to the connection to Greece. Look for the Papyrus Museo, great souvenirs and easy to transport.
This hotel had all the amenities and requirements yet something was lacking...intangible. Our room was art nouveau and tastefully done and the bed was comfortable. The balcony opened to the harbor and overlooked of Fountain of Aretusa. The breakfast spread was impressive and international in scope, the breakfast room was large and viewed the harbor as well. We did not visit the pool or the fitness center. The roof top restaurant and lounge looked appealing and well decorated. The staff was ? detached? it seemed, friendly enough and efficient but without warmth. I am not complaining just wondering why I felt put off. From the restaurant wait staff to the breakfast bunch to reception; hence perhaps the hotel name.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Magdalena from Washington DC

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Visit the magnificent cathedral - very close by.
Very nice hotel and location is close to the Cathedral. One drawback was the loud partying on Saturday night that went on until about 2:00 am in the street outside our roon. It really made sleep impossible. If planning to be there on a weekend, request a room far away from the noise. Parking is very difficult and you need to count on additional charges for an agent to park for you somewhere in the vicinity. Hotel has old-world charm and is very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by LR from Vancouver, British Columbia

Mediocre hotel. Disappointing.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Wifi was available, the room and washroom were cleaned well and the breakfast area was nice.
Cons: Staff service needs to improve. The room decor was dated as well.
Location: The location was good - it was easy to explore Ortygia and walk over to Sycracusa as well.
I was not very happy with my stay. While the hotel location is great for seeing Ortygia, the hotel had very little amenities and no one really helped at any point of our stay with what we needed. We had to park our car on the other side of the island because they didn't have parking or even a parking service. No one was there to help get our bags out of the car. We had to wait an hour for our room to be ready and once we were there we were having some issues with closing the door. It took them an hour to respond to us. The room had a water front view but was very noisy and there was a concert right out of our window for one of the days we stayed. There was no room service available at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lewis from UK

Distinctive character & style in glorious setting

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Full of character and style of its own Gorgeous views and surroundings Excellent breakfast
Cons: Our visit was in Nov/Dec and the hotel was quiet, so the bar was closed - but this is hardly a complaint because you're so close to everything in town
Location: Right behind Piazza del Duomo and magnificent cathedral Next to fountain of Aretusa Gorgeous views Tiny Ortigia is packed with things to see and do
Ortigia, the island town and most ancient part of Syracuse, is so achingly beautiful we saw models having a photoshoot in the street. The character of the town reflects its rich history, and the hotel captures the feel of this special place wonderfully. The rooms and communal areas are decked in polished marble and mosaics with a flavour of Italy, Greece and African influences; the balcony has a view over the Mediterranean bay (and the area surrounding the Fountain of Aretusa - ask the locals) and the roof level bar and breakfast room offers stunning views across the medieval rooftops out to sea and mainland too. Breakfast was, by the way, as good as any we had in Sicily. Our room was large and well equipped, and the balcony provided some lovely twighlight evenings accompanied by birdsong and fishing boats calmly drifting across the bay. A far cry from the busy streets of Catania or bustling cafes of Taormina. The spa and pool was pleasant and relaxing but if you're an English couple with less experience of these matters than our European cousins, don't expect a massage treatment to be as medical and mechanical as we're used to - it's a little more soft and exposed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mcnote from livermore

Beautiful hotel on the island of Ortygia

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Breakfast, location, old-fashioned style.
Cons: Cleanliness of floors.
Everything was just as we hoped at this beautiful hotel, except the floor was dirty in our room. Even the 2nd day when the maid would have had a chance to notice all the bits and stuff and clean it, it was not cleaned. We probably should have complained, but didn't. The breakfast was superb. Staff very helpful. Internet worked in the room even though it said only in the lobby for free. Wonderful place to stay! You need to take a taxi if you come into the bus or train station. Too far to drag a suitcase and no bus goes to the hotel. Streets are too narrow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, great location.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Really beautiful hotel,within the stunning location of Ortigia, Siracusa. Can't rate Ortigia highly enough if you are going to Siracusa it's the area you want to be in. The hotel is in a very good condition with an art deco feel to it, especially in our room. We had a view over the sea from our little balcony. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, served from the roof terrace restaurant. The only thing that some people may find a negative with this place is at this time of year the trees that are just opposite the hotel are home to hundreds of roosting birds, but we weren't disturbed by them,(and we were pretty close) and in my opinion they added to the magic of the place. Also parking is a little bit of a walk (about 10 mins), but free where we parked,and didn't prove a problem for us.