Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice resort, but a little hard to find.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The resort feel and area around the pool.
Cons: wifi in the room!!
Location: Beautiful area, but difficult to find.
The hotel and resort was very nice, but a little difficult to find. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. I enjoyed the lounge area around the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jamie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bugs48

Overview

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: The pool area and gardens were delightful, with lovely views of the mountains.
Cons: We were there when it was very quiet; on our last evening the hotel began to fill up with families and young children which changed the atmosphere.
Location: At the quiet end of a very busy beach; fortunately well away and a good walk to the sea (which we enjoyed although a little rough underfoot).
Our stay at Valle di Mare was a lovely finale to a lovely holiday touring Eastern Sicily. We were looking for somewhere that could offer us a relaxed atmosphere with access to places of interest, the coast and a good pool for a couple of hours at the end of the day; Valle di Mare did all this and also provided good accommodation. The restaurant food was variable, however fish dishes and the Sicilian buffet were very good. It was quite quiet when we arrived, but became a lot busier on the last evening when several young families checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Perfect for resting

Posted Oct 27, 2010
The resort is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

A really restful holiday!

Posted Jul 16, 2008
This hotel (in the form of terraced bungalows) has the most beautiful garden! The pool is very large and spotless, the water is just the right temperature. The food is fabulous, beautifully presented with a good variety of sicilian dishes. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a very peaceful place, with open views to the hills behind. You would definitely need a car. The beach is very near the hotel and you can walk though the path to it is anything but attractive. The hotel has a private beach with sunbeds and umbrellas. The only downside was that our shower cubicle needed replacing as the door just wouldn't stay on its runners and it was mouldy. The room was basic but the bed was large. The hotel hosted a number of local wedding receptions, anniversaries and birthday parties in the evenings. There was no entertainment as such but a singer/musician played some evenings but it was the same music each time. The poolside bar was hardly in operation, which was a shame. You really need to either speak some italian or have a dictionary there, as English is not spoken by the majority of either the staff or the people in that part of Sicily (menu in Italian). Overall we really really enjoyed ourselves, it was very quiet ... like being in our own private garden with fab pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from surrey

Would love to go back

Posted Jun 3, 2008
Lovely setting, everyone was really friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely and clean, pool was great, we visited quite early in the season so I found the pool was slightly on the cold side, but my daughter and husband were in the pool every day. The beach is a bit of rugged trek but once there it was lovely and clean. My only suggestion for improvement would be for the inclusion of a kettle within the rooms. Also because of the hotels location it should really be clarified that a car is necessary. But overall superb relaxing retreat!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Relaxed Hotel

Posted May 21, 2008
Really laid back hotel set in beautiful gardens. Very welcoming, but yet not imposing. Each room has its own outside space which is lovely - it is a bit more of a villa style set up. Gorgeous pool and great restaurant on site - we ate there every night. Easy reach of sights in the South East of the island but you do need a car to get around. Would definitely recommend it if you want a relaxed holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Syracuse Sicily Easter 2008

Posted Apr 3, 2008
Beautiful setting amongst lemon and olive groves in the countryside outside a beach resort. Great food and wine. Friendly, helpful staff and a real Sicilian family atmosphere.