Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Its location, the roof terrace and breakfast were excellent.
Cons: There could be more in- room information.TV/Sky instructions and perhaps some history of the hotel.
Location: There are many excellent places to eat. Teatro Grecco in Syracuse is worth a visit. You will enjoy a trip to the hotels private beach by boat.
Initially we were put off by the website photos of the bedrooms. This was a mistake, the room we had (217) exceeded our expectations. It was nicely decorated, was of a good size, had lots of storage, 2 large windows and a good size bathroom with a shower/ jacuzzi bath and bidet. The air conditioning was a little below parr but did keep the room at a comfortable level. The hotel is beautifully restored, smells so clean everywhere, has a wonderful view over the harbour from the roof terrace. The breakfast is excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. It is true (previous review) there are some works taking place to accommodate cruise ships, we believe, but is far enough away not to be too intrusive. There are lots of good places to eat within easy walking distance that you are really spoilt for choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Good location for walk into centre of Ortiga and the many good cafes and restuarants and the duomo.
It was just a one night stay but we would like to have stayed longer. It was a very good location, the staff were very courteous, the room had a good view out to sea and the breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liz from Manchester

Lovely hotel in charming part of Siracusa

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, cleanliness of room and good choice at breakfast.
Cons: Although there is a spa, there is no pool available.
Location: Wonderful Archaeological Park with Greek and Roman remains. Winding medieval streets in Ortigia, full of places to eat.
This hotel is close to the harbour and within easy reach of good places to eat. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast choice, served on the top floor and outside terrace of the hotel, was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from TX

great location at the harbor

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: access to hotel by car is quite simple due to its location. nice view of harbor from restaurant. excellent buffet breakfast.
Cons: n/a
Location: many restaurants nearby. easy walk to tourist sites on island.
lovely hotel with easily accessed parking. elegant rooms. friendly, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sophia

Excellent place to stay

Posted May 31, 2014
Majestic structure, helpful staff close to see and restaurant. Only problem weak wifi connection
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham

Nice hotel on Island of Ortiga

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No fitness suite
Location: The city of Syracuse is walkable
Own parking, nice rooms and good breakfast. Most of the staff speak english.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The location, the cleanliness, the food and wines and the service
Cons: The only improvement would have been more storage space for clothes (we had a triple room)
Location: Great location on Ortigia, within walking distance of all the main Syracuse attractions
The staff were very welcoming and the hotel seemed freshly renovated. The breakfast was excellent and hotel spotlessly clean. Location wise, the hotel overlooks the bay on the lovely island part of Ortigia (Syracuse).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P n D from Kingsville, Ontario

Comfort close to everything

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: We were in Siracusa during the Winter Olympics and greatly appreciated the wide range of television service that the hotel made available.
We found the Grand Hotel Ortigia an ideal choice for exploring Siracusa. It is on the waterfront in Ortigia and within easy walking distance of all the many sights the island has to offer, as well as its shops and restaurants. The archaeological zone in central Siracusa with its magnificent Greek theatre and other sights took us a walk of roughly half an hour. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. We ate well in the dining room both early in the morning and late at night. We would most certainly go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sofia

Charming hotel, perfect location

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: The location and charm of the hotel. The staff was always happy to help.
Cons: The parking access and egress was a bit delayed, maybe a key card access would help expedite the process.
Location: Downtown Ortigia is a couple blocks away, the Cathedral and plaza is beautiful. There are great restaurants and shopping very close by.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, they were fluent in both English and Spanish which was great for my family. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, salons and visits to local and nearby locations. The hotel is located right on the water and nearby to the historic center of Ortigia, the shopping area and great restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from New Holland, PA

Distance to Archeological Sights/ Close to Castle

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Parking across from the hotel. Good breakfast.
Cons: Attitude of bell boys.
Location: Visit the castle at the tip of the island. It's a real bastion, built for projection. Walk about at your own pace. Enjoy looking over Syracuse.
The room overlooking the water and marina was on two levels, so you had to climb up and down stairs to get to bathroom. That became a little tiring. It's not for those who have difficulty climbing. Two televisions (one in the bedroom upstairs got a few English speaking news channels). The clerks were helpful, although the bell boys were basing the amount of service offered on the size of their tip. Not having anything but 50 euro bills when we arrived, having just come from an ATM banking machine, our tip was very meager. When it came time to check out, he saw us struggling with our bags, but just stood watching, then walked right passed us. Parking is right across the hotel at 10 euros a night - worth it to avoid the car aggravation.