Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janka

It's a great hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Definitely the service and the staff
Cons: Food at the restaurant and maybe new paint of the hotel
Location: not much to do nearby because this hotel is in the middle of the financial district
We booked this hotel not knowing that this in the middle of the financial district, nevertheless, we went ahead and stayed here. We expected very little of the hotel because it's a no frills hotel right smack in the middle of banks and banks. BUT, the hotel staff, who knew very little english, the doorman JASON, and everyone, were very very very helpful. The rooms looked like we were in a four star hotel. The look of the room is so much better than the outside appearance of the hotel. The rooms were bright, spacious and the bed was comfortable. We asked for extra pillows, and extra blankets and just about anything extra and they were just so willing to give it to us. The breakfast was "edible" so to speak and can do better BUT the overall experience at this hotel more than made up for the lack of variety at the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from Palo Alto

Nice but small

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was ok. The wall was thin so you can easy hear the noise your neighbors generated. The room is small. The price is reasonable though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by christina from usa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucia from Bay Area, CA

Great location, excellent services!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frequent Traveller from Toronto, Canada

Good location - quiet but convenient

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found the staff service very good. Location is 1 block away from subway station and also across the street from the airport shuttle bus stop. We were not too happy with the room they gave us as it was an older, non-renovated room and carpet curled up a bit here and there and it looked dirty. We stayed for 1 week and 2 days before leaving, water started to drip from the air-conditioner unit in the ceiling. Service man came soon to fix it, but the next day, another spot near the air-conditioner dripped again. We were very unhappy and they changed us to a bigger room and a renovated one - what a big difference that made our stay even for just our last night stay there. They should not have given out the first room to anybody at all. Other than that, everything else was very good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wai Chun (Angela) Turnbull from Sydney, Australia

Excellent friendly service

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Gala Hotel for a total of 7 nights, before & after our tour to Central & Southern Taiwan. We were not disappointed ! The room was very clean & serviced everyday. The room is well equipped with modern furniture. Complimentary bottled water was given everyday. The hotel is very close to the MTR, ( underground train) so it is easy to explore Taipei from there. There is an Airport Bus stop near the hotel as well, so it is easy to get to & from the airport to Gala Hotel. There are a lots of convenience stores, restaurants & cafes near by. The hotel also offer free Wi-Fi & good buffet breakfast was included with our booking. All staff are very friendly & helpful with suggestions. Highly recommend this hotel to friends & relatives & will come back to this hotel for sure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by E from Singapore

Rooms are good size but lacks service

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in between 2 MRT stations which is nice. The hotel lobby and reception area lacks. It definitely was disappointing when we arrived. The hallways of the hotel is dark, but the rooms were definitely good size. My recommendation is not eat in the cafe as service is really poor. People are slow and settings are not set and when you ask for items they act do busy when there is barely anyone even there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel location; quality service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Thailand

OK, but not special

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Location. Staff generally helpful and friendly.
Cons: Maintenance. Limited English language options on TV
Location: Very close to MRT
The in-room security box was not working in arrival. Maintenance was called in to replace the dud batteries. On second night, we were woken up around midnight due to air conditioner leaking heavily on to floor, requiring a room change. Good location