Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Was a very good experience, a wonderful place to relax and avoid thinking about work. The winds of the pacific are also amazing as well as native folks who are very friendly. I 'd recommend this place to everybody who wants to forget about the big cities for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando

Great Hotel very European

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The Room, The View, The pool
Cons: Costa Ricans are Amazing Friendly people. I wish the Wait Staff was not stiff shirts.
Location: Went on a great fishing trip. With real Tico's. The port was right out of a rural fishing village.
The Restraunt, Bar, and waiters need to be more friendly. I would of had another cocktail, bought a dessert. If the waiters showed any attention. I had to go to the bar to get a check several times. The waiters were not interested. The Front Desk and Owner were excellent. Very hard to rate if you want Costa Rican Charm this is not it. If you are looking for European flair this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Great location and experience

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Small quiet good location plenty of wildlife
Cons: Drinking glasses could be cleaned a little better. Noticed some lip marks from previous user of drinking glass.
Location: Great location interesting things to see nearby
Food was great except packed lunch sandwiches which were a bit soggy but breakfast and dinner great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel experience

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: View, pools, staff are all fantastic and overall a great value.
Cons: Extend the check-out time. 9am is a bit early pretty early
Location: Montezuma isn't too far away and could be a day trip
The photos that you see online can't quite show how truly lovely this hotel is. Spectacular views, wonderful staff and an overall perfect experience. I thought that the food was good (not excellent), but this doesn't influence my overall high rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francescafrom UK

Relaxing retreat!

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Tango Mar for 5 nights in mid-January following a fun packed 8 night trek around Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere relaxing and by the beach to end our stay. I researched lots of hotels and beach resorts before finally settling on Tango Mar. As the taxi pulled up at reception the first morning, I had a little tear in my eye, it really was a little bit of paradise! We stayed in one of the Tiki suites right by the beach. The room was clean, although a little dated and the spa which convinced me to book the room seemed to just run cold water so we only used it once and were a little disappointed with this. The staff were friendly, Geronimo was particularly lovely! The location is very remote so you are limited with places to go unless you get taxis or go on an arranged tour. The grounds are beautiful, we took a walk to the waterfall one morning and up to the view point to watch the sunset one afternoon when we saw some monekys up in the trees! I loved swinging in the hammocks reading and looking out at the sea! The sunsets were lovely and we enjoyed watching the pelicans swooping down to the sea to catch fish. The sea was really rough, I had read this in a few reviews so it wasn't a surprise. We went for a swim one day but you got tumbled around and it wasn’t so enjoyable. Tango Mar really is a retreat, beautiful and relaxing, so if you are looking for this it’s the perfect place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Awesome most relaxing place ever!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary vacation here in January. We had the most wonderful relaxing week possible. We flew from London to Madrid for a couple of days then on to San Jose and finally Sansa Air to Tambor. Weather was incredible and Tango Mar hotel was divine. Perfect beach, palm trees, hardly anybody on it. Bliss. Food was excellent, and I thought reasonably priced which was good because we hadn't hired a car so we intended to just lay in the hammocks that are tied to the palm trees and doze or read books, which is exactly what we did. Staff were all friendly and fun, especially Andreas and Geronimo. We are definitely going to return again another winter just not via Madrid as the plane had no seat back entertainment, can you believe it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edwinfrom Houston

A piece of Paradise

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel is really beautiful. Located in playa Quizales is simply a hidden jem in Nicoya. The room was good but we had an ant invasion in the jacuzzi and that ruined our celebration the first night. After reporting the incident to the front desk they came over and cleaned the ants and we didn't see any more ants after that. Other than that, the bungalow we got was nice. The restaurants at the property serve amazing dishes. Cuddos to the chef. Overal it was a good experience and will definitely go back some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristofferfrom Stockholm

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpfull staff. A very nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shannon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Omarfrom Northern California

Beautiful and Peaceful!

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Amazing stay at Tango Mar! Beautiful and peaceful beach!! We loved the hammocks on the beach; very relaxing.