Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

The staff were very courteous and friendly!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We enjoyed the food and golfing! We would go back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Phoenix

Depends on what you're looking for

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an awesome hotel however it is very isolated. Not much to do there. That may be what you want. To read a book by a small pool. They don't play music in the pool area It was just too quiet for me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Tango Mar was a fun place for us to stay. The surf is very rough and big, so it made me nervous to have our 9 and 11 year old play in the water, even only hip high. The sand is great and the beach is beautiful. The food was good, a little expensive, but enjoyable. Upon check-out we were charged for an extra person even though I was sure that we signed up for a family of four stay. That was a $100 extra charge. We would go back to the hotel, but would also check hotels in Tambor where the ocean might not be so rough too. Hilda and the gang were very nice to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Tampa, FL

Great Staff!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Clean and oh so scenic!
Cons: Solar hot water was slow.
Location: Zip lining, snorkeling, surfing, hiking. No night life. But if you want the ultimate in relaxation, this is your place.
We were blown away by the facility and staff. Everyone was attentive to our needs and made us feel like welcome visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views, great beach friendly staff

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The drive is an experience getting to the hotel, but thats part of the fun. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, it does not get any better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tango Mar Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Clean and well layed out.
Cons: Beach cleanliness, alot of debri on beach.
Location: We did go to Montezuma about 30min away you can rent 4 wheelers and go on some island tours, but not much else around very close.
Very nice place. Very large property including a small 9 hole golf course. The beach was nice it would have been nicer if they would keep the beach clean of debri but not a big deal. The ocean was to rough to swim in but the hotel has a couple of swimming pools.The staff was very freindly and spoke english and spanish well. The hotel food was excellent. My wife and I had a very nice time and would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristi from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful resort, remote location, food okay

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort is amazing. Beautiful, clean pools, plenty of space - no problem getting seating at restaurants, lounge chairs, hammocks. The front desk was very helpful making reservations for excursions and spa services. The only part that could use improvement is the food, and at times the service. The menu had mainly american dishes, with little authentic costa rican cuisine available. The limited menu was over priced and the food not great, but you don't have any other options unless you pay ~$70 taxi ride roundtrip. By the 3rd night, we were so sick of the food. Also, the service was just okay. There were a couple servers that just ignored us. Or we would order something and it would never show up - that happened at least 3 times. One other note - we had planned transportation through Tango Mar from the Tambor airport. We sat at the airport for over 30 minutes until we were lucky enough to find a cab to take us to the hotel. Apparently the transportation we ordered decided to take another group to the hotel instead of waiting for us, and then they never came back for us... Overall, we really enjoyed our stay - can't say enough about the beautiful grounds. Everyone was friendly, and if they could improve the food, I would want to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anne-Catherine from London

Great spot but with nothing around

Posted Feb 2, 2014
We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the beach ans facilities , particulary the swimming pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruby from Edmonton Canada

Ocean at your door!

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beach is tranquil and steps from your room. Onsite restaurant was good but a little pricey and you really need a car to drive to other options. The golf course is nice and you can golf all you want and you feel like it's your own private course. Really liked the area and the beach but the only negative was our first day there was a lot of garbage washed up on the beach, but the rest of the days it was good so I guess it's maybe just the tides that bring in the junk. Glad it was just the first day as the beach is really pretty to spend time on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com