Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yokofrom 愛知

次回は秋に!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
夏にとても快適に過ごせたので、今回は敢えて冬を選んでの滞在でした。 客間には炬燵が暖まっており、窓の外は一面の雪景色。 接客も食事もお風呂も囲炉裏も、すべて満足でした。 布団の下に床暖房が入っており、それが寝苦しかったのですが、私以外は気付かず安眠出来たようです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Austin, Texas

Phenomenal ryoken - and the highlight of our stay

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Phenomenal ryoken - and the highlight of our stay in Japan. Would absolutely recommend staying here if you want an authentic Japanese experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elainefrom Yountville, CA

Traditional and serene

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights and were treated with traditional gracious Japanese hospitality. The proprietress and her staff did everything to make our stay memorable and comfortable. The ryokan is located about 20 minutes from Takayama along a rushing stream; they have a car service so transportation is not a problem. The kaiseki and sukiyaki dinners were beautiful and scrumptious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Authentic, peaceful charm

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Nearby Takayama has old streets, shop houses offering mainly food or tourist items, some interesting galleries, a samurai house museum and shrines
Staff were wonderfully friendly, interested and helpful. The setting is peaceful and beautiful but you need their shuttle-bus to get to town and walking trails. The food was fantastic. Everything showed personal attention to detail and care about maintaining the heritage atmosphere. It was all that I had hoped to experience in Japan. We stayed in the old main building and had meals in several different rooms with subtly different ambience. One other couple were in the same large space at dinner with our areas separated by screens to preserve privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stays in Ryokans are very expensive and are worth it for one night but not really for any longer than that. I was delighted I choose Wanosato for my Ryokan experience, staff were really nice but have limited english which is to be expected in rural Japan. They upgraded us since they had a cancellation which was a nice touch and were really friendly and accomodating. Overall I could not fault it for anything and highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brussel

Unieke Japanese ervaring

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: De authenticiteit van begin tot het einde. geen frutsjes, maar alles teruggebracht tot de essentie.
Cons: Meer busjes per dag tussen Takayama, en de ryokan zou nuttig zijn.
Location: Takayama is 20 minuten rijden met de wagen. Er zijn slechts enkele busjes per dag.
Met onze familie hebben we enorm genoten van ons verblijf in dit hotel. De onsen, de kamer, de vriendelijke ontvangst, de verzorgde maaltijden met soms echte kunstwerkjes, en dat alles in een uniek kader. het was een terugkeer in de tijd. Pure kalmte en rust. Prachtige ervaring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

The most relaxing place we have stayed

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Wanosato is probably the romantic Japan everyone in the west is looking for. Takayama also exceeded our expectations as a place to visit whilst staying at Wanosato with a lot to entertain our children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by fredfrom tokyo

Very good food and very nice

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great, overall the atmosphere of a traditionnal ryokan...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful ryokan experience

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff great location setting and food outstanding. Fantastic ryokan experience
Location: Shirakawa-go World heritage village was also worth a visit
Food outstanding, very comfortable ryokan and setting was peaceful besides river in beautiful gardens forest