Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

great place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014
hotel staff was wonderful. the night girl offered to stay a few minutes after her shift to make us breakfast before our early departure. location is good, walking distance to beach. very nice pool and lounge chairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The courtyard area
Cons: Move the fan in the bathroom so the shower curtain doesn't blow into the shower when the light is on. Also include breakfast
Very short walk to town and the beach. Absolutely beautiful grounds. The bed wasn't ideal but still functional.
1 out of 5
by Alyfrom Denver, CO

Equivalent to a Hostel.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness, room conditions, safety (room locks).
Location: Great surfing in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. I strongly recommend Pura Vida Adventures surf camp!
I planned to stay in Hotel The Place one night prior to my surf camp at a different hotel. It was so bad, I check out two hours later and rented another room elsewhere for the night. The staff was friendly, but the pool was not clean. My room was next to the front desk and felt like it should have been a utility closet. The room looked nothing like the photos or a typical hotel room, but rather someone's mediocre spare bedroom. The air conditioning in the room was broken and it was over 100 degrees fahrenheit in the room. Needless to say it was sweltering hot. Also, there was no substantial lock on the door, but rather a simple doorknob bedroom lock. As a single female traveler, I did not feel safe staying there at all. It was extremely overpriced for the quality. I was very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: We loved the easy access to the ocean and the opportunity to learn how to surf. We also loved the variety of birds, plants, flowers and iguanas.
It is a short walk to the beach and the surfing village. The rooms are clean and the pool area is well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by SurfGumbyfrom Houston

Nice hotel close to the beach. Suberb staff

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: The shower had a curtain with blew onto you while showering, which was a little annoying and could have been easily sorted out with some weights.
Location: Montezuma beach was a spectacular surf and sunset gazing beach with a very laid back feel and raw local flavor.
the staff was suberb. they put a lot of resources into the stylish common areas. the dinner and movie night by the pool was very relaxing. Even considering my extra late arrival, the hotel mgmt made sure the security guard had a key to let me in the room at 2am. Fantastic!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and pool

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The Place has an incredible pool and they play movies on a projector screen. Guests lounge around the pool and enjoy the outdoor experience while drinking and snacking on popcorn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Johan Edvall

Utmärkt ställe

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Riktigt fint ställe med nära till beachen. Skön å hjälpsam personal. Åk dit...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the place

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: close to beach, but just off of Mal Pais main road/.
Cons: They nickel and dime you for a lot...
Location: Surfing, shopping, cruising
Was nice. Lots of bugs (different from other places). Is very green, which is good! difficult pathways to the cabanas and everything did not work... but was still doable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenniferfrom Jacksonville

Great Place to unwind

Posted Feb 28, 2014
If you're looking for a luxurious resort style hotel, it's not this one. The rooms here are small, there is no television, and amenities are sparse. However, if you are looking for a place to disconnect from modern convenience and enjoy natural beauty, hospitality and truly understand Pura Vida, stay at Hotel The Place. Everyone we encountered during our stay were sweet and sincere. The hotel has a BEAUTIFUL pool. It's where we spent most of our stay when we weren't on the beach or sleeping. The water was the perfect temperature and the landscaping was made to feel like paradise. Also, it's only a 6 minute walk to the best beach on earth! Im sure there are more accommodating hotels if you're looking for a full-service, modern experience. But in terms of relaxing and slowing down to appreciate the natural beauty of Costa Rica while meeting some awesome people, we couldn't have picked a better spot.