Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig from Houston

Great staff

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff was excellent. short hike to waterfall and secluded beach was beautiful. Curu wildlife, jungle, and beach best part about this area! Secluded with loud surf. The food at dinner is only so so. It would be better if they offered some more traditional CR dishes like arroz con camerones or a fish sandwich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect get away for any occasion

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Absolutely amazing. From the professional and friendly staff to the unbelievable landscape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Free breakfast.
Cons: Wi-fi didn't work very well from our room, but was available and easily accessible in the lobby area.
Location: We stayed in the hotel as it was in a great location by the beach. It is overall in a remote location (a plus for most).
The Tango Mar is a great hotel that is right on the beach. The rooms have ample space and are very comfortable and unique. We had a great view of the beach from our room and everything was close by. The staff was very accomodating, and they even made a special meal for us when we requested it. One thing I would mention is that the roads can be a bit rough getting to the hotel, so if you're travelling from the San Jose area, I would definitely recommend taking the ferry in order to avoid the bad roads. Also, there were bugs, but this is not a fault of the hotel as it is in such a tropical place. There is a nice waterfall hike and a bunch of pools to relax in. I would highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenda from London, UK

Most amazing honeymoon !

Posted Apr 24, 2013
My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in April 2013 and I can honestly say that it was a perfect place to relax, eat great food, visit beautiful places in Costa Rica and experience Costa Rica from a gorgeous residence. We took a few trips around the area visiting Montezuma, ziplining on a canopy tour, visiting waterfalls, and nature reserves, as well as surfing trips around the Nicoya Penninsula, so plenty to do, and all arranged wonderfully. The meals were gorgeous, and the staff are super friendly, very helpful, and were great to talk to. We stayed in a Tiki Beach House right on the beach, which was decked out with a jacuzzi in the room, a few steps to the 3 lovely pools, and a few steps to the beach which is stunning. It's pretty lovely to relax whilst seeing howler monkeys in the trees, iguanas on the wander in the sun, and watch the ocean whilst sipping some great Costa Rican Guaro! - get some of the local firewater in you! Above all having stayed in many places around the world, this was the first time that we have had the owrner of the hotel visit us at dinner each night and make sure that every guest is happy. Hilde is wonderful, and very interested in getting to know you and make your stay perfect. It's pretty lovely to have the person that owns the whole property take the time to speak to you personally each day, it's a lovely personal touch. Make sure you also visit the Isle of Tortuga if you stay here, it's a gorgeous trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Wonderful stay at the Tango Mar.

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: The views from our room, the restaurant and the pool were spectacular:)
Cons: We were 30 minutes away from a surfing beach.
We loved our stay at the Tango Mar. The owner is extremely friendly and went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. The food was good and the staff was the friendliest we encountered in Costa Rica. The view from the room was spectacular! The pools were beautiful and clean (which is not often the case in our Costa Rican experience). The only negative we encountered was that the ocean was too rough for surfing, boogie boarding or even playing in the waves at times. I would highly recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
by Mary from Pa.

Beautiful establishment that has potential

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: The premises and the food
Cons: Service , remoteness of the facility, lack of entertainment
Location: It is on a gorgeous beach, the town is very remote requiring a rental car.
Premises are beautiful but the hotel lacks customer service in most every area. There is no open bar after 10:00pm. No one smiles or says good day unless you do first. There are no sand chairs on the beach unless the guests bring them down themselves. There is absolutely no entertainment at all, no music anywhere on the facility. It is very remote and approximately 30 - 40 min from Montezuma which is the popular town. The reception desk staff were very knowledgable and helpful. Dinner was always very good and very nicely presented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful, remote setting on natural seacoast

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Tango Mar is a very pretty setting in Tambour, CR. Getting there overland is a real hassle and expensive. One disadvantage that I see with this resort is that it is so remote - and if you just want a little change of scene it's a 2 1/2 hour walk to next town or a very expensive taxi ride! It is great for those who want to play tennis, golf, horseback ride, or just plain enjoy the ocean and natural setting, etc. Our oceanfront rooms had the sound of the great crashing waves, and beautiful sunsets from a lovely balcony. The room was perfectly adequate with plenty of storage and comfortable bed. We used the a/c as little as possible, because the unit was located on the deck and so we couldn't be on the deck while it was running (good for drying clothes, though!) The bathroom was spacious but could use a little upgrading. The staff was wonderful. The owner was always available and very nice. She checked in every day to make sure we were comfortable and happy. The kitchen did a very nice job with the menu, and after a week we had sampled almost everything listed. The fish was fresh and outstanding! We used the hotel to book two tours to snorkel and see tropical forests. The guides were knowledgeable and enthusiastic! If you are looking to relax and get away from it all, I would highly recommend Tango Mar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

The best Costa Rica beach hotel I've ever been to

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: the room, the food and the service
Cons: really didn't have any
Location: right on the beach, we had a ocean front room with balcony, awesome.
We were received by a welcome cocktail, great start! The service by everyone involved in the running of the hotel is outstanding. The food is the best I have had in ANY hotel in Costa Rica for a long time. The owner personally get involved and asks several times during your stay if all if well, which on itself is worth 5 stars. The beach is very nice and so is the pool. Free use of two computers for the guests PLUS free wireless. When it rains, they have an umbrella for you. There is a gum, a simple one, but it's there and it has A/C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Excellent property and staff

Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
This resort is better than the pictures. The service and amenities were excellent. The staff was very personal and attentive. The breakfast food buffet in the morning had tremendous variety. We ate numerous times in the evening at the restaurant and were impressed with the excellent presentation of the food, the portion size, fabulous taste, and great service. This resort is a gem! We will recommend it to friends and hope we can someday return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Katie

Beautiful and Amazing !

Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Loved it ! So beautiful ! We had a tiki suite on the ocean and it was amazing. We went to Montezuma a few times and loved that small town. If you are driving through the amazing grounds at night time, make sure to pull over and turn your lights off, there are fire flies everywhere !! It was awesome! We also did the private boat tour which was so much fun and it was whale migration season, so we got to see 7 different pairs of moms with calves. And sea turtles and went snorkeling and Isle of Tortuga. It was a blast !