Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: It is small and has very good quality
The perfect place. Very nice location it was difficult to arrive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Libia from Excelente!!

Muy acogedor!!

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente ubicación!! Hasta los bungalows con vista al jardín tienen vista al mar!! Muy acogedor, el servicio muy bueno
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City.

Very nice hotel to relax.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: The bungalows rooms. You can use the pool anytime. The personal hotel attention.
Cons: I was in room 9 and the wi-fi signal does not work.
Location: Is located in front of the beach but in the middle of the forest. The only near store not open after 10:00 PM.
This is a perfect hotel to relaxation, in the middle of beatiful tropical forest. No TV's, phone neither in rooms. I was late and one person was waiting for me, but the restaurant close at 10:00 pm. The poolside bar is the restaurant. I have to wait for the wi-fi password until the next day. The personal attention was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pierre from Lorraine, Qc, Canada

This is heaven in Tambor...

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The "secrecy" of the site...the super quality of the construction...the proximity to nature...
Cons: The joviality of the staff...
Location: Unfortunately, the idea of going on the beach and go into the water is not appealing....But the swimming pool is comfortable...
An oasis where you don't expect it!!! Our eyes widened as soon as we came on the site and so did our smile!!!!
3 out of 5
by diana from tampa,Fl

Beautiful hotel and beautiful area.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Uniquely beautiful hotel built with teak wood. Nice pool.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Location is near Tambor airport, which is a direct flight from San Jose. We went snorkeling in Tortuga Island. Scuba, kayaking are nearby.
The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful, the main problem was that there was no air conditionining in our room. When I booked the room, I had no idea that my room would not have air. Apparently, some rooms do have air. The continental breakfast that was included was very good with plenty of fresh fruit. The beach in front of the hotel was pretty from a distance, but the sand was very dark and not inviting when you got close to it. Being from Florida, where the beaches are beautiful put this beach at a disadvantage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Oregon

Two night stay - March 2014

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Beautiful physical facility right on the beach. Meal service was excellent.
Cons: The weekend staff was uninformed and lacked customer-service skills. Got us off to an uncomfortable start.
Location: Snorkeling tours, fishing. Small National Park up the road with lots of wildlife (monkeys). Best if you're in your own vehicle.
The check-in staff seemed caught completely by surprise when we showed up with our reservation confirmation. No welcome, no information about the facility or possible tours. The place was pretty empty. Only after we got to the room did we learn there was an extra $40 refundable fee to get a room safe key. Over all, the staff was unhelpful. However, the facility is beautiful, upscale. Breakfast by the pool, lovely and well done. We connected with a snorkel tour on a tip from a couple that showed up at the bar the first night..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by janonet from Australia

Beautiful hotel in beautiful gardens

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels
Situated next to the beach at Playa Tambor, this hotel is a wonderful tropical escape. The hotel itself is beautiful designed and set in gorgeous gardens where you can observe an array of wildlife. Close by is Curu National Park for a greater wildlife experience. Prices at the bar and restaurant are very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Charles

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels
Way over priced, beach in appealing go to montezuma
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Mycket vackert hotell

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels
Tyckte mycket om Tambor Tropical men det framgick inte tydligt att vi behövde ta en färja som tog nästan två timmar för att komma till hotellet!!Behöver klargöras! Det tar lång tid att komma dit från San Jose Flygplats!Räkna med 5 timmar inkl färjan som på dagtid är jättetrevlig.