Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shanghai and london

Well placed 5 star hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Pool and bar and location
Location: A short taxi hop to 101 for shopping. Metro and cinema 5 minutes away. Good local restaurants and a small mall adjacent
Third stay here and though we were not upgraded this time the rooms were good. A lttle small but probabaly only in comparison. Pools, gym and bar good. Near to eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom shanghai and london

Well appointed Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, pool and the small local eateries in the neighbouring street
Cons: Standard rooms are snug
Location: Some good cafes and restaurants just around the corner and a cinema closeby
This hotel provides for all your needs in Taipei. There is a supermarket in the small mall adjacent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Edfrom Jordan

Excellent Service

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, with excellent service, connected to a mall for shopping and in a green area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by stephaniefrom singapore

love the room

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
staff was really friendly and helpful.. great view of the city altho swimming pool was much smaller than what the photos show overall our experience was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Delivered what was promised !

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice room and interior decoration . I paid extra to be upgraded to Horizon floor , for an extra $120 , a worthy investment . You stay at floor 34, 35 , 36 and have access to Horizon lounge with business facility , unlimited drinks and snacks and looking to Taipei 101 . Between 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm happy hours you also get unlimited wine and small dishes of nice meals and compldnentary breakfast buffet . This is a nearly identical package I had at Sydney's Shangri-La , but I have to say that Sydney's view is much more spectacular due to Harbor view and opera house . The hotel is connected to a shopping mall and is about $4 taxi ride to Taipei 101 . I certainly will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel all around.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Travelled with kids. Very professional staff, exceptional hotel, great hotel restaurants, convenience of next door mall and Starbucks. Staff was very good at knowing what we needed before we even asked. Definitely will stay at Shangri-La in the future whenever there is one available at travel location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Toddfrom USA

Tons of walking adventures, perfect service

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I LOVE this hotel. We stay here every time we are in Taipei. The staff and service are perfect. They will bend over backwards to make sure everything is exactly how you like it. You will see mostly business people here, but we find it is excellent for families. The concierge and front staff are super friendly and have deep knowledge. Honestly, every staff member is great, but we especially love head concierge Jeffrey. You can find sooo many cool little things to do and eat within walking distance. LOVE the location! This is perhaps the most desired urban center real estate in Taiwan for a reason, I guess. We found little Japanese places, groceries, milk tea places, and what my wife and I agree is the best night market in Taiwan (not the biggest, but the cleanest and tastiest). It goes on and on. Facilities are great too: great health center, trainers/spotters, huge hot-tub/pool (separate for men and women), bakery on site, high tea, really nice room views (especially upper half of the hotel), top-floor restaurant and also bar, ... Overall, we return for the service first and location second. Final note: They are (quietly) renovating/updating the room decor. A few floors are remaining, so you might get a room which is slightly dated. We personally don't mind, but we haven't seen the new rooms yet so we can't tell you what the changes are. We will post a new review when we do. If we could give them a 6/5 we would!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Million-Milerfrom Fremont CA

Still a good hotel, but deteriorating

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Room layout and big windows are definitely the best among most hotels.
Location: Noticed more high end and gourmet restaurants opened up in nearby street.
Facing fierce competition among newer luxurious hotels in Taipei, Far Eastern got catch up to do, but it went the other direction. Noticed reduced items on the used-to-be excellent breakfast buffet was a surprise for me. It probably won't save much for the hotel. Everything else seems remained the same. Other than at Horizon Floor, staff elsewhere are very pleasant.