Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific view, balcony overlooking the ocean.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The balcony sea view were breathtaking.
Overall a good experience but the parking is terrible! They only have two parking spots, the check in clerk (male) told us to go to the Talente (paid parking) down the road but neglected to mention that you need coins so we scraped together a few euros but had to return with more change which was difficult to find nearby. When we returned we added another 8 Euros but that ran out at 5.30am so my husband had to go back in the morning to add money. The other staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. Bathrooms do not drain that we'll but I think that is a problem everywhere in Ortega.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nicely positioned

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Full of character,right in the middle of the old town
A very interesting town,full of small alleyways.Hotel a roof garden where you look out to sea .Hotel has parking which is very useful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful hotel with a stupendous view of the sea.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel: sea view, clean room, great breakfast, and wonderful staff.
Location: Rich in history, Ortygia is a good place to take day trips to Taormina and to see Mt. Etna. South of Ortygia are some very nice beaches.
We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is on the island of Ortygia and we had requested a room with a sea view. They were not able to give us a room with a double bed; however, this turned out to be no problem at all since the beds were easily pushed together. The view of the sea was incredible. We kept the door to the balcony open all night to feel the cool breeze and hear the comforting sound of the sea. One morning we watched the sun rise on the horizon; evenings gave us a gorgeous display of the moon and stars. We had a rental car and, although finding a parking place was not always easy, we were helped by attendants who always managed to find us a space just outside the hotel. Breakfast (included with the room) was excellent with much variety, including scrambled eggs, prosciutto and cheeses, yogurt, cereals, fruit, as well as the more typical "continent breakfast" items of breads, croissants and pastries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by N from London

Great location

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect spot in Ortygia and very easy to park the car. Rooms had fantastic large windows and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom a bit tired but overall very satisfied for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Norwich UK

well positioned

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly and pleasant, big airy room
Cons: Bathroom (shower) a little shabby Provide correct wifi code in room info Breakfast staff in neighbouring hotel could be more welcoming
Location: Near sea, good access to all sites and restaurants by foot
Nice roof terrace,comfortable beds, charming, helpful staff on reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John from USA

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a room overlooking the sea...Wonderful. Everyone on the front desk was friendly and helpful, especially Cinza. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Looking forward to going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Dorset

Nice hotel on the island of Ortigia, Syracuse

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Location and decor plus parking
Cons: Attention to shower
Location: Convenient for Ortigia island a comfortable walk to the Greek temple etc. Local buses are nearby. Good restaurants, the market is well worth a visit.
Domus Mariae is a comfortable hotel, well situated for viewing the many sights. Car parking was important to us and was next to hotel, but this may be a problem in peak season. Good breakfast in tasteful surroundings. We had a good size, quiet room with balcony. Staff were very helpful and apologetic when the air conditioning failed on our last day. Good size bathroom, but the shower door was broken and the drain was partially blocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andy

Value for money

Posted Aug 31, 2012
Pros: Lovely staff. Beautiful breakfast and comfortable bed.
Cons: None
Location: Ortygia, old part next to Ocean
Quiet, restful and in excellent location in Ortygia for exploring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Va

A delightful experience on Ortygia

Posted Nov 28, 2009
A wonderful small hotel overlooking the water. Very helpful staff, constantly looking for ways to help make the stay more pleasant. The hotel restaurant was an unexpected pleasure, with healthy choices along with traditional Sicilian fare. The nuns of the order unobtrusively keep a close eye on everything. We would recommend Domus Mariae to everyone.