Ratings based on 1,043 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n

Right on the bay, wonderful bartender (jimmy).

Posted Nov 8, 2014
We were checked in by a sweet girl ( warm cookies too). After checking out our room ( nice big, king bed, large bathroom and divided room.) went downstairs to have a few drinks and watch football. Great bartender, with great personality. Very nice time. Free shuttle to airport and free parking for our car while we were away. Would come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Davenport, Iowa

Close to where we were going

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Area, hotel restaurant and bar, pool.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Riverside, Ca

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: stated above.
We were here with other family for a memorial service. The room with quite large so if traveling with kids, it's great. But I thought of it more as a three star than four star. We only had a queen bed, very comfortable though. The couch looked like it could use a good cleaning. The shower had a hair in it left from someone prior. Sunday morning in the restaurant my oatmeal had something in it that looked like a noodle as if I got had gotten a gravy with noodles in it. Hotel staff very friendly. Nice views of the bay area from our room. No resort fee, which is a nice change.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Doubletree Suites - Tampa by Hilton

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Lovely location but a bit remote without transport. Huge rooms - separate living area and bedroom with fridge and microwave!
Cons: More staff needed - rooms typically didnt get serviced until 4pm! Not enough staff on reception at times and same in restaurant!
Location: Very close to shopping malls and Bahama Breeze restaurant was near (fortunately).
Hotel is at the end of a rocky promenade. No public transport nearby so firtunately the hotel shuttle can take you anywhere within 3 mile radius of hotel which is handy as not many restaurants nearby and Doubletree's restaurant is restrictive and short of staff when there are large parties in. A few things needing fixing at the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Worth it if you're on a budget.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I spent literally 4 days trying to find a hotel for our weekend getaway (1 year anniversary) and as the date got closer, I found myself looking more at reviews than prices. This hotel is actually a lot nicer than you'd think for the cost. The rooms are spacious, well equipped, and neat. The bed was big and comfy with lots of pillows, and there was a fold-away type of door dividing the living room and bedroom areas. We had lots of useful amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker), 2 TVs, and huge bath towels! So that's stuff was great, but here's what I didn't expect: -walls were pretty thin, we could hear people in the next room when they showered or opened doors. -there was lipstick, or some sort or red make up, on the bathroom counter, even after housekeeping cr to clean on the 2nd day. -the rooms were cold enough during the day, but too warm at night, even with the AC all the way down on 65. -the building is smaller than it appears in the photos. It's just the center building, not including the two buildings flanking it. -we paid extra for a bay view, but it was covered by trees and the parking lot. -one of the elevators was out of service both days The hotel was nice, we got warm cookies checking in and checking out, the staff was cordial and helpful. The room service was fast and delicious, and it was easy to find a parking spot. If you won't be staying in much, this place is perfect. But even if you are, it'll be a comfy stay. Give it a shot, it's a bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

nice hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: Free breakfast with room. pool was a little dirty.
Location: Bahama Breeze restaurant was nearby. excellent food!
The hotel was very nice, they have prompt, free airport shuttle. We didn't have to wait long at all at the airport. Rooms were clean, beds comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Savannah, GA

Outstanding stay

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My stay at Double Tree Hotel was outstanding! I've stayed at the Best Western across the street from the Double Tree hotel and the comparison of these 2 hotels is like night and day. The service and the rooms at the Double Tree hotel superseded my expectations, so much so, that the next time I'm in Tampa, Double Tree Suits will definitely be my hotel of choice. From the time I checked in to the time I checked out, the staff was professional and very courteous. Thanks to Shelly at the front desk who was a breath of fresh air when I arrived and it took me less than 5 minutes to check in. Great job!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael Monaghanfrom Bradenton

Very Very Nice.

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was Very Nice. While this was my first time staying at this hotel, I will definitely stay here again. Price was great, Rooms were super spacious with a living room area, fridge, comfortable bed, and the pool looked very nice. The view over the water was beautiful, and couldn't have been more peaceful and relaxing. In addition, the breakfast buffet was awesome, and had a great selection. I would highly recommend this hotel. It felt like 5 star hotel, without the 5 star price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pembroke Pines Fl

Very nice Hotel , Great experience

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything was fabulous
Location: Raymond James Stadium 10 min drive , Great Restaurants nearby Whisky Joe's must try !
Awesome place to stay Friendly staff , Clean rooms , Nice View of Bay , Yummy Cookies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mojofrom orlando, fl

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a amazing stay at this hotel. Great view of the bay, great people, and was treated well by courtesy check desk. Only thing I would say is that I wish they had sound proof rooms like the Hyatt Downtown does. This avoids hearing other neighbors or having u feel uncomfortable because u don't want to make much noise to disturb others.