Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Got the view Matisse painted.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: That it is actually in Papeete and not a segregated enclave of tourists. It's the real place.
Cons: Hopefully the new container bin port will not stay across the bay. You are not at the beach here but you are steps away from great rowing.
Location: Good location for pearl shopping, exploring the downtown and night life. Handy enough by cab to the airport; right beside cruise ship docks.
At first we were skeptical, but the place grew on us. If you want North American standards, go to the big hotels out of town. If you want an authentic Papeete experience stay here. Ask for an outside corner room for an amazing view of Moorea. Ignore the main street--you won't hear it after hours. Lobby is a breezeway; you have to turn on your room's air conditioner. Speaking French helps with the front desk staff but they try hard. Great location, if you are interested in the downtown. Easy walks to supermarkets. If you want golf and private beaches go to the big hotels. Lovely parks in three directions, shopping everywhere.If you want golf and private beaches, go to the big hotels instead. Acquaintances of ours who did so somewhat regretted not having our location here for at least part of the time on island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from Western Australia

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Very Tahitian in style. central to everything. They have smokers accomodation
Cons: Maybe a fridge in the room.
Location: Central location everything is nearby shops, restaurants, markets, banks and tour company.
It was an ideal location. walked to the markets the shops and the restaurants. Our cruise ship docked opposite and we walked to the ship. Could not have been more perfect.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by kjjohns22 from UK

Disappointed

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived on a late night flight from Hawaii and checked in late Saturday night. We had a reservation for two nights but checked out after one and headed to Moorea a day early. This was only partly due to the hotel although it was very very basic we were more disappointed with Papeete itself than the hotel. If you need a place to just crash and have a shower for a night before boarding a cruise ship then this place might fit the bill just don't expect much from it or Papeete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edward Martinez from Los Angeles

Convenient to Cruise Terminal - Adequate

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel as it was within walking distance to the Cruise Ship landing after my 10 day Island cruise. I stayed two nights. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Papeete. Tahiti is very expensive so the cost of the room is commensurate with local hotels. The shopping and local restaurants are all within walking distance. The drawbacks were that there we no English language television channels and the internet was expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Leu from Honolulu

Central location at waterfront

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in central location at waterfront. Rooms have basic, simple, functional furniture and are clean. Personnel is friendly and helpful. Management was cooperative for late checkout. My room had a large balcony overlooking the harbor, but no furniture to make use of the balcony. Bottom line: I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by andre from new zealand

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Staff was alright, but their English was simple and hard to understand.
Cons: Lower the price per room by at least a third.
Location: Location is ideal, close to the city centre and ferry terminal.
I paid a fair price per night and you get a room with a view and a location close to the city centre but thats it. Theres no fridge, only a small simple tv and the hotel is situated next to the main road/highway so you get a lot of traffic noise. Not value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK

Friendly, helpful Staff

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Lack of refrigerator
For a budget hotel this is good - clean, basic facilities but super staff who even found a kettle for us to use as they knew the British liked their tea, so the coffee machine would not suffice! We had a great corner balcony with views of both the port and Moorea
3 out of 5
Recommended
by bjacoby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Portland, OR, USA

Tiare Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2012
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: On the Blvd. Pomare (waterfront street), between the Post Office and the Vaima shopping center. Centrally located (walking distance to everything).
Location in the center of downtown is the best available. Price is attractive compared to its Papeete competition, but overpriced for value-provided when compared to typical offerings in USA (be prepared for everything in French Polynesia to be more expensive than you are accustomed to). Room cleanliness and decor is OK. Liked the balcony. Air conditioner is too week. No wash cloths or little shampoos provided, so bring your own. If you forget, there is a L'Occitane en Provance store 1/2 block away. No in-room mini-fridge. Ice-maker machine is available on the mezzanine level. No on-site restaurant, but there are options close by (we patronized Cafe Retro in the Vaima Center 1 block away, and the rulottes at Place Vaiete which is about 3 blocks ... you can also self-cater from the supermarket called "Casino" about 2 blocks away).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by p mcevoy

Tahiti - Papeete Overnite

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
If arriving late at night, which most flights do, and connecting by the Arameti 5 Ferry to Moorea the next day, the Hotel Taire is the best bang for the buck. Easy walking distance to the new Ferry Terminal, fun walking around Papeete and the Farmer's Market two blocks away. By American standards, pretty basic, but clean and friendly is all you need. Tahiti is expensive, so amenities are usually sparse unless you want to pay resort rates for a one nighter. We've used Hotel Tiare twice in two years and will return again. Cab Fare from the airport to Hotel Tiare is around $30.00 and cabs are plentiful late at night when the flights roll in.