Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by highlander5775 from midlands

Dissapointed travellers

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The Hotel was within an old building with interesting local architectural features.
Cons: The decor and furnishing was tired-in need of upgrading Many fittings needed replacing the room could have been cleaner
Location: The location for exploring the Ortegia and Syracuse area was great. Plenty to visit and look at. The Hotel is next to the sea wall with sea views.
Ortegia is a wonderful place with plenty to see and do. The hotel was disappointing as it really needed some TLC and thought. It had tired charm because of the architecture, however the room had a wall light that fell down on minimum contact. Shower head bracket was broken. Mould on the walls and a deep layer of dust under the bed. There was no where comfortable to sit other than on the bed. The balcony had great views, but the wrought iron balustrade was rusting badly and the outer shutters were in such bad condition that they were starting to collapse. The fridge in the room was not working and guests were obliged to use a communal fridge in the corridor. Should a guest need to store medicines or specialised food it was not ideal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So disapointing !!!!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Except for view out the french doors of the sea....it was terrible! It was fithy....the halls were lite by sensors...it entire building was cold...beds were hard and lumpy...etc...etc...etc!!!!
1 out of 5
by John from Winchester UK

Why is it given a 3 star rating?

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The location in Ortyga is great, sea view and two allocate parking bays. The staff tried to be helpful
Cons: Just about everything
Location: All the sights of the old town are within easy walking distance
Having just finished a stay at a 3 star hotel in Taormina, the Aurora was a bit of a shock. Run down and scruffy, on the first floor ,3 fights of stairs, of a very dilapidated building. The first room we were allocated smelt very odd and the wardrobe was full of old bedding. We changed it. I think we were the only guests and if we hadn't already paid we would have left. There are no eating or drinking facilities, you are issued vouchers for a local cafe, a good 5 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthony from London

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely old fashioned hotel with great views over the Ortigia bay at the end of one of Ortigia's most historic streets. Friendly and helpful people. No lift.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kimmie from California

Dirty, old, and lacking but great location!

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel hasn't been updated or maintained at all in the past 5-6 years. I stayed here in 2006 and it was charming and quaint, so I decided to stay again... This time it was horribly dirty. Everything was covered in a layer of dust, we looked under the bed and were disgusted: piles of dirt, lint, and dust bunnies. Shower was covered in mold and grime and the water didn't drain. Our room was large and antique and had a great partial sea view, and the fact that it was old and not really kept up didn't bother us really... it was actually kind of fun to be in such an old palazzo with so much character. The location is great, and Ortigia is such a magical place that nothing could have ruined our vacation. But this place is dirty. Honestly, I am much cleaner when I go camping. The dirtiness is what will keep me from staying at this hotel in the future, and what makes me want to tell everyone to run far away from this place!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Rached from London

Never again

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is not a 3 star hotel it is low grad little pension bed and breakfast has to do a lot work to even become one star Provide a breakfast in a bar about 300 meter away and consist of one coffee and one pastry Wi fi only work in the reception and very poor The rooms mould on the walls decoration not finishes Reception not maned all the time and call complain about the owner who is not providing and putting them in difficult situation I am going to speak to the complaint department
3 out of 5
by Kerry from Sydney

Great location and view, but run down & overpriced

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Our room had a great view across the ocean and the hotel is in a good location, but given the price we felt it was poor value for money. The hotel is quite run down and a bit shabby although the staff were friendly and helpful. If it was less expensive I'd be happy to recommend it as we enjoyed our stay, but I expected more for what we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ebaltes from Durham, NC, USA

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The converted palazzo has seen better days, but it still loaded with charm. The service was friendly, though not quite as helpful as some previous reviews had suggested. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom left a bit to be desired. The shower curtain was in desperate need of cleaning or replacement. Any shortcomings, however, are made up for by the amazing location of this hotel: a quiet neighborhood with views of the sea. Ortigia is definitely the place to stay when visiting Syracusa, and this hotel was within easy walking distance of all the sites there. Even the archaeological sites and museum in Syracusa proper, as well as the catacombs of S. Giovanni, are only a 20-30 minute walk. Breakfast was not served at the hotel itself, but at a cafe in the nearby Piazza Aretusa with its beautiful fountain as a backdrop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beutiful spot, unique hotel.. bad breakfast

Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our 3 nights at this hotel with a seaside view. The room had lots of character, and when we checked in, the receptionist gave us a very detailed explanation of where to eat, what to see, and mapped it all for us - super helpful! She told us about a bar/restaurant with a happy hour deal and we were totaly hooked up with 5 plates of food and 2 drinks for 5 euro each! Crazy. What was frustrating was that there was no tp or soap in our room when we arrived, and after requesting both, we got only the tp.. never any soap. The room had a jacuzzi which had promise, but jets didnt function. The breakfast was at a cafe down the road with awful service - coffee was ok but we were offered only industrial/not fresh reheated croissants which we had to wait about 10min for each morning and servers were very unfriendly and even brusque with us! We went to the cafe next door across from the fountain in Piazza Archimede on the last day to avoid this frustration and the people there were nice and pastries were amazing! Hotel Aurora, please change to that cafe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim & Gina

Ortigia, A must in Sicily

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would highly recommend anyone going to Sicily to spend time in Ortigia, lots to see, lots to do, lots of neat restaurants