Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Good location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: I liked the amount of restaurants located inside the hotel.
Cons: Advertise to the public that there is a lot of construction going on at the hotel right now. From 8am to 8pm it is loud from the construction workers.
The hotel was located in the heart of the city. There were tons of shopping within two blocks. My biggest disappointment about this experience was the laundry service. I had them clean two days worth of clothes. Not a big deal until I receive the bill. It was $120 for laundry service. If I had known the price I would not have used their services. I complained about it, but they didn't care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was generally clean though room was a bit dated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julie Fry from USA

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
over all is fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jimmy from Ningbo, China

Convenient bus service from Airport

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Direct bus access from the Airport. Also fresh fruits served in room daily:-)
Cons: Make a better front desk will definitely be an improvement:-)
Location: Go to the large bookstore and department store nearby.
I stayed there while for a conference in Taipei. It is a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Unsatisfied Suite customer from Taipei

Dated hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a hotel with rather old-fashion layout with small LCD TVs when others have already gone to using LED TVs with basic Hifi system in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Woolas Hsieh from California

Needs serious upgrade to be competitive

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I go to Taipei often, and Howard Plaza is always my first choice. But it needs some serious upgrade, from its main lobby to every floor, every room. It was built long time ago and it's obvious. I stay there mainly because of its location, and maybe for its Taiwanese style services. It's nice. The restaurants are not that great but expensive compares to what you can get for the same price if you go out. But you can't be a the location though. It's centrally located in the most beautiful street in Taipei. I'd still stay there next time, but just wish the owner would spend some money renovating the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Peter from Melbourne

Arrogant and unhelpful staff

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: nothing because of the staff
Cons: Staff training ,to be more professional . you are suppose to be a decent hotel.
At the reception desk, we were directed to the VIP check in desk as we have booked the rosewood suite room.Ok so far,but the moment we sat down ,the hard sell was applied saying that although we have book a room for 2, only 1 break first was provided ,the woman spent the next 15 minutes trying to sell us the break first. The next morning we told reception that the room was very cold and although we set the temp at 23 degrees it seem to be stuck at 16 degree with high fan setting,we were told we must have done it wrongly and they gave us instruction,that night even following their procedure, the room remained very cold.we called house keeping and they sent someone to adjust the the setting, after 15 mins, the aircon was still blowing cold air and the technician told us as that as the room was big and with a separate lounge room it will take an hour for the temp to raise 1 degree(What bulldust), the following night as my wife was starting to have a cold,we called h/keeping again. this time they brought along a column heater to heat up the room, and suggested that we can keep the bedroom door close and when we use the lounge room we can wear a jumper. Imagine staying in a room with the aircond at full blast and using a column heater to keep the temperature even.That was the final straw and we checked out on the fourth day. the staff was not helpful and always seem very eager to sell us a daily package tour, their business centre staff could also do with a course on profession...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by G Man from Texas, USA

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Noisy neighbors, smoking, drunk in the hall way (I lived on 6th floor). Should have better security control. Working/cleaning crew are good. Hotel personnel are professional and good attitude. Above average hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Monica from London

Great Hotel

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was very pleasant, the hotel is quite new and modern. Everything works well. The staff are very efficient and polite. The room was very spacious and modern and the bathroom had a bath a separate shower cubicle and one of those smart toilets. The hotel offer complementary fruits and news papaers every day. The only thing that wasn't quite right was the bed. the mattress was a bit hard, although I tend to like it firm this one made my back ache quite a bit. The only downfall of this hotel are the guest of neighbouring rooms who open the windows to fool the smoke detectors and smoke leaving a stench that filter behind the doors.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com