Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N. Virginia

Perfect Location for Tadoussac Whale Watching

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: a/c in the rooms.
Location: Whale watching, sitting on the Adirondack chairs and soaking in the amazing views. Shuffle board, tennis, relaxing:)
We were a bit surprise to find that a ferry was required to get to this charming little city. (ferry is free, there is just a long line to get on if you get there later in the afternoon). Hotel Tadoussac is a blast from the past. The room we stayed in was tiny and the bathroom reminded me of a lodge in the wilderness, but it is a quaint resort with many wonderful amenities. Since we speak very little French, the front desk was very helpful in helping us arrange the necessary ferry ride to our next destination. I had not realized there is no A/C in the rooms and we were there in August so it got a little toasty - even with the ceiling fan running. We never ate at their restaurant instead we visited the local eateries. Our fav was Le Cafe Boheme - inexpensive in comparison and very friendly w/great food. I recommend this hotel if you plan to book the whale watching from Tadoussac as it is an easy walk to the dock from the hotel. All in all, it was a fun stay and we would go back to Hotel Tadoussac.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marilyn from Pennsylvania

Wonderful location to go whale watching and hiking

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was wonderful. Great little resturants within a block of hotel. Very small village with a few gift shops. Great park for hiking and birding three miles away, but you have to ask about it. Hotel doesn't put brochures out. When driving from Quebec City it will take about 3 hours to get to Tadoussac. Take the route along the St. Lawrence River. No one tells you that the road runs out and you have to take a free 10 minutes ferry to reach town. 10 degrees colder on the water. Take layers, gloves and hat. Went in mid September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kissal from vercheres

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was nice, food could be better and servers are so-so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dominique from Montreal, QC

Main hotel in Tadoussac

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Great hotel location right by the water in Tadoussac, a small town at the mouth of the Saguenay River on the St. Laurence River, the perfect place to go whale watching with one of the several cruises. Our room and the hotel in general, although very clean, would benefit from some renovation. The morning buffet brunch was exceptionally good, with finely prepared local products, one of the best that we ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gwen & Frank from Startford, Ontario

Great View

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were quite happy with what amenities the hotel offered, the comfort and cleanliness of our room, and the view of the river. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Book excursions elsewhere

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: It is a lovely example of hotels of this vintage, and is overall quite well-maintained. The staircase is lovely, the public areas very inviting.
Cons: Lose the drapery in the dining room - the room is beautiful! Add an omelette station and fresh waffle machine to the buffet.
Location: Sleepy town, but lots to see if you love to hike, bike, whale watch, etc.
Although we were pleased with the overall welcome and comfort of our stay at Hotel Tadoussac, there are a couple of things we would caution others about. The hotel breakfast is very expensive for what it is - a basic buffet breakfast. Also, if you want a true zodiac expereince when you go whale watching, don't book through the hotel, in spite of the fact that it includes their breakfast. Although they sell it as a zodiac experience, we arrived to find a 'zodiac-like' boat - a larger, steel boat without the speed or agility of a true zodiac. Disappointing! Also, the details of the fiord cruise were not as clear as they could be, in spite of the fact that we asked about the exact route. It was still a worthwhile trip, but we would have loved to know what to expect in terms of how far we were going into the fiord.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Toronto

Charming hotel in pretty town

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Very convenient to docks, beach and town.
Cons: Need more staff at front desk and larger restaurant for hotel guests that can't get a reservation in town.
Location: HIking, whale watching tours, enjoying local food.
We booked the rooms rather late and there were only rooms that had a three person occupancy. We wanted to do the whale watching cruises, so ended up having to book two rooms as we were a family of four. So it was rather expensive. But, I understand that it was high season and they don't have a lot of business after the summer. We asked for two adjoining rooms and got them, which was very nice. As other people have mentioned, their isn't any air conditioning, but its very cool at night, so its not an issue. Our rooms were on the second floor and while there is a small elevator that goes up there, there were two small, three step flights of stairs to navigate before our room. We didn't try the spa or their restaurants. The restaurants are very busy and I suggest that you book a reservation for dinner in a restaurant either in the hotel or in town before arriving. The staff were nice, and didn't laugh at my trying out my very rusty high school level french. There's a lot of stressed out people in the lobby in the mornings. That is because the front desk and the restaurant get really busy in the morning with people trying to get breakfast and checked out in time to catch the shuttle for the morning whale watching cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ron from Israel

Close to the cruises departure site

Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite old and needs renovation. Our room was very far from the elevator and involved using stairs which is very inconvenient when you have luggage, especially when you are not so young anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by andré from Montreal

not a good experience

Posted Aug 26, 2013
the rooms are small without any air conditioning, so you open windows only to be waked by either noisy clients or early crows. I do not mind paying for my comfort but in this case I paid a very high price for much less. If you sit on the edge of the bed with another person the bed will tilt. Even the little bottles in the bathroom were taken away the second day.The only good thing was the buffet the food was great and the price acceptable at 42 dollards a pop.. In conclusion I wouild not go back nor recommend to my numerous friends to go there to stay.