Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
astonishingly good food and restaurant service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Marin County, CA

Ancient building right on the lake

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Cons: Because it is a historic building, there is no elevator. If you hate climbing stairs, this place is not for you.
We stayed at this hostelry several times in the 1980's and were pleased to find that relatively little has changed. Talloires, like every place else, has grown more crowded and touristy but L' Abbe is still a fine place to stay. Beautiful view over the lake and swimming from the dock. A room facing the lake is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by S Natansohn from USA

Really Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here on our way to the south of France, and wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is right on the lake, which is swimmable and has aquatic rentals nearby. Rooms were fine, but no elevator. We wish there was an affordable snack bar area, but instead there is a more formal restaurant which did not suit our style. Overall, an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric

Beautiful but needs a refresher

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
If this hotel wasn't a 4 star hotel and priced accordingly I wouldn't have been so harsh on the rating. The good things are that it is in an amazingly beautiful location and the Abbaye is a really great place to stay because of its history but while I can understand the the rooms being aged I don't see why the bathrooms can't be redone. The bathrooms looked like they were out of a motel six. The tvs had a max volume that was too low to actually hear, which made sense because the adjacent rooms could be easily overheard. Oh yeah, and the breakfasts are crazy expensive for what you get. That being said, I am extremely happy that I stayed there, would I stay again? Not unless they make some upgrades.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John

Beautiful mountain walks and swimming

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel and location. There is a lack of hot water in the rooms and dont eat in the restaurant. There is only 2 choices for each course and the menue only changes every 10 days! It is outrageously expensive with no bottle of wine on the list below 80 euro. 5 star prices here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Magical

Posted Sep 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
A magical piece of history, with beautiful art and sculpture on display throughout. Bring detailed directions to find your way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil and Helen

Superb Location

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Couldn't have asked for anything more.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by C Klafter

Soul Restoration

Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Abbey is the perfect place to go if you wish to restore your soul in beautiful and peaceful surroundings, I will return.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

the lake is beautiful, but our rooom was horribly

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel cost was very high for few ammenities. I swam in the lake to stay cool, as our room was sweltering, until ten pm. i resent a price fixed menu, ie: 50 0r 90 euros for dinner in the hotel, so we ate elsewhere. the room was small, hot and at the end of the hall. we kept door open and the balcony door, to try and get air. iI would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andy E

Lovely hotel shame about poor value breakfast

Posted Jun 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful, with friendly staff and lovely surroundings. Only down sides were that the jacuzzi was a bit cool and the breakfast was 25euro a head! For a standard continental breakfast this is incredibly poor value for money. Take a tip and avoid it, there are lots of places nearby.