Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The courtyard area
Cons: Move the fan in the bathroom so the shower curtain doesn't blow into the shower when the light is on. Also include breakfast
Very short walk to town and the beach. Absolutely beautiful grounds. The bed wasn't ideal but still functional.
1 out of 5
by Aly from Denver, CO

Equivalent to a Hostel.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness, room conditions, safety (room locks).
Location: Great surfing in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. I strongly recommend Pura Vida Adventures surf camp!
I planned to stay in Hotel The Place one night prior to my surf camp at a different hotel. It was so bad, I check out two hours later and rented another room elsewhere for the night. The staff was friendly, but the pool was not clean. My room was next to the front desk and felt like it should have been a utility closet. The room looked nothing like the photos or a typical hotel room, but rather someone's mediocre spare bedroom. The air conditioning in the room was broken and it was over 100 degrees fahrenheit in the room. Needless to say it was sweltering hot. Also, there was no substantial lock on the door, but rather a simple doorknob bedroom lock. As a single female traveler, I did not feel safe staying there at all. It was extremely overpriced for the quality. I was very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: We loved the easy access to the ocean and the opportunity to learn how to surf. We also loved the variety of birds, plants, flowers and iguanas.
It is a short walk to the beach and the surfing village. The rooms are clean and the pool area is well maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by SurfGumby from Houston

Nice hotel close to the beach. Suberb staff

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: The shower had a curtain with blew onto you while showering, which was a little annoying and could have been easily sorted out with some weights.
Location: Montezuma beach was a spectacular surf and sunset gazing beach with a very laid back feel and raw local flavor.
the staff was suberb. they put a lot of resources into the stylish common areas. the dinner and movie night by the pool was very relaxing. Even considering my extra late arrival, the hotel mgmt made sure the security guard had a key to let me in the room at 2am. Fantastic!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location and pool

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The Place has an incredible pool and they play movies on a projector screen. Guests lounge around the pool and enjoy the outdoor experience while drinking and snacking on popcorn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the place

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: close to beach, but just off of Mal Pais main road/.
Cons: They nickel and dime you for a lot...
Location: Surfing, shopping, cruising
Was nice. Lots of bugs (different from other places). Is very green, which is good! difficult pathways to the cabanas and everything did not work... but was still doable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Jacksonville

Great Place to unwind

Posted Feb 28, 2014
If you're looking for a luxurious resort style hotel, it's not this one. The rooms here are small, there is no television, and amenities are sparse. However, if you are looking for a place to disconnect from modern convenience and enjoy natural beauty, hospitality and truly understand Pura Vida, stay at Hotel The Place. Everyone we encountered during our stay were sweet and sincere. The hotel has a BEAUTIFUL pool. It's where we spent most of our stay when we weren't on the beach or sleeping. The water was the perfect temperature and the landscaping was made to feel like paradise. Also, it's only a 6 minute walk to the best beach on earth! Im sure there are more accommodating hotels if you're looking for a full-service, modern experience. But in terms of relaxing and slowing down to appreciate the natural beauty of Costa Rica while meeting some awesome people, we couldn't have picked a better spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LB from Colorado

Perfect for Mal Pais

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is close to the main drag between Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, but not in the thick of it, a nice get away from the activity of the beach town. Requires a short walk to the beach and into town to get to stores, and restaurants, but nothing out of the ordinary in Costa. Has a great pool, bar and restaurant on site - which ended up being a blessing to us since the two ATMs in the town were out of money and it was a weekend and nowhere else took CC. So we were luckily able to charge to our room at the hotel. Room was very clean, AC worked almost too well. No fridge, wash cloths or small conveniences of that such. But spacious, with a safe which was nice to store the camera, etc. in while out and about. The pool is nice and shaded, giving you some respite from the sun and heat of mid-day. Many reviews we read said the hotel was hard to find, and we found the exact opposite. There is one road through mal pais and one road that goes toward santa teresa (there is a fork at the main road as you come into town and you want to go immediately left towards the Mal Pais fishing docks and the hotel is on your left about 200yds down(the name is advertised very clearly on the side of the road) - do not go towards santa teresa beach. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back next time we go to Mal Pais.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosemary from England

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic staff.Will do anything to help and please you.Very relaxed friendly atmosphere.Suitable for all age groups.