Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What????

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Convenient to our yearly event. OK rooms and breakfast
Cons: MANAGEMENT!!!
My experience checking in was fine, but after that was chaos. Checkin time is 3pm; my friends arrived at 4 and their room (they did have a reservation) was not ready. We could not for the life of us get a cab ~ apparently they do not exist in Federal Way. The whole point was to meet up and cab to an event. While we were at the front desk trying to figure out a cab solution (even with all the troubles, the hotel transport would not take us the 3 miles to our event ~ we asked), a couple came down and said there was someone in their room. Another man in line said that happened to him last time. While the facilities were fine, the management needs serious work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not Bad

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Close to highway and many restaurants/stores.
We stayed here on our visit to Seattle. It was not bad. Not great either. It was obvious that the hotel was older. The town was nice. For visiting Seattle, Federal Way is still too far. The hotel is surrounded by many eating options and stores. It feels safe. Walking out of the lobby and being greeted by Mt Ranier is just awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I question it's 3 star rating, Starting to show some signs of wear.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not what I paid for and was promised

Posted Jun 17, 2014
we arrived at 3:30 in a hurry to get changed for a graduation we were attending. We didn't get the room we paid for and it hadn't been cleaned. We did not get to change and had to leave. I paid for 2 queen beds and got 1 king. There was no WI FI in our room. Another huge dissapointment. I would never go back there. the clerk was not helpful and did not seem to care.
1 out of 5
by Nathalia from Canada

I am not coming back to this hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, resource availability, maintenance
Location: N/A
Arrived very tired around 10 PM. there was only one person at the reception and about five people willing to check in. The process took over an hour before we received our room keys. A customer called asking for directions and the sole employee had to struggle between answering the phone and checking us in. He decided to hang up on the person who called. Arrived in my room and found out that the hair dryer was not functional and pieces of hw were lying on the bathroom floor waiting to be installed... not too surprised to find a pond of water in the bathroom some hours after because the tank was leaking. Called the reception, waited about three hours, nothing was done about it. worst of all, did't get a refund for the second night which I cancelled for obvious reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Breakfast area was very good. Staff very pleasant. Hotel was nice and spacious. Room was nice and roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & PET FRIENDLY

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Reasonable, Clean, Friendly staff and PET FRIENDLY!
Cons: The cigarette smell in the hall on the first floor (probably carpet) Nothing else comes to mind
Location: GREAT location walking distance to one of our best Malls and numerous great eating establishments...from fast food to fancy sit down dining.
We were in a situation where we needed a local hotel FAST, we had a flood in our home and our insurance company told us to find a hotel that was reasonable but comfortable..WE FOUND IT the Clarion was the first one to pop up in my hometown and having never had to stay local I was hesitant because, I have 2 small fur babies that go where we go and I thought I would have a hard time being a clean freak (when it comes to hotels)I was also hesitant but, both were put to rest when we made reservations and upon arrival we were met by the nicest people and most accommodating staff. We were given a lovely pet friendly room. We have been ask by our insurance company where we would like to stay for the next week or two CLARION without hesitation our answer. If,I had ONE complaint it would be that the first floor smells a little of smoke (but the room did not) If, I have company from out of town and have no room I will send them to the CLARION Federal Way One side note: this being a pet friendly hotel? you would NEVER know it no pet odors of any kind ( they have set aside the first floor for pets)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well satisfied

Posted May 6, 2014
Location: Easy to get to right off I-5
I was well satisfied with this motel. I thought the price was right on target, GREAT breakfast each morning, everything seemed new, great attitude from all staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Location: Tacoma dome - concerts
Friendly staff. Everything we needed. Went for a concert. Not familiar with area but staff helpful and cheerful. Good recommendations for shopping and dinner. Great internet and printer access. Nice lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacey from Pullman, WA

Good location, great value.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, good full breakfast selection, great location and view of Mt. Ranier.
Cons: Do something about that vacant lot next to the parking lot. And why not have the bar open on Sundays?
Location: Great location, close to I-5, shopping and decent restaurants.
I had requested a room on an upper floor as I was there for a job interview the next morning and did not want to have people walking overhead, but was given keys to a ground-floor room. When I pointed this out, the desk clerk contacted housekeeping to see if any rooms were ready on the second floor, then gave me new keys. I hauled the luggage cart to the room, only to find there was no bedding, towels, etc. Went back to the desk, he then asked housekeeping if there were any rooms on the third floor and gave me keys to a new room. When I arrived, the door was open. A housekeeper came up to me and said the room I was to stay in was across the hall. Of course, I did not have keys to that room, so she went downstairs to get new keys for me. But the staff was very polite, the room was clean and comfortable, and I had a great view of Mt. Ranier. However, I did notice that there were homeless people living in the brush at the edge of a vacant lot adjacent to the hotel parking lot, which made me a little nervous about having my car parked there. The full breakfast was fine, better than most hotels in this class, with a decent selection. I would recommend this hotel, but Clarion may want to think about purchasing the adjacent lot and clean it up. It is conveniently close to I-5, a large mall and there is a good selection of chain restaurants nearby. On a side note, the bar is apparently closed on Sundays. Darn!