Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bad Bodendorf

Schönes altes Hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Lage und der geschichtliche Hintergrung.
Cons: Da das Preis/Leistungsverhältnis stimmt, wären Renovierungsarbeiten, die, besonders im sänitären Bereich notwendig wären, nicht vertretbar.
Location: Die Hotelanlage liegt in Meernähe im Osten der Stadt. Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten von Siracusa kann man relativ gut zu Fuß erreichen.
Es handelt sich um ein fast historisch zu nennendes Hotel, das sich in Siracusa in einer sehr guten Lage in Meernähe befindet. Der Glanz vergangener Zeiten ist allerdings verblaßt. Trotzdem kann dieses Haus empfohlen werden. Das Frühstücksbüfett war gut bis sehr gut. Die Belegung war während meines Besuchs dort in der Weihnachtswoche minimal. Das Hotelrestaurant und die Bar waren deshalb fast immer geschlossen, so daß man gezwungen war, besonders am Abend, in die etwa 2 km entfernte Altstadt zu gehen oder zu fahren.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Amsterdan

Vergane glorie in Villa Politi

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Wij hebben 3 nachten in Villa Politi geslapen. Het hotel was 150 jaar geleden wellicht een luxe hotel, die grandeur is nu volledig verdwenen. De locatie is ook niet fijn, erg ver van het prachtige Ortigia. In de buurt zijn nauwelijks horeca-gelegenheden. Het zwembad was leeg, een van de faciliteiten waar wij op hadden gerekend. Onze kamer was erg klein, niet luxueus en dat gold zeker voor de badkamer. Het was echt een teleurstellende ervaring, zeker gezien de 4 sterren die het hotel heeft. Het personeel behandelde ons alsof we er niet hoorden, zo moesten we iedere ochtend bedelen om een kopje koffie bij het ontbijt. Tot overmaat van ramp was er op de laatste dag geen water, waardoor we niet konden douchen en ook het toilet kon niet worden doorgetrokken. We konden geen compensatie krijgen voor het betaalde bedrag, omdat "we al hadden betaald via Expedia."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien placé pour visiter la ville

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: l'accueil
.................................................................................................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Very attractive hotel in amazing grounds

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The friendly helpful staff, the swimming pool is lovely and never busy and the grounds are fantastic for sitting in a shady spot reading a good book.
Cons: Table and chairs on the balcony. Bathrobes in the rooms. More hanging space and hangers for clothes. Tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms
Location: Location was a bit out of the way but once you suss out the bus routes (staff are really helpful on this) there is plenty to do and see.
We loved the hotel itself. We were on the third floor in a nice sized room with private bathroom and a small balcony. The balcony had amazing views but we were unable to use it as there was no table or chairs. We would have enjoyed many hours out there reading, playing cards etc. with a glass or two. Worst thing - no tea/coffee making facilities in our room. Also there were no bathrobes even though this was advertised on holiday details - we asked but no joy The hotel was mainly used by business people staying one or two nights only and we were an exception to the norm. The wardrobe certainly didn't have the facilities to house two weeks worth or clothes for two people. The restaurant was good but limited so we ate out quite a bit. Saying that, the position of the hotel was such that there were VERY few restaurants close by within walking distance. By day 6/7 we had sussed out the local transport system (which is really efficient and cheap) and regularly caught a No.3 bus to Ortigia which is crammed packed full of restaurants, cafes and bars - some of them are fantastic. Ortigia is the place to go for sightseeing etc. Loads to look at. The weather was hotter than we expected 27 - 29 C every day in October. Absolutely brilliant. We visited the Archeological Park and Mount Etna. Both worth a look. The Hotel advertised a shuttle service to Ortigia which wasn't running in October. There are limited organised trips available from the Hotel but you have to ask!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alefrom palermo

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Letti comodi", "Ottima posizione", "Servizio eccellente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Très bel hôtel bien situé et calme

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: A peu près tout - très grande piscine - personnel très accueillant et professionnel
Cons: L'insonorisation des chambres - la douche est à rafraichir - la cuisine du grand restaurant n'est pas toujours à la hauteur
Location: Idéal pour découvrir Syracuse, ORTIGIA et de belles villes aux environs, NOTO, RAGUSA, etc...
Globalement très satisfaits de notre séjour, nous y retournerions avec plaisir
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An historical hotel with great staff

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Staff - professional and friendly. Cleanliness. History of the building and its surroundings.
Cons: Breakfast coffee and speed of service in the bar in the evenings.
Location: Restaurant Jonico is about 5 mins away of you want to eat elsewhere for a change.
Staff were excellent; all were very helpful and professional. The rooms were spotless -although not perhaps as large as in more modern hotels. It's a fabulous old building which is full of history and is well maintained as are the grounds and the swimming pool. Breakfasts were good but the quality of the serve-yourself coffee from a machine left much to be desired. If you want a better quality one just ask a member of staff to get one for you from the machine in the bar. The restaurant food was super and there is currently a 'Happy Hour' from 6.30 - 7.30pm where you can have a cocktail and nibbles for only 5 euros. The bar staff can sometimes get a bit overwhelmed during these times when the hotel is busy - so be prepared for a bit of a wait. The hotel is sited out of the centre of the town and has plenty of parking. You can get a taxi or bus into town, use the free hotel shuttle, or walk which would take about 30 minutes (you might want to check out the walking routes carefully as you might feel more comfortable with some rather than others especially after dark).
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cosenza

Non male !

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Hotel carino, ma camere un po datate.. colazione sufficiente..peccato che nel regno del cannolo e dei dolci alla mandorla non ve ne sia traccia !!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yorkiefrom UK

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, relaxing holiday. Loads to see in the surrounding area but found having a hire car useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com