Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

St Olav Hotel, 5 Lai, Tallinn, Estonia

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Room temperature, it is too hot and stifling in the summer. The doorlock is really old and needs replacing.
Location: Location is perfect, right in the centre of old town. Landline Ferry to Helsinki is only 20min walk away.
Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in mid July. The hotel is old, converted from a 15th century mansion house apparently. I stayed at the ground floor in a room facing the second court yard. The room is hot with no air con. As it is a ground floor room, the window has to be kept closed at all time. Also for the sake of privacy, the window curtain has to be let down to stop passersby peeping into the room. The temperature in my room was well over 30C throughout my stay. The room also smells a bit due to the situation described above. On the positive note: the hotel is centrally located closed to major attraction sites. Lindaline ferry to Helsinki (ideal for a day out) is only 20min walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel but no wireless in the room

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel location was excellent. Right in the old town but a bit away from the busiest parts. The room and bathroom were small and cramped. The wireless was nonexistent. We had to use our laptop in the lobby. We complained over 3 days but there was no improvement. Also, there is a disco in the hotel. We were away from the noise so we were fine but we heard from some guests who were quite upset. The hotel lobby also provides washrooms for the disco so the partiers were in and out of the lobby all night. As for the rest, the room was immaculate and the breakfast was good. An okay hotel, just ask for a room away from the disco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut

score 2

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: n0thing
Cons: General clean up and professional employees
Location: The only positive aspect is the position in the heart of the very fascinating old Tallinn
Poor service, unprofessional management, dirty and noisy, to be avoided !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrey from Moscow

Good value for money

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location. No lifts and narrow stairs. Decent breakfast, friendly staff. Room was small and clean. Absence of air conditioning may negatively impact stay during hot days. The hotel is real vintage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie & Barry from Stockport

Lovely, quirky hotel in the heart of the old town.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent location - right amongst lots of bars and restaurants, and very close to the main old square.
Cons: We had no problems during our stay at this hotel.
Location: Central location. Surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops. We found a great pub "Hell Hunt", serving a huge variety of beers and good quality food.
We loved staying in this hotel. The decor is interesting, with exposed stone work, lots of nooks and crannies, beams and subdued lighting. The place is crammed with lovely antique furniture and curios. The winding corridors give the place character. Our room was airy and spacious, although the bathroom was very small and cramped. The room was located on the second floor, just off a courtyard, from which the breakfast room can be reached. We found this location to be quiet. Breakfast was good, and was quickly replenished as things ran out. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels provided, daily. As the weather was very warm, we were glad to find a fan in the wardrobe, which was a help, as the rooms are not air-conditioned. Altogether, a very pleasant hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Texas

Hotel in historic building in Old Town

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Price and location and it's in a historic old building
Cons: The interior is a little dated, but that's part of the quirky charm of this hotel
Location: It's in Tallinn's incredible Old Town, just a few minutes' walk to the main square. I enjoyed the Adamson Eric Museum and a fabulous meal at Dominic.
St Olav is a great place to stay as it's in an interesting old building in the Old Town and a short walk to the main square. I got a great deal on a room with a view of the inner courtyard and I could see some of the beautiful old buildings/church towers of the Old Town from my window. The service was excellent and I appreciated the free wireless internet and the free breakfast. The interior of the hotel is a bit worn and old, but that's part of the charm. I'm glad I stayed in a hotel within the walls of this incredible UNESCO designated Old Town. It's great to just wander around and there are a lot of excellent restaurants, museums, churches, and other things to see and do and experience.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Cmontoya from San Jose, California

Not clean and smells bad.

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in a great location and located right in the middle of Old Town. Problems: room was not clean. Hair and fleck of plant matter on sheets. Floor was dirty and bed board and night stand were dusty. Bed was too large for the room, one had to shimmy between foot of bead and wall to get to the bathroom. Bathroom floor floods when taking a shower making the floor very slippery. Room smelled musky. No privacy lock on entry door so staff could enter anytime. Staff were nice but issues with room were not fixed
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin A from Copenhagen

Old, dusty, poor customer service

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were extremely disappointed with the quality of this hotel. We were first given a room with 2 single beds, even though we had requested (and paid extra) for a room with a double bed. We pointed out the error, and the receptionist gave us a new room but seemed annoyed by our request. We walked into the hotel room and were almost overpowered by the dusty/musty smell + the stench of sewage coming from the bathroom drain. There was no ventilation in the room. To make matters worse, the walls are paper thin, and there is a karaoke bar inside and underneath the hotel. Our room opened onto a patio that was used by the bar patrons, which means that we couldn't sleep because of the noise from the bar (loud karaoke music + people talking/smoking outside). We were hoping at least for a good breakfast, since other reviewers had mentioned it. Unfortunately, we were disappointed again. There was a relatively large selection, but the quality was poor (think store-bought muffins, dry bread, overcooked and lukewarm hardboiled eggs). Will never stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Accommodation

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Very well situated Breakfast Cleanliness of the room
Cons: Adequate curtains. Wardrobe and chest of drawers. Everything to be in working order !
Location: Very well located. Museums, restaurants, shops, transport and bars
Nowhere to put clothes (wardrobe, chest of drawers etc) Inadequate curtain, outside hotel light lit up the room all night. Jacquizi did not work Main light in bathroom did not work Fridge did not work Staff apparently uninterested , even amused , by problems Room kept very clean, bedding / towels changed daily Excellent breakfast Very well situated for the old city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, poor rooms

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Location is fantastic, but the room i stayed in was tiny, had a mouldy smell and no wifi connection. Overall a poor hotel, but makes up for very convenient location.