Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location, superb views. Needs a lick of paint!

Posted Aug 27, 2010
The hotel is in a great location with amazing views over the town and bay. The garden and pool are lovely with great food and drinks service. We went in August during Ramadam but food and drinks were still available with a special (nice) Ramadam daytime menu. We had a double room in the main building overlooking the pool with views over the bay. Room was a great size with onsuite bathroom. It was comfortable and clean though could maybe benefit from a lick of paint. The only one real complaint about the hotel is that it is a little run down and tired looking. It looks like it was once quite a grand hotel but that it has been a little neglected. This does however seem to be the same in Tabarka as a whole. Breakfast was not particularly good either and the restaurant is more functional than lovely and the dinner menu was very limited and so we decided not to have dinner there. This may have been because it was Ramadam and not busy. The Mimosa is ok to stay in for a few days in Tabarka which is what we did but I think if you were there for a weeks holiday, you may be a bit disappointed. The other choices for a longer stay however, are probably the resort hotels in the Zone touristique which, though they may be better hotels, they look completely soul less and are away from town whereas the Mimosa is in a great spot overlooking the town and a short walk to the port, the fort and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vermont USA

Tabarka

Posted Aug 11, 2010
Nice on the edge of town location with great sea views.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great Location, tired hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2010
The hotel is superbly positioned for views overlooking Tabarka, but the overall impression of this hotel is that it was once a top place to stay in Tabarka. However, driving into Tabarka you notice the signs for the tourist area and this is well away from the town centre, thus giving the impression that it is now starved of the money which would be needed to bring it up to scrarch again. Having said that, although the hotel and room needed some work on them it was clean and tidy and we were satified as we were staying just the one night. The restaurent was very nice and the food was very well presented with a commendable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Old charm in Tabarka

Posted Apr 14, 2010
Very charming hotel in a great location overlooking the sea and town. Quiet setting with lovely grounds and pool. Wonderful staff and very good restaurant. A very comfortable place to stay with ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Highly recommend

Posted Sep 18, 2009 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Mimosa for seven nights in September 2009 and had a huge double room overlooking the pool and bay. Excellent value for money, clean and with a beautiful lawned pool area. Will definately be returning
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay, but a bit tired

Posted Sep 7, 2009 on Hotels.com
I was a little disappointed because the photos show a stately old building, but in fact the rooms are in generic motel out buildings. But, everyone was very nice and welcoming. Terrible coffee! Also, the staff forgot to give us back our passports, which resulted in a 4 hour detour. That should be on their minds when a guest checks out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Look no further

Posted Jul 16, 2008
A great place to stay for a relaxing break with plenty to see and do within easy walking distance. Far more character than the horrible megaplexes in the Zone Touristique. My daughter and I stayed during the first few days of July and practically had the place to ourselves as high season hadn't started. Staff are very helpful and accommodating - as we found out when we showed up too late for breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Helsinki, Finland

Solid three star hotel in Tabarka, Tunisia

Posted Oct 25, 2006
The Mimosa Hotel overlooks the town with a lovely view, especially the sunset view of the castle on a mountain and the sea beyond - if you get a seaview room. We lucked out during Ramadan (October 2006) and got what is probably one of the best rooms in the place, smack dab in the middle with a huge balcony. No need for air conditioning when we were there but I have heard it works intermittently. Brush off your French because the staff doesn't speak much English. We don't speak much French but we did surprisingly well with German and charades. The hotel is simply furnished without many in-room amenities. The bathroom was big but only had one small sliver of soap and nothing else in the way of toiletries. The shower ran tepid the first night and perfectly hot the next. The king size bed was comfortable but the lumpy too thick pillows that seem to be the norm in Tunisia were horrid. TV has plenty of channels, mostly in French or Arabic. The pool area is pleasant to sit around and have a reasonable priced drink. We noticed that during the day there were quite a few locals lounging around the yard sipping tea and smoking cigarettes on the sly. The restaurant served a basic breakfast of mostly bread, and the one evening meal we had was tasty but not piled on the plate. As everywhere else in Tunisia, canned tuna fish ended up as part of the meal. Within walking distance is a small market and about 10 minutes walk takes you to the harbour area.