Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E.

Really restful hotel by the ocean

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Fabulous, quiet, restful and clean. And they serve my family's favourite hot tea - Twinings. Nothing to complain about!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Remote retreat, best for couples for 2-3 nights

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Very relaxing retreat, I can recommend for 2-3 nights at the end of a fortnight
Cons: For the class of hotel, free transfers should be offered to both Montezuma and Tambor airport. Tours overpriced.
Location: It's very remote, not ideal for seeing the area. Montezuma is worth a trip but you'd be better off staying nearer the town if you want to get about.
Ended 2 weeks in CR here, nice to chill after an active trip. Hotel and restaurant, bar are expensive, plus it's a long way from Montezuma so you'll need a car if you're using this as a base (Montezuma is approx USD 60 rtn in taxi). Contrary to some reviews I thought the food was very good, they must have a new chef. It's very expensive though. Golf course is okay for a bit of fun but not if you're looking for a half-decent course. Take a walk to the waterfall but be careful if you decide to cross the stream! It's dangerous, and so is the cliff walk down, but there's a very secluded beach at the bottom. The rocks either end of the Tango Mar beach make it private, the break is very powerful here so beware if you want to have a proper swim, near shore is very invigorating! Costa Rica is all about micro climates and I found this area to have one of the nicest (in July). Hot, not too humid, not too many mosquitoes. Make sure to arrange your transport, I got dropped off at the main road which is a 20 minute trek. I had a backpack so, but wheeled bags won't appreciate the rough gravel road. I recommend as a retreat at the end of a fortnight in CR (so much to see, you'll be tired after 10 days!) but not as base for Southern Nicoya. The resort is huge, some nice nature trails. Ideal for early risers, in the main pool area the sun disappears at 4pm, and take breakfast by 8:30 latest - restaurant service is poor later than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Einfach wunderschön! Super Hotel. Schön gelegen. Sehr gepflegt. Nettes Personal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradisisch aber laute Meeresbrandung

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Hotel und Service sind ausgezeichnet, aber man nimmt besser ein Haus / Zimmer, das nicht in vorderster Linie zum Meer ist, weil die starke Brandung nachts doch etwas stört.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Was a very good experience, a wonderful place to relax and avoid thinking about work. The winds of the pacific are also amazing as well as native folks who are very friendly. I 'd recommend this place to everybody who wants to forget about the big cities for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great Hotel very European

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The Room, The View, The pool
Cons: Costa Ricans are Amazing Friendly people. I wish the Wait Staff was not stiff shirts.
Location: Went on a great fishing trip. With real Tico's. The port was right out of a rural fishing village.
The Restraunt, Bar, and waiters need to be more friendly. I would of had another cocktail, bought a dessert. If the waiters showed any attention. I had to go to the bar to get a check several times. The waiters were not interested. The Front Desk and Owner were excellent. Very hard to rate if you want Costa Rican Charm this is not it. If you are looking for European flair this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location and experience

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Small quiet good location plenty of wildlife
Cons: Drinking glasses could be cleaned a little better. Noticed some lip marks from previous user of drinking glass.
Location: Great location interesting things to see nearby
Food was great except packed lunch sandwiches which were a bit soggy but breakfast and dinner great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andreas from Chur

Schönes hotel, etwas abgelegen

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr schönes hotel, leider etwas abgelegen. Das hotel ist zum entspannen sehr gut geeignet, das meer ist sehr rau, wellig und laut. Der strand ist schön, aber das meer ist zum schwimmen nicht wirklich geeignet. Das frühstück war ok, die auswahl könnte aber für dieses hotel mehr sein. Das personal war nicht sehr motiviert und auch nicht sehr freundlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amber from Texas

STAY HERE!

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Tango Mar was incredible! The beach was feet away from our room. The excursions were reasonably priced and everything was taken care of. The staff was so nice and the room was VERY clean. I was surprised how clean it was. Best hotel in Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel experience

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: View, pools, staff are all fantastic and overall a great value.
Cons: Extend the check-out time. 9am is a bit early pretty early
Location: Montezuma isn't too far away and could be a day trip
The photos that you see online can't quite show how truly lovely this hotel is. Spectacular views, wonderful staff and an overall perfect experience. I thought that the food was good (not excellent), but this doesn't influence my overall high rating.