Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Sydney

Good comfortable hotel

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly service
Cons: Carpet cleaning
Location: It quite far from most attractions, but taxi are fortunately very cheap. There good food nearby too.
Generally pretty clean and tidy hotel. Found no major issues. Carpets could use a clean thought. Staff were very friendly and most helpful. Buffet breakfast was relatively good compared to other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a. v. from california

excellent

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: western breakfast
Location: good location
everything in the hotel was very good and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jess from Singapore

Metro Hotel (:

Posted Aug 9, 2013
The concierge were friendly and very helpful. Upon hearing that it is our first trip to Taipei, they jumped enthusiastically at the chance to help us locate the sights that are a must-see and go, as well as how to get there. They remembered our names from the point we check-in, never failing to say good morning and good evening to us! Our rooms were very clean and made up very fast. We would head out for breakfast, and within the hour, when we came back, our rooms were cleaned and beds were made! Overall a wonderful experience and I would love to come back here to stay again! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joei from Singapore

Our Metro Hotel stay

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: The efficient service and friendly staff.
Cons: The morning breakfast buffet food and amount available for people staying in the hotel.
Location: I love it that the hotel is quite near to Shilin Night Market so we can easily take a cab back to the hotel at the end of the day when we are tired.
Every hotel front desk staff is very helpful and keen in assisting us with directions and our plans for the day. The restaurant staff also makes conversations with us and is very helpful and welcoming.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Harley

Problem: Solo Travel in a Group Travel City

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
When I first arrived, they did not have the room I reserved 3 months ago and wanted to give me a room in the basement. And for my final day, they told me a pipe burst and I would have to move to the Vienna Hotel, a lower rated hotel. In each instance, I objected, and they provided the room I reserved and paid for up front. Metro deliberately tried to give me a lower quality room than I paid for. I do not recommend the Metro Hotel. Note how many of the reviews for Metro and other hotels in Taiwan are from Asian travelers who are likely to be in a tour bus/group. I believe Metro tried to shortchange me on my reserved room because they over committed on their tour groups and Westerners are a less important revenue stream, hence I was deliberately lied to by the front desk staff. The breakfast was just OK, less quality than one would expect for a hotel of this type. Also, wifi only works in the restaurant/reception area, not in the rooms. Really, for a few hundred dollars they could add a router to each floor instead of inconveniencing everyone to hover in the reception area. Room Tip: Check who provided the review: someone in a tour group or an independent traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Close to Songshan Airport

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Metro Hotel is a six minute taxi ride from Songshan Airport. Its located just a block from a bakery, 7-11 convenience store, and many good small local restaurants. Its about a 15 minute walk to the closest metro rail station (which we used going to Taipei's famous Night Market). The staff is friendly, helpful, and speak English. The only negative is that they don't have wifi service in all the guests rooms, only in the lobby. Once they get wifi, it will be ideal for those who like to get out and explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

New, well furnished room / business hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a well furnished, quiet room.Well padded carpeting, comfortable bedding (nice pillows) and dark wood panels with warm light creates a very relaxing environment. Nice dining halls. The breakfast menu is wonderful, especially the Taiwanse style congee breakfast. The breakfast menu price was higher than others, but it was included in the room rate. The guest floor walkway was a too dark, it may be well intended for the mood/ hotel scheme, but study the emergency evacuation map ahead of time- just in case.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice little hotel, in the government business area

Posted Dec 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
Rooms are clean, helpful staff, and a great little breakfast area for Chinese style breakfast with some western touches. Would stay here again anytime. There are many others that charge the same or little more, but don't measure up to what this place gives you. Almost forgot, the AC works great unlike most of the other places (except American brand hotels in Taiwan.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very convenient

Posted Oct 29, 2011
The lobby doesn't seem very fancy fancy type of hotel, but the room is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located. You can take the MTR one street away from the hotel.