Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Very pleasant stay, staff made very nice. Congrat!

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: The type of construction, the gardens, the gorgeous pool. We were impressed to see the Manager always around the place doing a good job. Helpful staff
Cons: The costumers, unfortunately not very helpful, regardless that the hotel has enough garbage cans at the beach. Maybe if painted different will help !
Location: Enough tours. Our main idea was to rest, and we did have a restful stay. Beautiful location. Other people told us about beautiful beaches nearby.
We used the hotel bus from San Jose, comfortable and excellent service. Reception staff Gonzalo & Alex outstanding. Very pls with the staff in the restaurants and with the cleanness regardless we stayed on a long week end with lots of people. The food was very good as well as the maintenance and cleanness of the room. The gardens beautiful ! The beach, if you walk a few yards to the left you can find a lovely beach with lots of vegetation nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort!!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: The upkeep on the resort is superb. EVERYONE- on the staff contribute to the pleasantness of our stay-from groundkeepers, maids to administrators.
Cons: The only thing I would change would be the loudness during performances at the theater and the lateness of the main program.
Location: Tambor is located on the Pacific with a beach. There is a large variety of activities which are available to guests.
We had a marvelous stay at Tambor Beach. The resort is a terrific place to stay and take in sunshine and warmth. The food more than met our needs. The staff went above and beyond their responsibilities. They mad us feel like family throughout every day. This is one of the main reason that we choose to spend our time in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Denis from Canada

Super hotel on one of Costa Rica's nicest beach

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Even though it is a resort hotel, you are in the wild, on a secluded beach, far away from the noisy type of collective resorts.
Cons: Reduce the music sound at the bar, play less elektro dance music since most of the people there are mature adults
Location: Archery, horseback riding, zip-lining, mini put, full golf next door, tennis, spa,....
I have been to this hotel over half a dozen times. I will be going back again. The grounds are beautiful, the beach superb, the food is excellent and above all the staff is impeccable. We were greeted to our room with a bottle of Champagne and the plate of fresh fruits. Knowing the hotel I chose a room in the 600 series, located fairly far away from the main pools and bar facilities and bordering on the jungle. It was therefore very quiet, we had two patio doors opening on to the sea, private lounge chairs and a complimentary minibar well kepted full. Even though the hotel is a bit away from San Jose, we always enjoy driving down to Puntarenas and taking the 70 minutes ferry ride to the resort. That ferry ride is well worth it, it decompresses you, gives you a chance to slow down and start enjoying you trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Atlanta-Ga

Good times

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Resort (not the beach) and quiet area.
Cons: Better prices.
Location: This is not the best area but, I do recommend to take a tour to Isla Tortuga and Isla San Lucas.
The all-inclusive service is really good but,we think that it does not worth the price paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from NY,NY

Nice Location, Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Amenities were nice.
Cons: Service was a little lacking.
Location: The location is way off the grid. Once you are 10 minutes away from the compound the roads are all dirt. I loved it!
The 5 hour trip from the airport to the resort via ferry was well worth it. The resort was off the radar but had all the amenities. The day trips were great but overpriced. The staff for the most part were great. Some of them refused to try to speak English which was a little upsetting but......when in Rome...... The food was good not great. The weather was awesome! I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs upgrading

Posted Nov 3, 2013
We stood here for 8 days and after the journey we went through to get to this hotel, I expected a lot more. It started out nice till about the 2nd day I started to notice the women staff aren't friendly at all. They seemed almost bothered to be serving me. If you're looking to hang out with nothing but locals you'll love this place. It seemed everyone knew each other and the hotel was surrounded with a bunch of kids. The rooms are very out dated. The beach is decent but if the water is rough you're going to find lot's of garbage on the sand. As far as the restaurants not much selections at all. So you're forced to eat at the buffet for every meal. The food at buffet was actually good until I found a tiny worm in my salad. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Costa Rica it self was gorgeous and I do plan to revisit but I'm definitely not staying a Barcelo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim from Costa Rica

Beautiful resort and beach

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Planned a short 2-day vacation and was overall pleased with the resort. Very relaxing, clean and upscale. The only negative is the food. Not a lot of choices on the buffet ... and pretty much the same everyday. (Pretty pricey for a lack luster buffet.) Wanted to go to the "Steakhouse" and found out that while this is an "All Inclusive" resort, you have to stay 3 nights to use the other restaurants and you need to make a reservation at 8 am for that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Jose from Miami

Ordinary

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: The General Manager and off course the Hotel itself. All staff members need training.
Cons: Train staff to treat guest like people.
Location: Great Canopy and horse back riding.
Lack of experience on all staff members. Too many local people, Security could not handle the locals. ( Not recomended for tourist )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vtbachan from New York,NY

Best Sand!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: All of the maids, food servers and entertainment staff were great and friendly. I love the fact that they cleaned the resort daily.
Cons: Customer service at front desk could be better.
Location: Zip-lining is a must you can book at customer service. Its amazing and you get a tour of the next town over (just walk with $20 to get your photos).
This hotel takes time in getting to but it is well worth it. Its a 3 hours drive some Liberia to the hotel and its about an hour or so flight to the airport they have next door if you buy a connecting flight thru Sansa. (note you can walk from the air strip to the hotel) Overall, the hotel was great loved every bit of it. That being said the management could be a bit better. The front desk staff seemed as if they were really unhappy with their job and at times were not helpful. Our rooms were cleaned everyday mopped out and mini fridge was restocked so I can't complain. There were plenty of pool activities, water aerobics, beach sports, soccer (football), mini golf, tennis courts, archery and even a mini swing and jungle gym set for the kids. The beach is great to boogie board and safe for kids, and in the mornings its amazing to walk on the silky sand.The hotel also offers horseback riding, a small eco-park with a variety of parrots. It also offers a spa with a sauna. As well, as customer service agents to help you with booking excursions. Restaurants were nice the Steak house is the best if you are staying more than 3 days then book the steak house every night....the sushi place is okay (its mostly cooked sushi) but the dessert they offer is great. (note you will have to be online early to reserve for the steak house). Just side note I'm allergic to mushrooms and they made my food separate. Buffet food was okay nothing special.