Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent place to stay in Tahiti

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Very clean, well maintained and conveniently located
Cons: Nothing! It was perfect!
Location: Walking distance to the shopping plaza. Don't miss the breakfast at the local bakery! So much to do in Tahiti!
This is the Resort to stay at in Tahiti! It is a beautiful hotel that sits on the only white sand beach of the Island. The rooms are clean, well maintained and comfortable. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. The sand-bottom pool is gorgeous. We snorkeled right off the beach. The resort features three restaurants. Le Carre, is an excellent gourmet restaurant, one of the best of the island. The chef is remarkable! Make sure to enjoy a drink during the Happy Hour Special while watching the beautiful sunset on Moorea. The hotel is conveniently located at walking distance to a shopping plaza where we found a supermarket (buy your water there, it is much cheaper!), restaurants, banks, ATM and others little boutiques, including a bakery, where I highly recommend the breakfast! The hotel offers several tours, activities, night shows. The Island of Tahiti offers incredible scenery and so much to do. We went hiking the Orofero Valley and the Lavatubes! A must to-do! We rented a car and drove around the island. Spending a day shopping in Papeete is fun, enjoy a diner at the roulottes at night and perhaps decide on a tattoo to never forget your stay in paradise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Honest appraisal - Location, Food, Rooms etc.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Really good pool and poolside facilities, free kayak hire is awesome, and the beach swimming is amazing with the fish.
Cons: WIFI, its living in the dark ages, it was so slow I couldn't even load google.com (before a search!) and that's the paid option!
Location: Nice Pizza restaurant next door and close to supermarket helps the food prices, they run a shuttle to the city (for a fee) - go here for swimming.
The location is great, literally seconds from a beautiful beach with clear, clean water and lots of fish for snorkelling, the hotel provides free Kayak and snorkelling gear hire. It is close to a local supermarket - however - there are a couple of areas for improvement, namely the resort food pricing is way over local average prices and really too overpriced for regular meals within the hotel. The room was comfortable if not spectacular - the staff were absolutely fantastic, but don't expect much from the WIFI, extremely slow and only one english speaking TV channel (a domestic japanese news station!). Great if you take your own food, and just want to unwind by the pool, if that's you, then this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel at one of tahiti best beaches.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
very good location.Great show Friday nights.Best restaurant by the beach.Rooms are ample and clean,try to get one with the ocean view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great Views, Services were lacking..

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The Location and the views from the ground are breath taking but the services is poor. We went down to the pool around 1pm and there were no towels or cushions for the chairs, the attendant just shrugged his shoulders and said didn't know if and when towels would be available. The room is nice but very little lighting, A/C blows hard or nothing during the night. The TV had no American stations even though the guide said it did but overall the place was a good place to relax before flying home.
4 out of 5
by Jules from Christchurch, New Zealand

fantastic setting + lots to do at the hotel alone

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: You could do nothing if you wanted. Free books on a big bookshelf left behind by guests. Lots of seats thoughtfully dotted around the stunning garden
Cons: Perhaps two towels per person could be an option. Also our room phone was unusable, static was terrible.
Location: A little complex with supermarket + banks nearby, plus everything from vets, clothes shops, frozen yoghurt & restaurants, altho avoid the restaurants!
The hotel was right on the beach and we ate there for most of our meals after experiencing disappointing dining elsewhere nearby. There was lots to do if we wanted to but instead we preferred to hang out at the pool and in the sun loungers overlooking the stunning view of the beach and the bures. Every day we canooed (snorkelling gear, canoes, table tennis, volleyball gear, aquacise classes and beach towels provided free for guests) and swam and drank non-alcoholic cocktails which were excellent. There is also an affordable hotel shuttle to town and back if needed. The food wasn't as pricey as I expected so overall we didn't spend that much on food even though we ate their beautiful breakfasts, lunches and dinners - I found that to charge it to my room then pay in one big go was cheaper than using my credit card for every transaction because of my bank's fees. The only (mild) disappointment was the housekeeping. Being two long-haired ladies we needed two towels a day each, one for our hair which we washed every day. Constantly had to chase up the two extra towels. Also a couple of times our rooms weren't serviced properly, so more phone calls. However, the staff were excellent overall, the Tahitians are beautiful and sweet people. So coupled with the most affordable and delicious meals, fantastic facilities and staff who bent over backwards for us, it was really fantastic. And of course the weather was gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jim and linda

Friendly warm and welcoming staff, beautiful beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Wonderful staff really warm, welcoming, helpful and informative! Lovely beach gorgous sunsets, clean and clear lagoon with colourful fish. Downside quite a way from papette and expensive to travel there and back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Victoria, BC

Gorgeous property!!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Definitely the pool and the Polynesian dancers
Cons: Easier access to town especially on Sunday
Location: Great grocery store nearby, pharmacy and little restaurant. Really great spot
First time in Tahiti and it was wonderful. The property is a bit further out of town than I thought but the local buses stopped close by (except on Sunday and holidays) but it is stunning. The pool is great, the ocean is beautiful and they have everything you need for all the water sports...no need to bring anything.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Looksee99 from Sydney

3 Star experience at 5 star prices

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having just returned for a wonderful 7 day cruise of French Polynesia I was very disappointed in our stay at this hotel. My first room was a deluxe garden room. There was certainly nothing deluxe about this room. It was dark and dingy with dated décor, grubby curtains, marked paint work, and old and tired looking bathroom with a shower that barely functioned, the balcony door was almost impossible to open and when outside the furniture was ratty with a large hole in the chair seat. On my second stay I stayed in a deluxe lagoon view room. This was supposedly a ” renovated” room. The bedside light had a large hole and crack in the shade, the laminate top of the desk/table was blistered and cracked. However, on the plus side, in both case the beds were comfortable. Come on Starwood – you can do better. The Le Meridien Tahiti is not worth the money you charge for a very 3 star experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shoegal from London

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were absolutely wonderful, definitely one of the most friendliest places I have visited. Amata was especially helpful and kind to us.
Location: We participated in many activities including various water sports,a tour of the island,a sunset cruise and a day trip to Mo'orea,a neighbouring island
My husband and I stayed Le Meridien Tahiti from 01 May 2014 - 10 May 2014, the purpose of our trip was our Honeymoon. We stayed in one of the overwater bungalows during our stay, I highly recommend these as they are truly amazing for comfort, views and off course great pictures. There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel that serve very good food but if you wish to explore there are also a few good places to eat in the area. The hotel also puts on lively and spectacular evening shows whilst you are enjoying your meal, a great atmosphere. The hotel location is peaceful and located in beautiful surroundings. The weather was great during our stay which helped make our Honeymoon a true paradise holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com