Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexk from Oxfordshire, England

Nice country-side hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for 3 nights. Nice, if slightly remote setting yet in short distance to Syracuse (15 min drive). Rooms have more of a cottage feel and are furnished fairly simply. Our room had a bit of a damp smell to it. Outside area is great with a nice pool. Had dinner at the restaurant twice - good, basic Italian food, thought the fish dishes were especially nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family on tour from Derbyshire

Beautiful little gem of a hotel tucked away.

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the hotel with my family just for one night during a Holiday in Sicily. I was very pleased with my choice, the family room was spacious and comfortable. The pool was beautiful and for the time that we were there had it practically to ourselves. A very relaxing setting, and I felt that we were made to feel welcome with the children free to play in the grounds. We did not eat at the restaurant due to the fact that we were there just for the night and wanted to eat out in Syracusa, but if we ever stayed again we would eat there. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Really bad experience

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We looked forward to our stay at Kalaonda Plemmirio - the pictures and the description on the website looked very promising - but our stay was very disappointing. We are a family of four, and we had booked two rooms. The first room, on the ground floor, was musty, and the walls were humid (despite hot temperatures outside, in June). The second room did not have that problem, however, in both rooms, the air condition was not working, the phone was not working, and there was no wifi connection. Service was poor - reception staff was not helpful at all. We were having breakfast and dinner there, choices were very limited and quality mediocre. For the dinner, it took 45 minutes to even get some water for the table. Location is difficult as well - the hotel sits in the middle of farmland, with plastic greenhouses all around, and dogs (many!) from nearby farmhouses barking during the whole night. Given all the positive (older) reviews, this place must have changed considerably during recent years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Graham

Beautiful haven , ideally situated

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel with a beautiful pool , ideally situated for Siracusa and the beeches and sights of South East Sicily . The staff are extremely friendly and helpful , especially Matilda , who was able to tell us where to go and exactly how to get there .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travelling Couple

Rural Luxury a few minutes from Syracuse

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Kalaonda Plemmirio is a beautiful hotel set in a converted olive farm only a few minutes drive from Syracuse. Each room (actually a small suite with separate living and sleeping areas) is accessed from a courtyard that was kept spotless and swept every morning by the staff. The food both at breakfast and from the restaurant was excellent and the evening waiter is very knowledgeable about the local wines. The evening menu choice may seem a little restricted and slightly more expensive than elsewhere and, for a longer stay, you might want to try some of the sea front restaurants along the southern shore of Syracuse’s grand harbour, which are about five minutes drive from the hotel. As several other guests have commented, a car really is necessary to make the most of your stay here, but we found the hotel to be a superb choice for exploring Syracuse and the surrounding sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bangor, N. Ireland

Kalaonda Plemmirio hotel, Siracuse

Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
We spent two days early October 2010 in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it . Because of the rural position use of a car is absolutely essential. They serve a lovely breakfast in the morning, however we only used the restaurant once as it was a bit over-priced. We found a really nice , well-priced pizzeria/ristorante closeby for dinner which was great. On the plus side everything else about the Kalaonda is excellent ; the staff are extremely friendly , polite and keen to help, despite the language barrier. We would definitely go back to this lovely place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very good

Posted Nov 6, 2009
very good