Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hong Kong

Deserves better rating... And a better picture

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Went with family and was pleased. Food was good, staffs were friendly, view was great, rooms were clean. Only thing about it is its location, it's about 3 minutes driving from the main street. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to visit and stay

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The views, the friendliness of staff, the options available and the overall experience.
Cons: The beds, like those in many Japanese hotels and onsens, are quite hard.
Location: Takayama has some historic streets which are well worth wandering through. You an also organise a bus trip to Shirakawa-go to look at Gassho houses.
The Associa Resort is set high on a hill above Takayama and offers impressive views over the valley and to the mountains beyond. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable, have free WiFi and are clean and in good order. We stayed for two nights in January 2015 and would recommend this hotel to couples and families. There are three restaurants in the hotel complex - we at at the Japanese Restaurant on the sixth floor and enjoyed our meals. The hotel also has a good spa and offers an "onsen style" experience with its baths which are entered from the sixth floor. A shuttle bus runs between the hotel and Takayama station on an hourly basis.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 名古屋

立地

Posted Jan 4, 2015
高山市街地からは多少離れているが、駅まで無料のシャトルバスがあり便利。 少なくとも露天風呂からの景色は楽しめるがそれ以外はこれといって特徴はない。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

A very comfortable and spacious hotel in Takayama

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Lovely hotel overlooking Takayama. The shuttle bus into and out of town works really well. The rooms are really large and were great for our family of five. The only issue was the beds are too hard. Buffet breakfast was lovely and beautifully set up. Rooms were very quiet and had a lovely view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Value Stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Though not the newest hotel in Takayama, it is really a well maintained property and has large rooms. Saw a number of tour coaches parked upfront, but the sheer size of the property meant that it was still quiet and comfortable. They manage the shuttle to town very nicely, and the moment it gets overcrowded, they despatch another. Do your shopping in town though because there are no shops in the vicinity of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old world hotel with a fantastic views

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The views of the mountains.
Location: Shinohataka ropeway is an easy day trip by local bus & Shirakawa-go village is also a half day easy local trip
The hotel has a terrific view of the snow capped mountains & is worth it for that. The staff were helpful & we had no issues. The hotel is a little out of town & the bus timetable can be a bit limiting however we elected to catch a taxi home at Y1200 and it suited us fine. Rooms are very big & clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom usa

Nice hotel, good shuttle service

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Breakfast very good. Rooms good too. Takayama is an interesting town. Very Japanese experience short of a ryocan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Resort Hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the spa baths, really everything.
Cons: nothing significant
Location: It is just a little too far out of town for walking to the sightseeing, but the shuttle runs once per hour to the JR station. It is a spa resort.
The free shuttle picked us up at the JR station; it ran once per hour all day for visits to and from downtown. The hotel is about 2 Km from the city center. The deluxe room was big and clean. The spa baths were hot and relaxing. Restaurant menus ran from inexpensive up to the high end, something to suite every appetite. The included breakfast was very adequate and good tasting, but not luxurious. The view from our 9th floor room of the nearby hills and the town were really nice. The fall colors were beautiful. Take advantage of the free 2 hour guided tour of the old town from the tourist information office with one day advance reservation. The walking course through several Temples and Shrines was also interesting. If you go to Takayama, this is a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Justinefrom Perth, Western Australia

Enjoyable stay

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is out of town a little ways but they run a complimetary shuttle to & from the JR station. We arrived before check in time but were able to leave our cases at a cafe just outside the train station & our bags were delivered to the hotel beforehand - an excellent arrangement! The lobby & restaurants are very impressive & breakfast was a varied & well-stocked buffet selection. The rooms are very large by Japanese standards & pleasantly-appointed. Service very professional - the shuttle drivers, reception staff, everyone. Very clean & comfortable.